We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heather Gallagher's Gathering”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heather Gallagher's Gathering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We in Ireland seem to think that we have to go abroad to get good value for our euro.??? Not so, the Ocean Sands provided us with excellence in every department during our stay there this weekend. Initially I thought because it was so inexpensive that there would be compromises in quality or standards, but I was pleasantly surprised , food was outstanding both breakfast time and evening meal time. Served by competent pleasant local staff. Receptionists were flawless, intelligent, pleasant and well informed , I feel the reason is team work, it's seldom that you see the owners of a Hotel "digging in " on all levels I was served my drinks in the bar on Saturday night by Teresa Devaney herself and I was served in seconds. Direct hands on leadership. This Quality was clear to be seen in all services in this Hotel. Thank you for making our weekend so enjoyable and we will definitely be back soon. I do recommend this hotel for all the above but I have to mention the fantastic walks we had on the beach which the hotel is practically built upon. Excellent and proud we have such a GEM in Ireland. Thank You.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the sea. This surely was a bonus but we spent very little time in the room as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    131
    40
    25
    17
See reviews for
237
188
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Visited here in August with my family,great food, friendly atmosphere,pleasant helpful staff,fabulous view.Early bird menu fantastic value. its a busy spot but staff always made time to chat to customers. Rooms clean and spacious.Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break here. The hotel is small and very friendly and welcoming. All the staff were extremely helpful and the service was great. We asked for a sea view and this was not a problem - the receptionist happily changed our room. The room was spacious clean and comfortable with a comfy bed and a lovely bathroom - end of course a great view over the beautiful beach and the Atlantic. We had an evening meal as part of our package which was very good- amazing deep fried Brie! Breakfasts were also very good. Enniscrone itself is quiet with not much to do but the beach is amazing foe a long walk - and there's Ballina just 10 minutes away by car if you want a bit more to do. In summary- a very nice stay in a 3 star hotel with 4 star service!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyBrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Recently stayed in the apartments at the Ocean Sands, we enjoyed are four days immensley, the appartments are beautiful, clean and have everything you would need. We had a problem with our heating one evening and within two minutes of ringing reception someone arrived to fix it, we ate in the retaurant on three occasions the food was brilliant, we also had two young children with us and they had a great time at the kids club. All in all this is a wonderful place to spend a few days. The beach is stunning, the town of enniscrone is lovely and the people at the Ocean Sands really make an effort to please you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I've just returned from a week end trip to the ocean sands and can't praise the hotel enough.the food was excellent,rooms spacious,very clean,but the best aspect was the staff.every single member of staff we encountered over the week end were very friendly,helpfull and always greeted us with a smile.with a superb location I'd certainly give it a go

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyjamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Ocean Sands hotel in July 2013 choosing it because of it’s ideal location and setting right on the beachfront. All of our guests enjoyed fabulous views and it was great to have both the beach and local amenities within a stones throw. We really can't speak highly enough about the management and all the staff who were extremely friendly and highly efficient at all times - no request was too much trouble! Our wedding day could not have run any smoother and that was down to their experience and professionalism, even when dealing with our last minute requests. All of the food was absolutely first class and we still receive lots of compliments from our guests about it! In addition, we had plenty of kids at our wedding and the hotel playroom was very much appreciated by the parents in our party. Every single one of our guests including the many who stayed at the hotel had an amazing time and couldn't speak highly enough about it! Many have travelled the world and said the customer service, rooms, food and location at the Ocean Sands was second to none. We really can't give enough thanks and praise to everyone at the Ocean Sands for making our wedding weekend so happy and memorable! Darren & Kerry

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are just fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank physhald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you are looking for the ultimate Irish wedding venue, you need look no further than the Ocean Sands in Enniscrone. After seeing the hotel on the website, we began talking to Teresa and we travelled from England to visit the hotel on a miserable day in January 2013. We were treated to the very best in Irish hospitality before the staff even knew that we were looking for a wedding venue and the atmosphere inside was anything but miserable. Teresa took the time to show us around and although we had planned to see a few other wedding venues that day, there was no need, we were sold and booked immediately. Booking from overseas was as easy as being in Enniscrone as everything was done with such ease. Once we had booked, the next stage was to do a tasting in Spring 2013 and this was an experience in itself. All courses were served just as they would be at the wedding. We were a little unsure about which particular symphony of deserts to go for, but this didn't matter, the chef just created a new one for us. ('Bespoke' being the in word of 2013). Two days before our wedding, we arrived in Enniscrone and sat down with Teresa to chat through the final details. She commented that she couldn't believe how calm we were, but really this was just a reflection of her calm and organisation which meant we had absolutely nothing to worry about. I had made my own wedding cake and was a little nervous of stacking it, once again, no need to worry, the Ocean Sands just took it off my hands. Like ourselves, our guests were completely overwhelmed by the welcome they were given as soon as they arrived in the Ocean Sands; nothing was too much trouble. Less than 7 months after our first trip, it was time for the wedding day itself, 2nd August 2013. The wedding day experience could not have been topped. People from all over the globe commented that the food was the best they had ever tasted at a wedding and a dance was definitely needed later to work it all off! The dinner was served with pace, precision and gentleness (individual vegetable bowls were appreciated by all). The staff were friendly, accommodating and those behind the bar ensured that nobody had a chance to work up a thirst. Cillian, the MC, put everyone at ease and was professional throughout. One of the main selling points for us was having a function room with a view which really lifted the atmosphere as we watched the day fade into the party of the night. We are still staggered by the value for money that we and our guests enjoyed at the Ocean Sands for such professionalism and service. We thank Teresa and Mark most sincerely, as do all of our guests; many of whom will be returning for a short break in this most idyllic spot of Enniscrone. We are forever grateful and can't wait to go back and recommend the Ocean Sands for you whole heartedly! Tara and Rory

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.4 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
6.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
7.4 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Hotel

Property: Ocean Sands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Enniscrone, a picturesque seaside town in County Sligo, this hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, near to 5 km of golden beach. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of Killala Bay, Enniscrone Pier and the Valley of Diamonds. Located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is Enniscrone's Championship Golf Links. Children’s activities in the area include Waterpoint, a fully-equipped water park, health suite and sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ocean Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing