We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not somewhere I'd go again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Not somewhere I'd go again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Electric kept going off not at all like the brochure rooms dingy and old staff were lovely but no perks that were advertised were present bed was small room located by slamming doors very disappointing that what was advertised did not match the actual room at all it was musty and overall a disappointment for what we paid for the room


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Catherina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star property with an excellent location in the centre of the pretty seaside resort of Bundoran. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality offered. We had a fault with the electrics in a small number of rooms during your stay and I can assure you that was a one of incident and has since been rectified.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    231
    133
    122
    200
See reviews for
466
322
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownbutler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here on a Grab one voucher and was extremely disappointed it was a present from my grandson for xmas, I wish he had keep his money, or gave me a one night stay in the Great Northern instead. As they are both owned by the same people I thought it would have the same standards. Unfortunately I was wrong. Nice enough lady on reception when we arrived, swift check in and details given, no ground floor rooms so used the lift to my first floor room. Room was a long walk down a cold dark long corridor, view was a car park. Noise from bar and night club across the street was unbelievable. Spent most of the time in Waterfront bar which has a nice atmosphere, girl working here was rude and unhelpful, but was replaced in the evening by a lovely lady Martina I think a real asset. Meal in the restaurant was fine and staff there were pleasant enough, breakfast was cold and staff were run off their feet waited ages on my tea which was only tepid when it arrived. I am aware that the voucher was bought at a very reasonable price had I paid full price I wouldn't have stayed to be honest.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star property with an excellent location in the centre of the pretty seaside resort of Bundoran. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality offered. I can assure you I have taken all your comments on board and discussed them with the relevant management and staff.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our 6th time at the Holyrood in Bundoran we love staying here you are aways made welcome. The food is Excellent you are well looked after there is always something going on for Children although we went on our own as we are retired we just go there for a break and to be spoiled.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean we had Seaview and just watched the people coming and going would be happy to tell people about it.
We didn't use the Leisure centre this time but have in the past.
Will be returning in the future,
Ann Brian

Room Tip: We were on the first floor at the front so a bit noisy but we liked it if you want quiet then you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

It was our first time staying in the holyrood and what a great night we had. The food was excellent and the from the minute we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful, we couldn't have asked for anymore. The room was comfortable, extremely clean and warm on a very wintry night.We were lucky to have a room at the front of the hotel with a fabulous view overlooking the coastline. Looking forward to returning there very soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank country8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just spent another fantastic weekend in the Holyrood
Fantastic hotel in a great location with beautiful food, great leisure activities and fantastic staff, can't wait to go back
Just spotted a great deal on grab one which is calling my name

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our first time at this hotel was 3 years ago and we have attended every year since this. My children absolutly love this place and as long as they are happy we are happy parents. We have a child with Autism who we find it difficult to take on outings with us due to concentration levels etc. but entertainment for children here is fantastic and he loves it. My child rarely speaks however Marian who sings with the children encouraged my son to sing along with her in front of the crowd which was so touching and very emotional as all the other parents applauded. The kids club is fantastic as well as my 12 year old boy aslo enjoys the trips to the cinemas and bowling alley and swimming. So much to do in this hotel and so much effort put into making sure the families feel comfortable and settled. I feel the deals that are given are affordable and well worth the money. The food in the hotel is really good and wide variety to choose from.I must also mention how pleasent the staff are and they will go out of their way to help you. I would recommend this place to anyone and will continue to go every year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunaD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you and your family were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. Our go!kids club is fantastic for all our younger guests and I was delighted to read all your family enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

31st jan /1st Feb 2010 Book Deal on Grab One
jus back from great week end in the Holyrood
my 5oth plus we had another 13 couples staying wot a great deal food was excellent staff could not do enough 4 you. every 1 totally agreed not 1 complaint all enjoyed the music both nights
staff wer so helpful with trying to keep us all together during r stay
will defo be back as will most of us
From West Belfast

Room Tip: ask 4 the sea view great 281
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fattythebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you and your friends were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. We do our utmost to carter for all groups needs.

We hope you return to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Property: The Holyrood Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing