We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross”
Review of Ocean Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan
2 reviews
“Gross”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel was so dirty and unsanitary that my family and I left the day we checked in. We were still charged and there were stains on the chairs and the carpet was DISGUSTING. When I walked in the first thing I said was how it smelled like a teenage boy's room... you can imagine how that would smell.....I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    134
    42
    27
    18
See reviews for
246
194
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here for our friends wedding which took place in another hotel in the village. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Due to a rather late finish at the wedding, we overslept and missed breakfast, so never got to check out the food. Our fault entirely!! We had a great sea view from our window. The room rate was extremely reasonable and I would have no hesitation in coming back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_IRELAND_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I visited for a friend's wedding. The staff were very friendly. The food was excellent. I have problems with my back having had a number of operations but the beds were very comfortable. I woke in the morning after a very good night's sleep with none of the aches and pains that often accompany a sleep in an unfamiliar bed.
My only criticism is the service in the bar was very slow at times. I paid €5 for a pint bottle of bulmers which was less than I pay in my local at home.
The area boasts a very fine beach which is just behind the hotel.
I could easily see myself spending a few days on holiday in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on valentines night .we were greeted with a smile and a lovely receptionist .room was lovely and clean and the view of the sea outside our window was unbeatable .beds and room were spotless .beach is literally out the back of the hotel .after arriving back from our walk .champagne , a box of chocs , strawberries and cream and a rose had been left in our room and displayed lovely .dinner that evening lovely restaurant staff kind and chatty .overall we had a great time staff couldn't do enough for us .i have a nut allergy and they catered well for it .we would recommend this hotel highly .if every hotel could be this helpful and friendly it would be a blessing .well done to all the staff here they are an absolute credit and thank you for everything .joanne and Dave .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Myself and my family,my brother and his family and my parents all stayed here over the June bank holiday weekend. Even though the hotel was busy the service and attention from the staff was first class. The rooms were lovely and my brother was upgraded to the presidential suite which they loved as its fantastic!
The location is fantastic right on the beach and so child friendly! I have a 2 year old and a 4 year old and they were made to feel so welcome! All the meals were beautiful and we all enjoyed them!
We are all planning on a return visit this summer!
Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauranewell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. The meals and service were excellent. The location of this hotel is ideal for the beach. I would recommend this hotel to both couples and famalies. The restaurant was always busy and the food was consistantly good.
We had a beautiful room overlooking the sea and this was the icing on the cake for our stay. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful! Meal was nice (good decent portions) and the staff were quite efficient with the service. Hotel is in a nice setting in the town, with good views and short walking distance to the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staticsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.6 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
314 reviews
6.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
7.4 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
465 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Hotel

Property: Ocean Sands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Enniscrone, a picturesque seaside town in County Sligo, this hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, near to 5 km of golden beach. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of Killala Bay, Enniscrone Pier and the Valley of Diamonds. Located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is Enniscrone's Championship Golf Links. Children’s activities in the area include Waterpoint, a fully-equipped water park, health suite and sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing