We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed one night at this hotel...lovely room, clean and airy. had dinner and it was the most delicious steak ever!”
Review of Ocean Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stayed one night at this hotel...lovely room, clean and airy. had dinner and it was the most delicious steak ever!”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Really nice hotel....Family of 3 and we had a lovely break there. Staff helpful & our stay ran smoothly....get a sea view room. worth it!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room..worth the extra few quid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    132
    41
    25
    18
See reviews for
239
189
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and it was great. The rooms were nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very helpful and it was a beautiful place for a wedding reception. I also got a facial and had my makeup done before the wedding at spa lounge located on the first floor. The prices of the rooms were also very reasonable, especially when comparing to Dublin prices/quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My husband and I and our two boys aged under 4 years of age stayed here for 3 nights with the supervalu getaway breaks, we were given the sapphire suite and it was very nice indeed. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and especially the breakfast room staff, in particular a lovely lady called jacinta, who was so nice to us each morning, it's small things like those that make it a lovely place to stay, that and of course the beautiful beach. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livvy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Myself, my wife and our 8 month old son spent two nights recently in the Ocean Sands. The hotel itself is ideally situated in the centre of town and overlooks the superb beach. We had a seaview room and enjoyed spectacular sunsets both nights. There is a nice relaxed feel to things in the hotel and we found the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel and room itself were very clean and well presented. There is an underground car available too.

My only issue would be that free WiFi was to be available in all rooms but we had such a bad signal that it didn't work most of the time. However, as we were on a short break internet access was not all that important to us.

We will hopefully get back sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vecgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Five day stay in this hotel was a pleasure due to the very friendly Irish & Polish staff.
service in the restaurant was slow, but the charm of "IVY" our waitress, restrained us
from invading the kitchen to see if the chef had nodded off !! ---- Food when served,
good------ fish dishes exceptional.
Twin room, one good bed, second------stuck against wall, no bedside locker or light.
Will know to be first in the door next time!
Will stay again, The beach & sand-dunes, a wonderful playground for
childern & adults alike.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noeleendoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed in the Ocean sands for two nights in June 2011. Had s very enjoyable stay. The hotel is located right in the middle of town near the beach, golf course and pubs.
The good was very good. We enjoyed substantial breakfasts and dinners on both nights that Er stayed.
Only negative point would be that the music from the function rooms 3 floors down could be heard in the bedrooms. Which wasn't ideal. The one lift in the hotel was somewhat temperamental resulting in numerous trips to the wrong floor.
However these are only minor points against a really nice hotel in Enniscrone.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanjkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

A gem of a location & the hotel is ideally situated to maximise its enjoyment. Virtuall on an excellent beach & golf course - subject to weather, of course.
Spent 5 days - Sun to Fri - on a social/holiday break. The hotel was fully booked but the level of service was outstanding. My eating was limited to breakfast and evening meal in the bar - on each day I experienced first class restaurant service & food.

While there I experienced 1st hand a medical emergency (not related to the hotel) involving a resident. The duty manager (think his name was "Killian") took personal control of the situation & his expertise togerher with his sensitivities in dealing with concerned family members was outstanding. That said, the duty managers example was evident among all his colleagues, whats more, they collectively performed as if it was a joy to do so & the natural thing to do.

I did have to report a technical issue with the room door; this was fixed within minutes.

My only negative was the quality of reading/working light in the bedroom - this was poor & especially for bed readers.

Room Tip: If you value an outstanding sea view; ask for same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMacS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.4 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
7.4 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Hotel

Property: Ocean Sands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Enniscrone, a picturesque seaside town in County Sligo, this hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, near to 5 km of golden beach. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of Killala Bay, Enniscrone Pier and the Valley of Diamonds. Located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is Enniscrone's Championship Golf Links. Children’s activities in the area include Waterpoint, a fully-equipped water park, health suite and sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing