We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,813)
Filter reviews
1,813 results
Traveller rating
821
341
197
171
283
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
821
341
197
171
283
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club seaweed bath spa treatments family entertainment course dinner food was lovely family break both mornings breakfast and dinner restaurant staff leisure facilities from start to finish sea view short break last weekend my mum enjoyable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,767 - 1,772 of 1,813 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We had decided to have a short break to get away from all this talk of the credit crunch, the amercian elections, how Kerry is going to win their 3 All Ireland in a row etc etc so we packed our bags, the kids and the mum in laws and headed north to Donegal's own Las Vegas - Bundoran. On the way up the road the spirits were high and the journey only took a few hrs with there being no PSNI on the road checking for tax evaders and the likes. We pulled outside the Holyrood Hotel and first impressions were ok - not the Ritz but sure what do you expect for 140euros a nite. Checking in was tame enough and we made our way up to the rooms on the 1st floor. The bathroom in my room was a sight - a bit of jif and some elbow grease would have not gone amiss! I'm sure the view to the back of the hotel would have been lovely if we could have seen out of the bleeding windows. Where is Kevin Mone when you need him! We had to pay a 10euro deposit for the remote control which as it turns out didnt actually work. After a dip with the kids in waterworld, losing a small fortune on the slot machines and a few go's on the wee dippers we headed bk to the hotel for our evening meal. Whilst the food was good the staff were about as far of the mark as the Fermanagh forwards!! However unknown to us the best was yet to come! The kids were getting progessively scared of the singer in the lounge and coupled with the prospect that we might make them join into the childrens train making its way around the front foyer, we all headed of to bed about 12.00. What we hadnt been told that everyone in Donegal seems to make their way to the Holyrood Hotel in Fundoran for the saturday night disco which was located just below our rooms. We spent 3 hrs listening to everything from billy joel to the tings tings praying that the national anthem would come on soon signalling the end to our night of hell. At about 3.15am this happened though there was stil some music going on in either some other part of the hotel or in a nearby hostelry so the bed was still moving from the vibrations. This caused my sister to be still doing the Irish News crossword at 5am on Sunday morning. Needlesstosay the humour wasnt good and after a few cross words at reception we made our departure vowing to never darken their door again!

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Where to start? Myself, hubby and two small kids went for a long weekend. Requested a quiet room with sea view. We were given a room directly over the very noisy night club which is part of the hotel. Worse still, a large window only a few inches above my 4 year olds bed opened fully out - this was 3 storeys up. We asked for window locks - no joy - so we asked to move and were given a smelly, dirty room up many stairs (no lift) and down many corridors. We had to shift all our luggage ourselves. The bed covers were stained, the bathroom smelt of stale urine and the surfaces and light fittings had not been recently cleaned. We had booked a family package which had promised a kid's club. This comprised a bouncy castle in a dirty and jaded old function room with 2 bored assistants eating their lunch and reading the paper whilst the kids ran amok. On to the 'Leisure Centre'. There were no lockers that locked. The steam room was broken. The jacuzzi was cold. I did, however, have a nice facial with a very sweet masseuse. For the evening's entertainment, anyone with kids was restricted to sitting in the foyer where there weren't enough chairs to go around. We did not have towels in our rooms for 2 nights running. We did not have pillow cases either and had to call twice for these. We had no hot water one morning. The duty manager told us that this was because there was a lever outside which could be switched off by anyone who felt like it! Oh please. The common areas of the hotel were dirty. I could go on but, quite frankly, I've given enough time to this poor excuse for a hotel. Don't go!

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galwaygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2008

we were passing through bundoran, and decided to stay for the night. we went to the holyrood looking for a room. we were charged 150.00 euro for a double room , we were told if we waited for a couple of hours they would give us one of their best rooms. we went back to the hotel at around 4 o clock to book in. we were given a double room at the front of the building. the room was quite standard and dated. the bathroom tiles had hair and gunk on them.
in the hotel bar the staff were quite ignorant and rude
we booked our breakfast the next morning for 9-9.30 to be brought to our room at an extra cost of 5 euros per tray. when our breakfast did not arrive by 10 o clock i rang reception, the staff member was very rude to me and told me to ring the kitchen my self. at which point my self and my husband left the hotel

i would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0ej0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Went for bank holiday weekend on my own, thought the room would have been more up to date, stain on my bedcover, bathroom wasn't very clean could see the dirt around the taps and where on this planet do you get paper foot towels omg didnt like that at all and to top it all no products for use ie: shampoo etc. o yes there was a soap despenser like in a public toilet???? for a hotel to be in the centre of the town always packed you think they would look after their customers and rooms better. I did enjoy the spa!!

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeerin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2008

just got back from a weekend stay with my partner and 2 kids.have 2 say it was great.the reception staff were fanastic,very frendily.room was ok.smelt a bit off stale smoke,an hour off opening the window solved that problem.we didnt see our kids for the 2days,they went 2 the kids club from 10 till 8 that night,they took them swimming,bowling,cinema,ice skaten,kids didnt want 2 leave,after reading some of the reviews i was a bit worried.have 2 say i was far from disapointed.couldnt have had a better wknd,food was great.loads 2 do for kids,excellent staff,will defo be back

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel7369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews