We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”
Review of Waterfront House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterfront House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Hertforshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Waterfront House shouldn't be described as a B&B, it is more a small hotel. It's position right on the seafront is far supoerior than the other larger hotels in town. I would heartily recommend this place for a few quiet days away. There is a restaurant and bar, although we only used the restaurant at lunchtime, the evening menu was quite impressive. We ate out in pubs in the town solely because the weather didn't suit walking backwards and forwards. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There's not a lot to do in Enniscrone if you get poor weather, but we were recommended to indulge in a seaweed bath next door. It's great, give it a go! If you are staying in Enniscrone look no further than the Waterfront House. Also plenty of parking at the rear of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    44
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
155
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great accomodation with friendly owners, within short stroll of the town centre. Very large rooms by normal b&b standards and a restaurant/wine bar within the same house (we didn't use it but it looked nice). Breakfast ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Waterfront House is classified as a Guest House, but we only visited the restaurant.
I found it by accident one afternoon while looking for somewhere to eat in Inniscrone and was jolly pleased with my find.
It is in the perfect setting - on the end of the shore with fantastic views over the bay. The only draw back was the parking. They do not like you to park on the road outside (it would spoil the view), but the car park at the back is very small, up ramp and crowded. We had old folks with us and were able to use the hotel lift to go down from the car park to the restaurant, which was great.
The food was ok, but the wonderful views more than made up for it.
I would definitely go there again to maybe watch the sun go down with a wine and some tapas - heaven.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank robEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

small group of friends decided on a short break away. None of us had visited Enniscrone before. No vacancies in the local hotels so went online and googled 'Accomodation in Enniscrone' . Booked Waterfront House because (to be honest) it was all that was available. What pleasant surprises greeted us on arrival...
1. the location ( right on the beachside),
2. the building itself (modern, but homely and cosy looking),
3. the private parking (adjoining the rear entrance),
4. the beautiful, spacious, rooms, (large ensuites with BATH and SHOWER),
5. the breathtaking view (and the roar of the sea),
6 .the staff, (who were so friendly and so helpful),
7. the wine bar? restaurant (with terrace and a very reasonable and good quality menu),
8. the 'value for money' of our stay.
What more can we say? Except that the whole experience far surpassed our expectations and we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. Do not forget to book dinner in the restaurant if you wish to eat there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was a beautiful hotel with a great waterfront location. My room (which was HUGE by the way) looked right out onto the ocean. There were lots of windows for a great breeze. The bathroom was very large and featured a big tub for soaking. Everthing was spotlessly clean.

The restaurant was excellent for dinner and breakfast. The seafood was very fresh and the food was elegantly presented. There was a great wine selection,with lots of wines available by the glass.

I also went down the street for a seaweed bath and steam. If this sounds weird to you, take my advice and try it out- it was incredibly relaxing and my skin felt great after.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melshep26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

If you love long walks along the shore, this the place to stay. You just hop across the street and you're on lovely, dreamy beach. The hotel's lobby is inviting and pleasant, a great place to relax with the resident dog. The restaurant is great. I had a huge room with a view so I was especially happy. People who took the seaweed baths told me their skin felt fabulous although I didn't take the plunge. Staying here was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScreenName008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamberoo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here a night whilst on Vagabond tour of Nth Ireland. Right opposite the sea so great views from the fabulous restaurant and many of the rooms. Unfortunately ours was on back of house but had plenty of room and lovely bathroom. Lovely walk along foreshore and enjoyed our meal in restaurant immensely. Perfect spot. There is a lift if you don't want to take the stairs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindazyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.8 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Enniscrone
590 reviews
9.4 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,290 reviews
20.4 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
7.1 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront House

Property: Waterfront House
Address: Waterfront House Cliff Road | Enniscrone, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront House offers luxury boutique accommodation, sea view restaurant & wine bar situated on the waters edge overlooking Enniscrone Beach and Killala Bay. On the Wild Atlantic Way, Enjoy spectacular uninterrupted views of the bay, Atlantic Ocean and Enniscrone's famous sunsets. Best views in town. Relax and unwind in our new restaurant and wine bar. Waterfront offer its guest relaxing setting for an enjoyable break at the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing