We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and we had a fab time!......staff were friendly the room was lovely great view!.....if staying here ask for room 147 ....bathroom could do with a update but we had no problem with it as we are not that fussy as long as its clean and it was......this hotel is good value for money with the deals the hotel offers, we had 2 nights b&b and 2 evening meals and the food was excellent!!....we stay in bundoran often but this was our first stay here and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. Congratulations on your anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    232
    133
    123
    203
See reviews for
472
328
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is an old fashioned hotel and as other reviews have stated it needs both refurbishment and a less complacence view about how they could attract more people out of season. Season being interpreted as July, August and Bank Holidays. Although to be fair to the hotel, this seems to be the general view in Bundoran and nearly everything was closed to us in the first week in May, including the water complex during the week.
Specific comments
1. Limited refurbishment seems to be going on in the afternoons, which made our room noisy.
2. The plumbing was very noisy and meant thinking twice about using the bathroom in the middle of the night!
3. The hotel spa is good and a reasonable swimming pool, but it would be useful to be informed when swimming lessons are taking place, so you could avoid them.
4. Like others have mentioned - broken tiles, distressed carpets and curtains, filthy carpet in main corridor from hotel to spa.
I think we all have higher expectations of hotels now and what may have been satisfactory 20 years ago isn't now. It is depressing and only beautiful Donegal, the Atlantic Way and the promenade (still to be completed) saved the holiday for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJo459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. I would like to assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and these matters were discussed on Friday at our head of department meeting. Our maintenance man has looked at the flush in the toilet of your allocated room, which you said you found noisy. The Holyrood Hotel is a family run operation and it is not our policy to have patrons leave unhappy with the service and hospitality offered. Bundoran is a seaside resort and like most seaside towns it is busy during the summer months and at weekends. I am sorry if you felt that all local amenities were not open. The atmosphere in the town midweek is more relaxed and visitors usually come to enjoy the magnificent coastal walks and explore the magical North West. If you would like to discuss your stay with me in more detail please don't hesitate to contact the Hotel 00353 719841232.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very pleasent stay. Pleasent friendly staff. Last time I stayed I had a beautiful big room (147) which I assumed was standard. This time I got 149 and it was big and comfortable but not quite as nice. When I enquired at reception I was told that 147 was bridal suite whichI had got by luck. !49 was quite big and comfortable but no wow factor (still the old ctr TV).
Dinner was good and good service. Breakfast is good with plenty of bread rols and danish as well as toast and brown but second morning the rols and danish had dissapeared. Fry is cooked individualy and staff very pleasent and efficient.
Leisure center is excellent.
This is an old hotel so don't expect everything to be most modern. I expect if you are in the front that there could be some noise at weekends.
For the midday snack(Lunch) try the little cafe (Wave) few doors up the street to the right . Great food and lovely people but not so well advertise outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2frank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your second stay with us. We try our best to accommodate all requests so if re booking let us know you prefer a certain room number and we will check the availability of that room on your requested dates.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

stayed here with daughters and grandchildren over easter we all enjoyed our stay this is my 3rd stay here.family rooms are good size.the food is good and staff lovely entertainment for chidren for kids is good over holidays. 5mins to beach, cinema and amusement rides. opposite amusement arcade. would reccomend for staying in bundoran.







tainment

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuala g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you and your family were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. Our go!kids club is great for our younger guests and is on during school holidays. We are centrally located in Bundoran with all activities within walking distance. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay both in the Hotel and in Bundoran.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just back from a fantastic stay at Holyrood Hotel Bundoran. Very central ,the meals were gorgeous and are room was spotless.Staff very friendly in dining room and reception especially Sarana and Lorraine. will defo be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you and your family were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We are very lucky to have a brilliant team of hard working, friendly staff in all areas of the hotel. I have passed on your kind words to both Lorraine & Saranna.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Holyrood is a hotel that I often visit, when passing through on our many tours or for their many special deals. Recently I availed of one of their three night specials. Due to me having to make a special request for suitable facilities for my adult disabled son, I was so impressed that this was adhered to and we were given much more than I had anticipated, re a very spacious room and a level access shower. As always the entire staff were so friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We really do our best to accommodate any requests and we are glad that you and your family had a relaxing break with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely stay, relaxing, and loved the swimming pool.
We had breakfast and dinner, and I must say it was delish.
The hotel is central to everything, and it was so handy just to be able to pop in and out during the day.
I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Property: The Holyrood Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing