We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Stay at Tara Farmhouse B&B”
Review of Tara Farmhouse

Tara Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enniscrone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tara Farmhouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Enniscrone B&B and Inns
Mayo
1 review
“A Fantastic Stay at Tara Farmhouse B&B”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our stay in Tara B&B was brilliant, A fantastic place to stay in enniscrone, I would definitely stay here again could not pick a better place to stay. Catherine the hostess wonderful and very welcuming with her home-made baking, jam etc a nice treat on arrival. Rooms very cosy and warm,breakfast menu outstanding, a huge variety to choose. On our night out she provided free tranport to enniscrone town to our destination, this was great because we didnt need to wait for a taxi. "This should be a 5 star" :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We only stayed in Tara for one night and if ever back in Enniscrone will be definitely stay with Catherine again. On arrival was offered tea and fresh scones and Catherine even went that extra mile and dropped us into town for wedding we were attending, was well warned to have taxi pre booked, room including bathroom was spotless, bed was so comfy and loads of bedding (for me who is always cold), home bed bread and breakfast were gorgeous. Catherine was the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshNil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Catherine is the perfect hostess and was very much in tune with ensuring that we had a wonderful stay in her home. Our rooms were great, wonderfully comfortable beds and pillows, and a great Irish breakfast with wonderful white and brown home made breads. One of our party was unwell, and Catherine proved so helpful, going the 'extra mile' to make sure everything possible was done to ease the situation. The recommendation for a meal ensured we had wonderful food at a local pub. If I were to travel back to that part of Ireland, I would want to stay at Tara again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I loved Tara. There were 6in our party with 3 rooms. All were wonderful, clean great beds, pillows. And the hospitality was second to none. I can't say enough about this place and I am amazed that it is not at least a 4 star. It was cold when we arrived and Catherine greeted us with tea and scones. She added a sweet touch with having our beds warmed for us. Breakfast was great with home made jams . bubba was an added surprise. Loved it here

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have just spent another eight nights with the most hospitable family you could wish to meet. Nothing is too much trouble, always welcomed with a cup of tea and home made cakes.
Breakfast is a feast to behold lovely home made Brown bread along with fresh eggs from the hens is enough to wet anyone's appetite to make up the full Irish breakfast or perhaps just scrambled eggs along with the fruit juice, cereal, yoghurt, toast, home made jams and marmalade and as much tea or coffee you can drink.
The rooms are all cleaned daily, beds made and clean towels provided.
The peat fire in the guest sitting room is a a very welcome sight on a damp wet cold day.
The beach is wonderful to walk along flat sand and miles of it, the pitch and putt is great fun no matter what age you are. The Seaweed baths are a treat not to be missed.
We will be back again next year that is for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are good have slept in all the beds over the years and all very comfortable. room size is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaArthur238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

You do really get the feeling of staying in a farm house. We stayed here mostly because we needed a location close to the Eniscrone golf course. Catherine even provided us with a discount to play at the course which is less than a mile away. The breakfast was excellent with quite a variety of fresh fruit. The rooms where clean and cozy however a bit small in size. It was rainy and damp during our visit and the family made sure we had a warm peat fire in the sitting area. It was really a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sswan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

So glad that we were able to stay here on our trip, one of the nicest B&B proprietors that I have ever met. On our next visit to Ireland we would love to come back. Beautiful area, nice clean rooms and fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
4.0 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Farmhouse

Property: Tara Farmhouse
Address: Ballina Road, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Enniscrone
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing