We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-end stay”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Week-end stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Myself , hubby and 28 and 14yr old daughters stayed in 2 double bedrooms in The Holyrood Hotel on valentines week-end 2013.Booking was very easy , did so online and receptionist telephoned me 2 days prior to confirm we were def attending and checked our request for certain rooms which we have stayed in before and were both adjacent and quiet.
We arrived earlier then booking in time of 3pm but rooms were ready for us at earlier arrival time of 2pm , checking in and booking dinner was quickly, efficiently and dealt with .
Hotel is being gradually up-dated without closing the premises which is widely used year round and thus suiting all their clients without undue disturbance.
Some extra housekeeping such as high dusting, extra cleaning in communal ground floor toilets would be advantageous but overall hygiene fairly good.
Food at both breakfast and dinners was really superb and served swiftly with attention to all requests filled.
The Staff in every area are absolutely brilliant, they will always go out of their way to help clients and are patient ,kind and friendly to seniors and juniors alike.
We will def be back within the very near future....an added "nice" is the owner whom we have met at breakfast a few times where he mingles and chats with everyone...a good Irish touch!! Thanks Brian and all staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not placed above disco or music. If you enjoy a nice view as for a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. When rooms are requested we do our upmost to honour such requests. We are lucky to have a team of dedicated, friendly staff and thank you for your kind words to them.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    244
    140
    126
    206
See reviews for
494
339
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here last week in march 2013, we went on a "Deal" two nights B and B with dinner and spa... 1st of all when we checked in at 16.30 we went to our room and the maids were still cleaning it!! I went down to reception were "Sarah" offered us another room this time which had a sea view... The room was very basic... Had no fridge, bath towels!... And old tv that LOCKED 5 times over the two days, old decor, hard bed, stained carpet, mould all over the bath/shower... The shower was either too hot or too cold!! ..

The pool area:-

The changing room had NO lockers at all, sauna that was cold, steam room with no steam, Jacuzzi that was cold one day and empty the next... There was loads of mould all over the pool roof..

Spa area:-

We had a seaweed and Hydrotherapy treatments ... I loved the hydrotherapy treatment... 20min of bless... My partner liked the seaweed treatment...

Free wifi:-

You get your 1st 10min per day free then charged €1 per min thereafter... In the reception area or €12 per day in the room... I find this a REAL turn off as any hotel we have ever stayed in offered it free either in the reception area and/or the room...

Dinner-:

Dinner was ok, food warm, very rushed and the service was very bad, we asked for a bottle of white wine, when it come she just left it on the table and walked away leaving ourselves to open and pour!... The dessert was hot apple pie.. Which when we got to the middle of it was fridge cold!... Not nice at all...

Breakfast:-

Standard breakfast, hot or cereal only, no fresh fruit or Danishes... But we did have Lidl basic orange juice....

This is not a place we would recommend... It really needs a lot of money spent on it.. The whole hotel reminded us about the channel 4 program "hotel"

Sorry Holyrood we expected far more ... We wanted a romantic getaway.. We got a cold feeling...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nokia1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. I was very disappointed to read some of your comments. We were fully booked the night previous to your stay so our house keeping staff were still cleaning rooms after 4pm and working in the laundry. Towels were brought to your room straight away and regretfully we do not have fridges in any of our rooms. All TVs are in working order and if you had problems with it we would have been happy to assist you. Our receptionist gave you a day wifi pass for your room at no charge and the wifi in the lobby is free if you register with the company. I have spoken with leisure centre management and no problems were reported during your stay. Lockers are currently not working and staff offer users the option to leave valuables in the office with is locked at all times. At no stage over your days here did you let us know that you were unhappy with your room or any aspects of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My friend and I stayed at the holyrood hotel for St, Patrick's weekend,must say we had a wonderful two nights.The hotel was just perfect,the staff were brilliant,the food was brilliant and the location was excellent,would highly reccomend this hotel.We will be back again in the near future.Thanks guys at the holyrood,keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mocushla2xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I would not stay anywhere else, the Holyrood Hotel is in a great location and very central. As an elderly disabled man I find it is within easy distance to most venues I use. However, the best asset is their staff. They are always friendly, approachable and willing to help with any matter even if it is not within the hotel. We attended the local cinema and staff were more than willing to help us with enquires. The breakfast and catering staff were the same, loads on offer and if something wasnt there staff were on hand to help. Quick service with ease and a smile. The only thing I could improve is the decor, in the rooms in places it is a little worn but this did not in any way hinder our stay. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derryclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. We are very proud of our hard working staff here in the Hotel and thank you for the praise you have given them.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stay clear of this hotel....has to be hands down the worst hotel iv ever stayed in...site pics are at least 20 years old and VERY misleading...food was very average...not enough staff...rooms where very dirty and shabby...bathroom was disgusting cracked tiles everywhere and this was in a family room and with 2 small kids with us for the weekend this was dangerous...heating didn't work room was freezing..i had to block the gaps in the window with toilet roll to stop the wind from getting in..had to ask for electric heaters and we got 2 broken heaters fit for the bin.. both showers it the room didn't work first night...and no water AT ALL 2nd night ..we had to use the showers in the swimming pool...so if your going to stay in bundoran stay well clear of the holyrood hotel..(Faulty Towers) and as for my last review been removed iv now copied and pasted this review so i can replace it every time its removed...THIS HOTEL SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN...or charge the proper prices for this hell hole.. 280euro for 2 nights stay is wayyyyyyyyyyyyy over priced for the dump they expect you to sleep in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfarrell176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star property with an excellent location in the centre of the pretty seaside resort of Bundoran. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality offered. It is regrettable that I did not get the opportunity to meet with you during your stay to discuss your unhappiness with the hotels facilities & I am sorry that the hotel did not meet the standards you expected. The pictures featured on our website are all recent images of the hotel and fairly depict the hotel facilities. We have an excellent reputation for food and have a large amount of both local customers & hotel guests who eat with time & time again. You haven't specified as to what department you felt we were understaffed. We always endeavour to provide a high level of service and we staff our departments accordingly. Sometimes it can be difficult to get it right especially with an unexpected rush. I have asked the accommodation manager to thoroughly check for "dangerous" broken tiles and when found the tiles will be replaced immediately. We do employ the services of a full time maintenance man who is on site to provide ongoing repairs. On the weekend you and your family stayed with us the country was suffering under extreme weather conditions with unseasonably cold weather. As a result we did have trouble with hot water in a small number of rooms, this problem was rectified as soon as possible. I apologise for any convenience caused to you and your family. I am available to speak with you at you earliest convenience if you would like to discuss this matter further. Please email or phone the hotel and we can arrange a suitable time to discuss your comments in more detail .
I would also like to point out that we did not remove your first review. We cannot remove any reviews from Tripadvisor. Reviews can only be removed by Tripadvisor, I would suggest that you contact them directly to clarify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have been travelling up to Bundoran for about 16 years with my family and have never had to complain about anything! All the staff are obliging and friendly, the rooms are clean and the food always fresh and gorgeous. What more could you want? Love it :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will give a similar view to that below, which makes it even more enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magloinsigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It's a rather old-fashioned Irish hotel, nice big building on the Main street and easy access to the beach for walks etc. The rooms are large and light but very warn-out and shabby. I took some photos which I rarely do, if it was one or two scratches on the wall or an odd cracked tile - I wouldn't mind, i am a reasonable person, but the room we got had simply required alot of maintenance and a good thorough clean! Some furniture definately needs replacing as well! The first travel cot we got for the baby didn't work either.
Now, the dinner... I can only say that out of four of us noone finished any of the three courses and not because we were not hungry! My mother-in-law (english teacher) had a good laugh at the bar reading the signs with numerous spelling mistakes.
Overall the staff are good and helpful, and the spa/pool is very nice, but the lack of maintenance and updating is starting to show! Their housekeeping staff need a kick up their back side, the dirty bathrooms are simply uneccaptable!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yulsblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear guest,
I am glad you found our staff to be 'good' and 'helpful' but I am disappointed to read about your disatisfaction. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star hotel located in the centre of Bundoran town. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality received. I would like to assure you your comments have been taken seriously and will be discussed at our next management meeting, we have since checked all spelling on signage throughout the Hotel and it was just a case of some members of staff putting things up without them being checked.

We have a very high level of regular customers who love the Holyrood for a number of reasons including our food ,the warm welcome they receive, our prime location, our comfortable rooms, our leisure & spa facilities & the excellent value for money we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Property: The Holyrood Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing