We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had our wedding here in September 2013. We had never attended a wedding in the ocean sands and viewed it for our wedding based on recommendations from guests who had attended weddings here. From the moment we met with Teresa she made us feel so relaxed and at ease. We knew from the initial meeting with Teresa that was the venue for us. Nothing was too much trouble and she answered every query we had so efficiently. The food tasting was made so special and again it showed us we had no worries. We let Teresa choose the music for the drinks reception and we could not be happier with her choice. A lot of the guests said they could listen to him all day. The food at the drinks reception was supburb. At the reception itself all the waiting staff were very well presented and extremely efficient. Killian and Teresa were extremely professional in the handling of the reception. We hadn't met Killian until the day of wedding but we knew straight away we had nothing to worry about and we cannot thank him enough for the extremely professional way he handled the reception. The food was fabulous and everyone of the guests commented on how good it was. We are so happy we went with the ocean sands and if we had to do it over again we would not change a thing. We cannot thank Teresa, Killian and all the staff enough for the excellent service and professionalism they showed. We would highly recommend the ocean sands for a wedding. We are so happy to have received such good feedback from the guests on the food, venue and service. It defiantly made our day very special.
Ashling and Tomas Munnelly

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    127
    40
    25
    16
See reviews for
233
184
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hi, first of all we had a fantastic wedding in the Ocean Sands Hotel on 24th August, we got engaged over a year previously and planned to get married the following August, with the bride from Sligo and the groom from Mayo, Enniscrone seemed the perfect location for the wedding, we decided to make a visit to Enniscrone in July 2012 where we met Teresa, we discussed available dates, food menu’s, wine lists, prices, accommodation rates for families and guest etc, we then took a tour of the Bridal Suite and Guestrooms, afterwards we went into the bar and had a cup of tea and discussed between ourselves what we had seen and told by Teresa, we phoned some family and friends and decided to book the hotel for our wedding.
The following day we received an email from Teresa with a summary of our discussion and it was clearly outlined what was agreed by both parties once we officially made the booking.
We made many visits to the Hotel in the intervening to chat with management about everything we needed to know regarding our big day, we were always treated with great welcome and kindness by all staff in the hotel and nothing ever seemed a problem and as the day grew closer we were in regular contact with the hotel regarding menu, accommodation, numbers, guest list etc.
Our wedding day couldn’t have been better, after the Ceremony in Calry outside Sligo town we all arrived in the Ocean Sands, it was fantastic, the views from the bar over the Atlantic Ocean were fantastic, many guests were awe struck with the views,we then went down stairs for the reception and it was fantastic from there, the layout and decor was superb, the food was first class as was the service, even today which is almost eight weeks later people are still telling me that the lamb was the finest they have ever eaten, we partied late into the following morning, next morning we all assembled for breakfast. A truly great time was had by everyone.
We can’t praise the Staff high enough, a huge thank you to Cillian, Claire and especially Teresa for making everything so special, we met Teresa with a smile and parted with an even greater smile, everything that was agreed day one was honoured and we appreciate that so much.
Finally and honestly we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone for a wedding or another business you desire.
Mary & Frank Gibbons
16 October 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankiegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had our wedding here in September 2013. We had never attended a wedding in the ocean sands and viewed it for our wedding based on recommendations from guests who had attended weddings here. From the moment we met with Teresa she made us feel so relaxed and at ease. We knew from the initial meeting with Teresa that was the venue for us. Nothing was too much trouble and she answered every query we had so efficiently. The food tasting was made so special and again it showed us we had no worries. We let Teresa choose the music for the drinks reception and we could not be happier with her choice. A lot of the guests said they could listen to him all day. The food at the drinks reception was supburb. At the reception itself all the waiting staff were very well presented and extremely efficient. Killian and Teresa were extremely professional in the handling of the reception. We hadn't met Killian until the day of wedding but we knew straight away we had nothing to worry about and we cannot thank him enough for the extremely professional way he handled the reception. The food was fabulous and everyone of the guests commented on how good it was. We are so happy we went with the ocean sands and if we had to do it over again we would not change a thing. We cannot thank Teresa, Killian and all the staff enough for the excellent service and professionalism they showed. We would highly recommend the ocean sands for a wedding. We are so happy to have received such good feedback from the guests on the food, venue and service. It defiantly made our day very special.
Ashling and Tomas Munnelly

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Attended a family wedding here in early October. have to say I was really impressed with every aspect of the hotel. Rooms where large and very very well presented. Staff were very friendly. The meal for the wedding was superb. Huge portions and excellent quality. Great weekend, and couldnt recommend this hotel enough. Will be back for a summer break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmyswinningmatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Mayo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I couldn't say enough good about this hotel. Family lunch with wonderful food and service. Obviously family run because the attention to detail is unbelievable. i.e supervised play room downstairs for the little ones after dinner so the adults could enjoy their fantastic meal. I had the chowder which was really lovely followed by ham and turkey. Huge portions of tasty GOOD food. Can't comment on dessert because couldn't fit it in. Would really recommend this place. Price extremely reasonable for the family. will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The view of Enniscrone beach is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidelma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful Family Sunday luncheon & couldn't fault one thing! Great location, with stunning views of the beach & sea, a lovely friendly, warm welcome & excellent food. The prawn & smoked salmon salad was huge & utterly delicious & the roast turkey & ham with vegetables was super; again an absolute huge portion, which was very very satisfying! Equally my dining Companions enjoyed vegetable soup & crispy duck leg to start, followed by roast beef which was also delicious. The vegetables were particularly memorable because they were cooked perfectly. We each had apple pie & ice ream to finish which was also very good. Would definitely return & recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Navilluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We chose the Ocean Sands Hotel as the venue for our wedding in November 2012 as the hotel is set in such beautiful surroundings with splendid views of Enniscrone beach and we loved the relaxed and family friendly atmosphere as we have kids ourselves. We had a civil ceremony in the Hotel and also stayed in one of the Apartments the night before our Wedding. I cannot say enough about the hospitality and professionalism of the staff and management during our stay. Teresa, the Wedding co-ordinator, was extremely helpful and patient with our many questions and requests! The room decor was just right and fitted in with our colours and the atmosphere we had chosen for our wedding perfectly. During our stay they took fantastic care of us and of our guests from beginning to end. Many guests stayed the evening before the wedding also and all raved about the place - the views, the hospitality, the service, the value! What more can we say than that everything went to plan, the ceremony room and the function room was exactly what we had hoped for, we had entertainment in the bar - a local singer (recommended by Teresa) which went down a treat. The meal was beautiful, served swiftly and the staff were plentiful and very obliging. On such an occasion that means so much and takes so long to plan this Hotel really realised the importance of making the day all ours.

Sarah & Rory November 2012

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.4 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
9.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Hotel

Property: Ocean Sands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Enniscrone, a picturesque seaside town in County Sligo, this hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, near to 5 km of golden beach. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of Killala Bay, Enniscrone Pier and the Valley of Diamonds. Located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is Enniscrone's Championship Golf Links. Children’s activities in the area include Waterpoint, a fully-equipped water park, health suite and sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing