We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really comfortable stay”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed here for weekend 2 adults and 4 children - really nice and comfortable - close to everywhere - room was spacious for everyone - staff very pleasant and really helpful - ate in bar - food delicious - great place for kids - leisure centre great - would highly recommend to anyone with kids- five stars.

Room Tip: if travelling with kids get one close to lift so not far to walk.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We are a family orientated Hotel and have a brilliant go!kids club on during school holidays.

We do hope you and your family return to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for The Holyrood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a lovely stay here, down for the last weekend in May, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean and very reasonable priced, we have stayed here a few times and always look forward to going back each time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We do appreciate all our regular guests and endeavour to make you stay enjoyable each time.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a midweek break at the Holyrood Hotel Bundoran. The room (which I think had recently been refurbished, was bright, clean and very comfortable, and very adequate for our needs ( there was three of us, three ladies)
As always the staff were extremely helpful, cheerful, and efficient.
would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front look over the sea!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyn856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed at the hotel recently for 4 days and enjoyed our time there the staff could not have been more helpful to our needs and the triple room we stayed in was more than spacious will definetly make a point of staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carbon34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was not an actual stay but a venue booked for a business meeting, the wide swing of other reviewers comments is interesting.

Plenty of free parking behind the hotel but we found the car park by chance and did not notice any signage for its location, perhaps we overlooked the signs.

On first entering reception this struck me as a throw back to the bad old days of Irish country hotels in terms of furnishings and fittings, the whole ambience is very dated and to me un-appealing.

As others have noted the place needs a re-vamp and given its prime position in the town that can only help it, people nowadays want bright crisp hotels that makes them want to return, when we had finished our business there was nothing here to entice us to stay for a meal or drink.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Completely agree with paddyireland. Food was so bad, and service in the pub is a joke, if your not a local you'll be waiting a long while. Rooms not very clean and even the spa (salon) staff are not very helpful + Hydrotherapy bath needs a service and it wouldn't do any harm to put in some scented salts or someone to welcome you when your finished your treatment.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tighlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. I was very disappointed to read you did not have an enjoyable stay. Our Waterfront Bar is general very busy at weekends with both locals and guests enjoying our nightly entertainment. Our bar staff are fully trained on the procedure if people are waiting services and I am very sorry you felt you were waiting to long. We have recently renovated a number of our treatment rooms so perhaps our renovation work was just not to your taste. Our beauticians and therapists may have been in treatments when you finished your baths. It is clear from your comments that you stayed on a very busy weekend but I am very sorry you did not enjoy your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were not informed that a disco in the basement will keep guests awake until all hours. We asked to be moved, to which we were informed we would now be in a non smoking room. We are both non smokers and were not asked when we rang to book if we wanted a smoking room. We can't fault the staff as they were outstanding in their service, but the level of noise to be heard from the basement disco is disgraceful and ment if we didn't have as far to travel home we would have packed up and drove home. We looked forward to a peaceful night away from home, but have come home exhausted and extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maciomhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. The Holyrood Hotel is a family run operation and it is not our policy to have patrons leave unhappy with the service and hospitality offered. We do have problems with noise on a Saturday night as there are lots of music venues near by with music on until late. I am very sorry you were allocated a room where the music could be heard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
157 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
604 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: £76 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing