We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete KIP”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The enterance to the hotel should have been a clue of what was to come, with broken panels in the front door. My allocated room (room 110) was a complete dump. The carpet was stained, the wallpaper wasn't just lifting, it was curling back, and looked like it had been like that for a long time. My main problem with said room was the the window opened to an opposite, and was a terrible FIRE HAZARD. I went to reception, and the nice girl at reception offered me another room, which wasn't made up, this room wasn't much of an improvement. The kind receptinist gave me a key to look at another room, which we settled for. But for 80 euro for B&B for two people (which is what other NICE hotels charge) I did expect a lot more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed in the hotel on a 2bb 1 dinner package, upon check in girl was very friendly and helpful, we arrived to the hotel when food had finished but she very kindly organised for us to have our meal that evening as we had been traveling all day. Food was lovely would difently recomend. Girl in bar very nice and the same staff on again the next evening which was nice as we felt very at home with them we extended our stay by an extra night. Bundoran very quiet mid week but nice walks along the beach again recomended by the young girl on reception. All in all a nice break and will be back

Room Tip: ask for a room to the front nice views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holyrood because of a concert taking place there. We arrived at 13.30 and the receptionist was lovely and friendly and our room was ready. It was bright and clean. The furniture was old but fine. Nothing wrong with it. The bathroom was also very clean. There was a huge real look gas fire in the Reception Area and we spent hours snuggled up to it engrossed in our books. We ate in both the Bar and Restaurant and the food in both was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing friendly break and a value for money break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the "Holyrood Hotel" last weekend. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful which made our stay very enjoyable. The bedroom was clean, warm and comfortable. We had dinner,and the food was excellent and the service very good. After dinner we had a drink in the bar and was entertained by a live band. We believe the hotel is excellent value for money and I would highly recommend it to my family and friends. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

180euros for one room for one night you'd expect something nice.
Unfortunately dirty rooms and bathrooms in poor repair was our experience.
Average breakfast.
Would never return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepsiLeitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Spent one night in the Holyrood with 5 girlfriends and was pleasantly surprised having read recent reviews. The food was good and reasonable and the accomodation was comfortable. Staff were pleasant and we were well looked after. Two areas though that niggled. Three of our party were charged more for the same meal but got their money back when requested. We were not told that a disco would be going on underneath our bedroom and that we wouldn't be able to sleep until at least 3.30 a.m. Other than that can't complain.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleyLetterkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Large spacious bedroom. Great view from the circular window. Although window was double glazed it was ill fitting and very draughty making it impossible to sit at the table there. The beds were exceeding hard and very uncomfortable. The bathroom was a little shabby but ok as it served its purpose. The gym was like an ice box there was no heating in it so we could not use it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing