We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've stayed in many places all over the world, through nine major trips, and this is as good a value and comfort as you could require. Ideally situated overlooking the bay, the Owner, Martina could not be faulted being, courteous and extraordinarily helpful. She even helped us find further accommodation after we decided to extend our stay in the area. Rooms are far larger than you could expect, and so well priced. Both dinner and breakfast were first class with a surprisingly good wine list. The windows open to allow the sea noise in and Martina even organised local Seawed baths and massages to ease out the extended holiday aches.

Room Tip: Windows allow the ocean in, but keep the noise out when closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    42
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
139
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I cannot speak highly enough about the Waterfront, Enniscrone.

Having spent many happy family vacations in Enniscrone as a child, I've returned to the Waterfront for small family reunions over the past few years. Martina is an exceptional host and we have all agreed that each visit has been better than the last.

As an Irish person living in the US I would recommend the Waterfront to my friends as an environment to experience real Irish hospitality, oceanfront and in comfortable surroundings.

No "hotel" in the area can match the Waterfront experience :-) A gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely small hotel with a Vagabond tour of northern Ireland (also excellent). We were greeted so warmly by the woman at the front desk. Check-in done in a flash and then she phoned to book those of us who wanted appointments at the seaweed baths a few doors down the street. Our room was beautiful, big, very clean, very comfortable bed - best of all a table set with wine glasses in front of a big window overlooking the ocean. Really, you could sit and watch the ocean waves for days. Just stunning. Our group ate in the hotel restaurant that evening - all together at a long beautifully-set table. Everyone liked what they had - my husband had an excellent steak;I had a seafood pie, also delicious. The owner helped with a little surprise birthday treat for one of the tour group - very fun. There were a lot of wines on offer which the group approved of. Breakfast was also good - excellent coffee, cereal, fruit and then a choice of hot breakfasts. Very generous portions. It was a beautiful place to stay, even on the windy September day we had there. I would love to get back there one day, for a longer time. A friendly welcome, lovely clean room with a view, great food. (And the seaweed bath was unique and amazing.)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having spent a lot of time this summer in the waterfront, I was blessed with excellent weather in this very hospitable hotel. Martina, Patricia , Jennifer and staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. I really enjoyed the range and quality of food available in the dining room; especially the daily selection of fresh fish. Looking forward to another relaxing holiday here next year and reacquainting myself with Rollo the dog!

Room Tip: Try and book a sea view room for lovely sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you want a B&B in the Sligo area with ocean views and excellent service this is your place. Located in the surfing capital of Ireland the Waterfront House has epic water views, literally right across the street. They had excellent meal service in a dining area overlooking the ocean. Our group had a tight schedule the day after check in and Martina opened the restaurant early for our breakfast. Don't miss the opportunity to walk down the street and take a seaweed bath - a delightful experience!

Room Tip: Rooms along the front all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

It was a very wild evening when we arrived at the hotel, as our room was at the front of the hotel we watched the sea before going to dinner. Our room was very big, clean and a huge bathroom. Staff here are very friendly. The dining room gets very busy so booking a table for dinner is a good idea. We found the food to be a very high standard, both at dinner and breakfast. Pity they didn't do draught beer as it is classed as a wine bar, but the pub up the road did very good Guinness.
When the tide is out there is a very large expanse of sand which was popular with surfers, walkers and families.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAD_and_LPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salies de Bearn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Forget the Queen of England, Joan of Arc,Marie Antoinette,or even Margaret Thatcher...........there is is only one number one woman and she is called Martina.
The welome we received on arrival was epic. The room was fabulous. And the breakfast experience, well take a deep breath. The Full Irish is the best you can imagine. You might be lucky enough to be served by Margarite, larger than life, attractive and so beautifully engaging with her lovely sense of humour, you would either like to take her home or run a mile.............I'll take her home ! This great place has the warmth of a mothers hug, the quality of a crystal vase,the breakfast you dream about, but most of all, if you miss your dog as I did there is the the star of the show, bring on Rollo. I love this place and I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.7 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
20.4 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
6.1 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront House

Property: Waterfront House
Address: Cliff Road | Enniscrone, Enniscrone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront House offers luxury boutique accommodation, sea view restaurant & wine bar situated on the waters edge overlooking Enniscrone Beach and Killala Bay. On the Wild Atlantic Way, Enjoy spectacular uninterrupted views of the bay, Atlantic Ocean and Enniscrone's famous sunsets. Best views in town. Relax and unwind in our new restaurant and wine bar. Waterfront offer its guest relaxing setting for an enjoyable break at the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing