We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly brillant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
MEATH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thoroughly brillant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We have not been here for a few years and brought our grandchildren with us this time. Very busy with families but each and everyone of the staff are so welcoming and friendly. Credit to the hotel. Kids just loved the kids club and fell in love with Aoife and well done to Marion on the family entertainment each night too. Spa has had a total revamp from when we were there before and is just so lovely. Had a lovely facial with Jennifer who is so good, felt so refreshed afterwards. Breakfast is very busy but staff get through it as quick as they can and always smiling. Keep up the good work and see you all sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIDDYMEATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words about staff members. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    225
    131
    119
    198
See reviews for
453
316
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I havent stayed here since 2012 so we looked forward to a two night stay with breakfast and dinner. Prior to arrival we received a courtesy call to check booking and ensure appropriate plans were in place. Then we arrived to a friendly, helpful lady on reception. We enjoyed a lovely evening in the leisure suite then pub. We had a mammoth breakfast this morning served by the most friendly, supportive catering service staff. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Unfortunately we had to cut our trip short due to personal issues, however, the friendly and supportive staff ensured we recieved a supportive check out to enable us to leave promptly.
The staff are a credit to the management and I have fallen in love with this hotel all over again. Many thanks for all your hard work in keeping it friendly, personal but high quality.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derryclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. Having had to cut your stay short we do hope you get a chance to return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackbright
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Didn't stay in hotel but from reading other reviews I won't either.
I went with my family on Sunday last to the restaurant.
I ordered turkey and ham from carvery menu and my wife had the cottage pie.
there was a young chap serving at the counter and I only had to wait 5 minutes even though there was only one person in front of me. The plates are all well used and very scuffed looking. The guy serving had a huge cut of Turkey in front of him all pre sliced. He then proceeded to take the smallest single slice he could find and plopped it on my well worn cold plate. He then graciously enquired if I would like "all the veg". Seeing that I didn't think the miserable bit of turkey would satisfy me I said go ahead thinking the veg would fill the plate. Wrong again! "All the veg" means two table spoons of potato flavoured butter and one broccoli floret. Her indoors had the cottage pie which she said was just like baby food. The gravy was way to strong and salty. I was charged 25.80 for this sumptuous feast. Can't comment on hotel but if the portion sizes are anything to go by .........
Come on up your portion sizes or reduce your prices ..

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mackbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding your meal in The Waterfront Bar. The turkey & ham portions are all made up of turkey slices, breadcrumb & herb stuffing and a slice of ham. I am sorry you felt that you got a small portion. At any stage throughout your interaction with your server you could have requested more potatoes, vegetables or turkey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights between 11th - 15th August. Being school holidays there were lots of families with young children. Despite the volume of people the staff coped pretty well. Although the room decor was a bit 'tired' and a light didn't work this didn't cause me any real problem. The food in general was pretty good, bar prices were reasonable and there was entertainment every evening. Unfortunately, the weather was pretty awful, but in fine conditions the beach is just a short walk away. I would stay here again but not in August.

Room Tip: Seaview if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We hope you return to the hotel in the near future and perhaps get better weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armagh northern irealnd
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed in the Holyrood for 2 nights with my husband and two children. Our Family Room was far from luxurious, a lick of paint would not go amiss as well as a deep clean. I think as the hotel is extremely busy, the cleaners just seem to skim round the edges. Saying that the bedding and towels were all fresh except for the travel cot which had crumbs and dirt underneath the mattress. The room was very warm at night. We had to leave the window open and I was woken at 5am by someone moving glass bottles oustside. There was a smell of damp in the leisure centre and again would need a good clean. Also there was baby changing facilities in the womens changing rooms but not the mens, a family changing room would be good for those with small children.
The breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was delicious and staff were very friendly. We also ate lunch in the bar which was lovely. Our 3 year old was a bit too young to be left at the kids club but she had a great time on the bouncy castle and the night time show with Marian and the bears. However I do think 9.30pm is a bit late for "family" entertainment. Our kids are usually in bed by then. Bundoran is a great place for a family break with the beach, walks, funfair and amusements will definitely go back but not sure if we will stay in the Holyrood again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairebear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us. I would like to apologise on behalf of myself and the team that there were elements of your stay which you found disappointing. I can assure you your comments have been taken seriously and discussed at our head of department meeting. You also outlined a number of positives and I do hope you decide to return to the Holyrood and we can make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a 3 night stay here. The phone, TV and Wi-fi didn't work. Overall the hotel is a bit shabby and could do with a bit of refurbishment. The staff were friendly and the restaurant staff were excellent. The kids club sounds great but the room that most of the activities took place in was musty and damp, although again, the staff were very nice to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilldiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,
We were very disappointed to read your review. Had you reported that your phone, tv and wifi was not working we could have fixed these issues straight away. I am glad you found our staff to be 'friendly and very nice to deal with'.

We do hope you return to the hotel in the future and have a more enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Norther Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay with my husband and 2 kids at the Holyrood Hotel. Location of the hotel is brilliant very central to everything. So let's start with the positives the kids club was brilliant for kids it could fault it at all. Check in was quick and easy no problems there. One first inspection of our room it looked ok until we discovered down the back of the couch was dirty and damp, we did complain about this straight away but were told that the hotel was full and we would be moved the next day which we accepted. they never got back to us about moving. The rooms could have been cleaner and the carpet was stinking a good dust wouldn't hurt either. The smoke alarm went off at 6Am and woke the whole hotel. The curtain pole fell off the wall but to be fair to the hotel it was fixed quite promptly. Our room overlooked the car park and the noise from Paris night club every night is deafening and again woke us all up. Kids running up and down the corridors to all hours is a bit of a nightmare too. Breakfast was good although you do need to que if you get there after 9:30, there was a good choice at breakfast time and the staff in the watermelon (where breakfast is served) were very nice and always efficient. The Cesar cafe/ Waterfront bar was another story, there is no menu on tables instead you choose your meal off a board. The staff there were not very helpful and you have to clean your own table and be prepare to wait! There is not a big selection of food and it's overpriced. All in all we did enjoy our short stay in Bundoran but we were let down by the hotel especially when it was expensive to stay. The hotel would need to employ better staff who actually want to work there. The kids entertainer in the evenings an older lady who plays the keyboard and sings was rude to the kids and kept looking at her watch! Obviously she did not want to be there.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate all guest feedback however I was very disappointed to read your comments. The Waterfront Bar has a carvery menu which runs daily from 12.00pm to 9.00pm which has a menu on a black board and patrons are asked to order from the carvery unit and bring their meals to their seat which is standard practice with all carvery menus. We also have a Cafe Caesar Menu which runs daily from 4.30pm to 9.00pm and our waiting staff take orders from the table. We certainly do not expect guests to clear their own table. As you can see from previous reviews all our staff our generally commended for being helpful and friendly in all areas of the hotel. We are a family hotel and during the summer months we have a high number of children staying, it is hotel policy for children to be accompanied by adults at all time on corridors and the lift. We have family entertainment each evening in the Spinning Wheel which is free to hotel guests, our musician is always kind and caring towards the children and allows them on stage to sing or do their party piece.

It is not in hotel policy for guests to leave unsatisfied and we are sorry that you did not have a more enjoyable time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Property: The Holyrood Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
The Holyrood Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing