We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor service”
Review of Ocean Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

While staying in Enniscrone went to eat here,after waiting 30 minutes eventually got to give our order,nothing for a vegetarian on the menu,there were five in our party,four of us got served while the fifth was left out pointed this out to the waitress,but still didnt get the meal.wouldnt recommend here if you were looking for a nice relaxing meal,it was chaotic and quite obvious the staff could not cope with the Sunday diners.The bigger disappointment was we never got an apology,Felt like our custom was not valued.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

I ventured to the Ocean sands for our final night of the holiday meal, as has become a tradition. It accomodates children well and the views over the bay are lovely. However I was a tad disapointed with it this time. Whilst the.service was excellent, the food left a lit to be desired. The menu was lack-lustre, with nothing inspiring, and we had to send our starter back (combo platter) as it was all overcooked, yet strangely cold. I really hope to see an improvement next time we visit as its been a favourite for s while.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishmummym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Just back from celebrating our anniversary @ the Ocean Sands Hotel. It's great to see this hotel getting such good reviews on Tripadvisor because they work hard to deserve it. This time we noticed they have a new Beauty suite- The Topaz suite-located on the 1st floor where I duly got a lovely file & polish for €10. Very professionally done by Adeliene! There are specials every day (facials etc) but you need to book @reception. The food is good fare & your get a free glass of wine with your evening meal if you are not on a package deal. (Nice gesture in this economy :-) The reception staff are very nice & if u like a room from a previous stay, they try their best to get the room for u when booking. We love the sea view rooms on the 1st floor. The dining area in the conservatory has stunning views over the Atlantic so book a table there if you enjoy eating fine food with spectacular views. The waitresses are all very friendly & always tend to your needs in an efficient easy manner. The head waitress(dark haired efficient girl) has a lovely smile but we don’t see it often enough..Whoever picks the staff picks well.
There are self catering apartments which also have great views & there were lots of young families around when we stayed there. The hotel is very popular with families with young children & hosts everything from weddings to christenings. The bar staff (hello to Chris) are great & combined with the regular entertainment makes for a great night’s crac.
The hotel itself offers access from the back to the beautiful blue flag beach in Enniscrone. This area is awash with families walking, going to the beach or indeed to the ever popular playground which has for years kept our children amused. There is also a very good surf school (7th Wave) on the beach & we had great fun trying to surf!
All in all great hotel making an effort to attract business when monies are scarce but people still need a relaxing break. Keep up the good work & hope to see u all again soon.
eiram

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Really nice hotel....Family of 3 and we had a lovely break there. Staff helpful & our stay ran smoothly....get a sea view room. worth it!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room..worth the extra few quid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and it was great. The rooms were nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very helpful and it was a beautiful place for a wedding reception. I also got a facial and had my makeup done before the wedding at spa lounge located on the first floor. The prices of the rooms were also very reasonable, especially when comparing to Dublin prices/quality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My husband and I and our two boys aged under 4 years of age stayed here for 3 nights with the supervalu getaway breaks, we were given the sapphire suite and it was very nice indeed. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and especially the breakfast room staff, in particular a lovely lady called jacinta, who was so nice to us each morning, it's small things like those that make it a lovely place to stay, that and of course the beautiful beach. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livvy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Myself, my wife and our 8 month old son spent two nights recently in the Ocean Sands. The hotel itself is ideally situated in the centre of town and overlooks the superb beach. We had a seaview room and enjoyed spectacular sunsets both nights. There is a nice relaxed feel to things in the hotel and we found the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel and room itself were very clean and well presented. There is an underground car available too.

My only issue would be that free WiFi was to be available in all rooms but we had such a bad signal that it didn't work most of the time. However, as we were on a short break internet access was not all that important to us.

We will hopefully get back sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vecgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.7 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
324 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
6.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,380 reviews
22.3 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Hotel

Address: Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range: £65 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Enniscrone, a picturesque seaside town in County Sligo, this hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, near to 5 km of golden beach. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of Killala Bay, Enniscrone Pier and the Valley of Diamonds. Located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is Enniscrone's Championship Golf Links. Children’s activities in the area include Waterpoint, a fully-equipped water park, health suite and sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ocean Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing