We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Top Class”
Review of Fitzgerald's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Firstly booked this hotel because of excellent reviews and also noticed that owners actually took time to read reviews and respond to them. First stay in Fitzgeralds but will definitely stay again - spotlessly clean hotel, extremely friendly & helpful staff - nothing was any trouble. Beautiful breakfast with a great selection available. Had 2 small children with me so hotel was lovely, quiet and peaceful. Could not recommend Fitzgeralds highly enough

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2009

We spent two nights in Fitzgeralds for a short holiday with three children. Our ensuite room was massive, very clean, warm and comfortable with a gorgeous view of the sea. The children were made welcome and the price for the five of us was very reasonable. Breakfast is served up to 10.30 am which was great seeing as we aren't exactly early birds! The breakfast was well worth the trip and the service was faultless, The location is great; we parked in the private carpark and didn't move the car for the two days we stayed because everything is within walking distance. There is a quiet little bar that opens in the evening that serves a great pint of guinness and the barman had a wealth of local knowledge. We really enjoyed our stay, one particular good point is the fact that there is no entertainment inhouse, this meant we could get to sleep no bother. The freely available complimentary tea and coffee were also a real bonus. To sum it up we can't wait to go back and will highly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowboatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We are regular visitors to Fitzgeralds restaurant, we had an Australian visitor down in the area for the weekend and booked the restaurant due to its usual high standards and knew our guest would not be disappointed.
As usual we were greeted by the friendly face of John, and when questioned about many wines on the list by our visitor he answered in confidence.
We had great food, starters, mains, dessert......and of course wine, haven eaten in many michelin star restaurants around the world our guest was highly impressed and eager to return to Fitzgeralds before he returns to Oz in 4 weeks time!!

Liz Mc Elhinney - Derry

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavyGNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

me nd my boyfriend dennis went up 2 bundoran nd stayed at fizgeralds hotel we tought the staff were very friendly nd kind the rooms were lovely nd d view woz just beautiful from our hotel room.. the food was just out off this world we really enjoyed our stay there as we had a wonderful weekend and were defo tinkin off going up again and staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Hotel was recommended by friends and we were not disappointed. Lovely clean hotel , good room and beds and an excellent restaurant. A great plus here -- no weddings or coach parties. Owners and staff extremely helpful and will visit again. Signed John & Annette Kinsella. , New Ross.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wexford747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

When we arrived at the hotel, we were escorted to our room by the owner. View of the ocean was gorgeous. We did find the bed to be very uncomfortable and there weren't enough pillows. The breakfast service was unfriendly the next morning. The food selection was amusing, in that the menu offered 8-10 different combinations of irish breakfast items, but not a full irish breakfast. Overall, the hotel is convenient to the beach, shops, and restaurants in Bundoran, but it was not the most comfortable place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank PhillyFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jgodee, Owner at Fitzgerald's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2009

All guests are, as a matter of courtesy, shown to their rooms on arrival. Bed comfort is subjective; a simple phone call to reception would have ensured delivery, within minutes, of as many extra pillows as were required. Our breakfast menu is well up to the highest standards prevailing in Irish hotels and is always freshly cooked. Needless to say, we are not happy when a guest finds fault with any of our services but our ability to furnish a really comprehensive response is inhibited when there is a long interval between date of stay and date of review; in this instance the interval extends to 16 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Myself and wife and another couple travelled across the entire Province of Ulster to get to this little gem of a place,Bundoran.The hotel we stayed in was at the west end of the town,called Fitzgeralds.We were welcomed in by the owner who we found very warm and freindly.The hotel room had a spectacular view out onto the Donegal Bay.The Breakfasts were served by the owners daughter each of our two days and found the food great.The four of us thouroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: £88 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzgerald's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzgeralds Hotel provides 3* accommodation overlooking the picturesque Donegal Bay in the North West of Ireland. The comfortable and spacious bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi access; most enjoy spectacular sea views. The hotel’s Bistro restaurant has an excellent reputation for good food and fine wines at reasonable prices. Bundoran is the ideal base from which to enjoy sight-seeing and touring holidays of Donegal and the North West, including Counties Sligo, Leitrim and Fermanagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Fitzgerald's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Hotel Bundoran
Fitzgerald's Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing