We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never been treated so badly.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never been treated so badly.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The only good things about this hotel in my experience were the breakfasts and the location. Also the health/leisure club and the guy on duty in there were decent.

On to the bad points. Oh and I've noticed the managers only reply to the good reviews so I'll not be expecting them to comment.

Firstly the overall cleanliness of the hotel was poor. Room standards not up to par and public spaces poorly maintained with finger marks on glass, hallways un-hoovered and visible dust on curtain poles etc. Both myself and my friend staying with me have lots of experience in the hospitality industry and we were appalled. We would have been sacked having left the place in that state. This hotel interior is dated & needs revamped. The rooms were OK but for example the hand rail in the shower was incredibly rusty making the place look unkept.

On day one of our weekend we bought 2 pints of Heineken from the bar which we were charged a whopping €11 for (€5.50 a pint) when the VFI poster displayed the price as €4.50 a pint. Needless to say we didn't drink there again with prices like that. Further to this the bar staff were very unfriendly.

Our room was above the nightclub which we weren't warned about and therefore we were kept awake till after 3am with banging club music and thereafter the patrons spilling noisily out into the street.

On the second day we had said we wanted fresh towels when the girl knocked on our door to ask. We later found our room had been serviced but we were given no towels and had to ask for them.

We were out late the second night and yes we had had a few drinks however the way the porter treated us was appalling. I have NEVER been treated like this by a paid hotel staff member before. When we went to be let in the door there was a crowd of residents waiting to be let in. As I went to walk in the door one of the 2 male porters physically pushed me back out the door so he could go and get his residents list, even though I was holding my hotel key and obvious Hotel branded keyring in my hand showing and telling him I was a resident, yet he refused us to enter the hotel. Where I come from that's assault.

Throughout out stay we found the WiFi situation to be a total farce with only being allowed one access code per room meaning only one of us could use the internet and only for 50 minutes. Get with the 21st century, we both required to use the WiFi.

On the Sunday we called down for an iron and ironing board. My friend asked should she collect this at reception but was told they would bring it to us. She said we needed ice as well and they said they would also bring this to us. About 30-40 minutes passed and we had heard nothing. I went into the hall and noticed the iron sitting by the door. No one had knocked on the door to tell us it was there. Also there was no ironing board and no ice. I went to the bar for my own ice and my friend went to reception to ask for an ironing board as it was ridiculous to be ironing on the floor. She was met by a very unprofessional group of staff laughing and joking and barely providing the level of service you would expect.
Another 30 or so minutes later we heard the clatter of an ironing board outside the door. Again the staff member didn't even knock on the door to tell us it was there. And further to this the board was falling to pieces.

That evening there was anther group at the door when we returned to the hotel. 3 young females were distressed because they had asked to use the cash point in the hotel due to the ones in the street not working. They had no other way of getting money and therefore no way of erring home. The rudest porters in the world refused even one of the girls entry to the hotel foyer to use the ATM and would have left the 3 young females on the street all night!!!!!! They were so desperate they were willing to pass us their card and PIN number to get them cash so they could get home. My friend lifted cash for them and as she went to leave the hotel to give them it she was told by a porter that now she was in she was not going out again. This is absolutely shocking! Since when do porters, or any stranger for that matter, have the right to tell grown women who are paying customers what they can and can't do??!!!??!!!

On the morning of us leaving we went for breakfast only to find that the hand towels had been removed from the room long prior to out check-out. I can't explain this!!

Also I had €2 sitting on a table in the room kept aside for the leisure centre. I am confident myself nor my friend moved this however it went missing.

I would say 90% of interactions with staff members of all roles in this hotel were generally rude, unfriendly & unhelpful. Staff training majorly required.

I would not go back to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,
Firstly we do appreciate all reviews on the Hotel and respond to them all in a timely manner not just the good reviews as you stated.

You stayed in the Hotel during a very busy Sea Session Festival, when an iron was requested it was brought up to the room and a member of staff knocked on the door to which they got no response and she was going to explain that all boards were out and one would drop one over once it was returned. You then contacted reception again and a ironing board was brought to your room.

In relation to the drinks price in the Waterfront Bar and what is listed on the Vintner's Federation of Ireland poster we charge €4.50 for our pints and this is what is listed on all tills in the bar.

The Holyrood Hotel does not have a customer ATM on the premises so we would have no reason to let any non residents into the Hotel after hours. As mentioned this was during the Sea Sessions Festival and there was a lot of young people camping and staying in varies locations and if we started letting non guests loiter around the lobby after hours it would be unfair to our paying guests. If you did get money for these girls due to our night porter giving you cash back on our reception terminal this was as a kind gesture on his part and he was not obliged to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    231
    133
    122
    199
See reviews for
466
321
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

spent last weekend in hotel all good staff very friend cud not do enough for my pal and me . lovely room , great breakfast and again lovely staff unlike other hotels in that town . fab weather what more cud u ask for , roll on next time,

Room Tip: room 281 fab view all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 245mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you and your friend had an enjoyable stay with us. We are lucky to have a great team of friendly, reliable, hardworking staff. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in the Holyrood Hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel. Staff are extremely friendly, helpful, efficient and go above and beyond what is expected of them. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean with amazing sea views. Breakfast was delicious and we also ate in the bar which was also excellent and very reasonable too. I would definitely return at a later date. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you and your family were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We have a brilliant go!kids club which starts Saturday 5th of July with lots of activities for our little guests. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great location and very friendly staff. However extremely noisey at night time due to near by night clubs, I didn't mind the night club music as it is expected to be on to around 2am however the people leaving the nightclubs continued to shout and stay out until 4/5am! Hotel could provide ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,
I was disappointed to read your review. We are centrally located in Bundoran and as a result there are some music venues near by which on Saturday nights have entertainment on until late. I can only apologize that your room allocation was affected by this. If booking again please request a quiet room and I can assure you we will look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel and so close to everything so no need to use car. Rooms cleaned daily. Rooms need slight updating but other than that great hotel lovely food served daily and lovely leisure centre behind hotel. Have stayed twice here wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We do appreciate all our regular guests and endeavour to make you stay enjoyable each time. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
355 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My review is for restaurant as we did not stay here. We had our visit in the evening when the restaurant was very quiet. Not sure if all evening was like that or that diners were mostly finished. The two young ladies in attendance were very friendly and restaurant was clean. However that is where the good ended. starters were not good quality and both our main meat courses seemed as if they had been rewarmed a number of times, really dried out meat. There was way too much on our plate and looked as if quantity rather than quality was order of the day . Not a good visit , sorry .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your meal in The Holyrood Hotel. We were very disappointed to read your comments and I have personally spoken with the head chef about this. We do not have any complaints logged in the restaurant and would have liked to have a chance to rectify your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed here for weekend 2 adults and 4 children - really nice and comfortable - close to everywhere - room was spacious for everyone - staff very pleasant and really helpful - ate in bar - food delicious - great place for kids - leisure centre great - would highly recommend to anyone with kids- five stars.

Room Tip: if travelling with kids get one close to lift so not far to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We are a family orientated Hotel and have a brilliant go!kids club on during school holidays.

We do hope you and your family return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Property: The Holyrood Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing