We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real curry”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: taj mahal is an indian resturent and continental fastfood takeaway situated just of beautiful bundoran town
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real curry”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very friendly, great service and I really enjoyed my meal, it was cooked to perfection would deinitely recommend others to visit.
I will be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I plan on returning.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Service was friendly and accommodating. Food perfectly seasoned and more than bountiful. Very clean.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LVQ127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fair Fare”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have eaten here twice and found the food to be middle of the road. The starters are basic and presented with a minimalist bit of salad (sans dressing). The main course of lamb was tender and well cooked and the rogan gosht sauce rich in flavours of fresh spices. The peshwari nan was only fair- I have tasted better. Decor is a bit sparse. Only ever seen one (Bangladeshi) waiter on duty with sometime local student backup so service is a bit slow at times. Difficult to get attention when needed even tho' place was never more than one third full on both visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank StanleyM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Tried this despite the fact we had passed by on several occasions and found it to be empty .
Didn't want a full 3 course meal and our waiter was unimpressed by this , and wasn't afraid to make it obvious to us . Our local Indian always gives complimentary poppadoms and various accompaniments , none to be found here . The food was so so , mixed tikka needed longer cooking , but the worst was to come , the bill was so expensive , when we questioned the amount charged only then did we get a bill in writing, found we had been charged for each item individually, a tiny portion of sauce which was with the tikka cost E 3.50 .Waiter was quiet rude when bill was questioned . Unless you are not bothered about prices , avoid at all costs . Now we know why it was always empty .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank jacinta5550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great curry house!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This restaurant has a takeaway section attached to it and looks insignificant from the street with just a small frontage, but inside the restaurant is a clean and pleasant environment. The owners are very hospitable and provide great customer service. I am quite particular about my curries and their cooking is awesome with authentic tastes. Rice or naan bread is included in the price of the curry. When we ordered extra rice, they advised that this would probably be too much and they would give us more rice if we needed for free. My kids ate kebabs and were very happy with their meal.

We visited during the Muslim holy month of Ramadan and were happy to find that the meat is Halal and we could eat there. The owners gave us a free plate of fruit to break our fast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueberry72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Bundoran, County Donegal
Bundoran, County Donegal
 
Bundoran, County Donegal
Bundoran, County Donegal
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing