We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Audrey and her team extremely helpful to my mum and dad.nothing was too much trouble when I had previously emailed Audrey.
My parents are fond off the staff and always had positive feedback when they came home.Thankyou again to Audrey and the team. J&M

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you and your family were satisfied with the service and hospitality offered during your stay. Audrey and all the staff look forward to seeing ye all in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I couldn't fault our stay. We booked a triple room, which was large and comfortable with an en suite shower room as well as an en suite bathroom. Leisure facilities were great. Best of all were the staff who were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much for them. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here on Friday 2 adults 2 kids , plus relatives (2 couples) . Checkin was fast . Hotel is fairly old fashioned but this didn't really bother us . Lots of families and kiddies so if you want peace and quiet this hotel probably isn't for you . We have an energetic 5 year old and a 13 year old and both really liked it . Great location on the Main Street . If you want to avoid breakfast queues definitely get down before 9am . Swimming pool smallish and tiles can be quite slippy so make sure your little ones wear non slip sandals when at the pool / changing rooms . Leisure centre team where lovely.
Has been said by other reviewers but the housekeeping needs to look at the carpets and rubbish around the hotel ...very dusty and lots of empty glasses , food cartons etc lying around when we were there (especially at back entrance/ staircase out to pool).
There was lots of disco noise in our room 237 but didn't really bother us we're heavy sleepers so not a big deal ...
One of our parties rooms had a leaky shower , but they were moved into a different room straight away which was helpful .
Think I would stay somewhere else in Bundoran next time but the hotel did the job for the night we stayed so no major complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rois22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all guest feedback and have discussed your points at our weekly head of department meeting. We are glad your 2 kids enjoyed their time with us and availed of our go!kids club facilities. We do hope you would maybe consider coming back if in the area again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My two sisters and I stayed in hotel for a weekend over the Christmas holidays. We entered the room (up the stairs by the main dining room and straight ahead into the bedroom) it was shocking! There was fag burn stains on the bed, the room stunk of stale smoke the windows looked liked they had never been cleaned and the window sills were pure black, then we realised why is there only two beds - when booked we told them three so we got offered a squeaky folding bed which trust me was not the most comfortablist and then we also realised there was only literally two towels in the room so obviously not enough towels for
All of us. We went down stairs to the restaurant which the food was great but service wasn't, I myself had to go and get the waitress to come take our order and then to pay we asked for the bill but never got it so had to go up and pay. That night sleeping was not great due to squeaky floor boards tried to watch tv but not many channels were available. Went down for breakfast the next morning, which was nice big selection and big breakfast, when checking out we left a review in the box by reception to state all our concerns. Basically If the rooms were like the photos on the website then it would be ok, but overall I wouldn't stay here again and business can't be an excuse as it was dead!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate all guest feedback. I was however disappointed to read your comments and since it was such a time ago I am unsure as to what rooms you were allocated. We have had renovations in a number of rooms since December and we are continuing to do so gradually. I do apologize that you did not have a more enjoyable stay as it is not in our policy for guests to leave unhappy with the service and hospitality received.

We do hope you return to the Hotel again and have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay as a family of 6 and per usual everything was excellent.Close to all amenities. Staff and management were extremely helpful and friendly especially Saranna,who always greeted us with a smile and was always pleasant. Excellent kids club available and always felt reassured that the kids were well catered for with various activities throughout the day. Rooms are always clean and tidy, the food in the restaurant at both breakfast and dinner was always excellent with a wide range of choice. We visit this hotel a couple of times a year and we have never had a bad stay we always recommend it to all our friends and family. Leona McAlinden & Family

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front are very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Leona & Family,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we enjoyed having you stay. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kindest Regards
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

had a brilliant stay at holyrood hotel. close to everything and has an excellent staff from reception to housekeeping. delicious food at the restaurant with their very kind and pleasant manager. the problem we have is the smell of the steam room. the smell of the steam is a combination of pee and aromatherapy. it needs a thorough cleaning. the room is not so clean, not enough towels when we arrived. they must be very at that time, in fairness though, the housekeeping is really friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karikrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality and service you received during your stay. I did get maintenance to check the steam room and it gets cleaned thoroughly on a regular basis.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future and thank you once again for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay as always a pleasure to stay here, but was even better this time as my son is now 4 & can avail of the superb kids club etc. Staff are the salt of the earth & do an excellent job always pleasant & helpful can't wait to go back !

Cathy Ireland & Family

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Cathyjo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Cathy,
Thank you very much for your review and the lovely thank you card you left for a member of staff on your departure. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: £76 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing