We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give the bar lunches a miss” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Give the bar lunches a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The glasses were dirty we had to ask for clean glasses the waitress came trying to shine them with a dirty tea towel very poor selection on the menu. never again This place could do with being updated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fmcbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with is in the Hotel. I am sorry you did not find the choice of dishes adequate. I have taken your comments on board and have spoken with our bar manager in relation to your issues.

We do hope you return and have a more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    225
    131
    120
    198
See reviews for
454
316
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My oh my....not worth your hard earned money people. The first room they tried to give us had a filthy stained sofa bed. The 'improved' room was unclean (food under the sofa), grime in bathroom and faulty shower.

My biggest concern, which I reported, was the faulty window locks. The locks were broken in the 'family' room, there was a ledge... the window extended out fully...accident waiting to happen! Not good enough Holyrood.

Met other guests with similar complaints from the awful food to the unclean rooms. The Holyrood may well reply to this with their typical churned out response - see every comment previous- but the feedback is clearly being ignored as the same problems with this place keep on featuring in these reviews. Spend money on this business and raise your standards significantly.

Will not be back.


  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest, we are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do reply to all guests comments and as stated discuss them at department meetings so all management members are aware of any issues. We are currently undergoing renovations in a number of rooms and hope this will improve the quality offered by The Holyrood Hotel.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have been a regular customer at the holyrood for fifteen years.The staff are always welcoming and do their best to meet my needs.As I travel alone with my children I always stress that I like a comfortable bed as it is important for me to feel rested for the drive home.I was very well looked after as always regarding this request.My children loved the kids club which afforded me the opportunity to have a lovely beach walk.We all loved the swimming pool and sing songs with Marian in the evenings.If you like, the children have the opportunity to go on outings to the cinema and bowling for a modest supplement.This is much less expensive than the amusements and more sociable.All in all I think the Holyrood offers good ,honest value for families in the present economic climate.I enjoyed the meals.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 399happymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We are glad you and your kids enjoyed our go!kids club & family entertainment.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We had heard really bad reviews about the hotel beforehand so we were quite nervous booking in to the hotel. I honestly couldn't complain about a single thing during our entire stay (apart from been woken by a hen party the first night, but this isn't the hotels fault). We got a deal in groupon and it was €139 for 2 nights bed and breakfast, an evening meal with 2 glasses of wine and 2 spa treatments - fantastic value. The breakfast was lovely, great choice of juices, cereals, toast, brown bread, croissants, Danish pastries. Then the hot breakfast was freshly cooked which is a treat in hotels these days and was really good. The dinner was delicious - one of the nicest meals we had out in a long time. Great choice. The hotel us centrally located, free carpark and our room was perfect. Think we may have been in a newer part of the hotel but defo no complaints from us. Would have no problem staying again. Staff were lovely and Spa treatments were very nice too. We didn't use the pool but it seemed spotless.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopaholic731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was shocked at the state of disrepair and overall grungy feel of this hotel. Carpets were grimy and should have been replaced years ago. Our shower/tub was mildewed and the tiles were buckled out from water damage. The mattress was old and very worn. Our room was directly over top the bar and it was quite noisy until late. For two days, there was a dirty plate with remains of mashed potato left in the hall near the elevator. I did not feel that the hotel warranted the price for one night stay at 97 Euro/night. Very disappointed in our stay here.

Room Tip: I would recommend looking for a better deal elsewhere and make this hotel a last resort. Definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyers_fan8541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I was very disappointed to read your review. We are a family run hotel & it is not in our policy for guests to leave unhappy with the hospitality and service. I have taken all your comments on board and they will be discussed at our head of department meeting.

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We bought a voucher which included a weekend break b & b with a 4 course evening meal with a glass of wine and also 1 hydrotherapy bath and 1 seaweed bath and full use of the leisure facilities. We asked for a room with a seaview (which we received). From start to finish the service was excellent and we would highly recommend. We only paid £110 for the voucher (2 persons) and would gladly do so again. A real treat at a bargain price. OK the hotel is getting old but everything worked and was clean, the meals were fine and the staff helpful. Ther treatments were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank accountsclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a weekend after buying one of the GrabOne vouchers which included two nights bed and breakfast, one dinner, and two spa treatments. When we arrived in the room it seemed fine, in need of a little refurbishment but clean and spacious. We had dinner in the restaurant that night which was nice enough and the staff were very friendly. It did seem that the place was slightly understaffed as receptionists were working in the both bar and restaurant while also on reception. However, it wasn't until we went back up to the room to go to sleep that we encountered the major problem, which has been addressed by a few reviewers here. The noise from the nightclub 'Paris' across the road was ridiculous. We were close to the smoking area of the club so there was the combination of pounding music and people shouting which went on until well after 4am. The next morning we asked to change rooms and were told there was only one room available. We were given the key to have a look and the room was closer to the nightclub than our original room. The receptionist told us we were incorrect when we pointed this out even though we could clearly see it from the window. We ended up staying in our original room because there was nothing else available and endured a second restless night. We also discovered there was another nightclub under the hotel which created noise on the opposite side of the hotel, so I don't know whether there is any room there that would be quiet. We tried to book our spa treatments on Saturday morning for that evening and were told there were no appointments available until the following afternoon, at which stage we would have been gone. I understand that the spa can fill up but I feel we should have been informed of this and advised to book in advance to avail of the treatments we were entitled to. Overall, I left tired, with a poor impression of this hotel, and will not recommending anyone to stay or returning myself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OcAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality offered.

We are located on the main street in Bundoran which has music venues opened every weekend. I have spoken with the receptionist on duty and assure you that had you taken the room she was offering, you would off not endured any noise problems on your second night.

Our reception staff sometimes help out in other areas in the Hotel when there is two or more of them are on duty. There is always a member of the reception team at the front desk.

When guests are given the Spa voucher upon check in they are advised to book their preferred treatment and given the number to ring from the room.

Again I apologize you did not enjoy your weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Property: The Holyrood Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing