We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey nightclubs near by!”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great location and very friendly staff. However extremely noisey at night time due to near by night clubs, I didn't mind the night club music as it is expected to be on to around 2am however the people leaving the nightclubs continued to shout and stay out until 4/5am! Hotel could provide ear plugs.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeccaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,
I was disappointed to read your review. We are centrally located in Bundoran and as a result there are some music venues near by which on Saturday nights have entertainment on until late. I can only apologize that your room allocation was affected by this. If booking again please request a quiet room and I can assure you we will look after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel and so close to everything so no need to use car. Rooms cleaned daily. Rooms need slight updating but other than that great hotel lovely food served daily and lovely leisure centre behind hotel. Have stayed twice here wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazelr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We do appreciate all our regular guests and endeavour to make you stay enjoyable each time. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My review is for restaurant as we did not stay here. We had our visit in the evening when the restaurant was very quiet. Not sure if all evening was like that or that diners were mostly finished. The two young ladies in attendance were very friendly and restaurant was clean. However that is where the good ended. starters were not good quality and both our main meat courses seemed as if they had been rewarmed a number of times, really dried out meat. There was way too much on our plate and looked as if quantity rather than quality was order of the day . Not a good visit , sorry .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your meal in The Holyrood Hotel. We were very disappointed to read your comments and I have personally spoken with the head chef about this. We do not have any complaints logged in the restaurant and would have liked to have a chance to rectify your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed here for weekend 2 adults and 4 children - really nice and comfortable - close to everywhere - room was spacious for everyone - staff very pleasant and really helpful - ate in bar - food delicious - great place for kids - leisure centre great - would highly recommend to anyone with kids- five stars.

Room Tip: if travelling with kids get one close to lift so not far to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We are a family orientated Hotel and have a brilliant go!kids club on during school holidays.

We do hope you and your family return to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a lovely stay here, down for the last weekend in May, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean and very reasonable priced, we have stayed here a few times and always look forward to going back each time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We do appreciate all our regular guests and endeavour to make you stay enjoyable each time.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a midweek break at the Holyrood Hotel Bundoran. The room (which I think had recently been refurbished, was bright, clean and very comfortable, and very adequate for our needs ( there was three of us, three ladies)
As always the staff were extremely helpful, cheerful, and efficient.
would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front look over the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyn856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed at the hotel recently for 4 days and enjoyed our time there the staff could not have been more helpful to our needs and the triple room we stayed in was more than spacious will definetly make a point of staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carbon34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing