We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top bar - Top food - Top staff”
Review of The Pilot Bar

The Pilot Bar
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Proper Old style Traditional Irish Pub serving proper pub grub!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top bar - Top food - Top staff”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were staying in the locality and heard about this place in another bar from a local, so we decided to give it a go. It was very busy when we arrived. We were told probably an hour wait, we nearly left but they said if we found a seat outside we'd be served straight away. We're glad we did. The service was a little slow and there didn't seem to be full table service outside as we had to order and pay for our food at the bar but to be honest we didn't mind. It was a lovely evening and there was a great buzz, so we had a few drinks while we waited for our food. We ordered the seafood platter and the pie. As we were waiting a while for our mains the waitress came out with some garlic bread to keep us going. The food was class, not what we expected at all. You could tell it was fresh. After we finished our meal we decided to stay for a few more drinks at the bar. The staff were friendly and chatty. We can't recommend it enough, We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepilotbar, Owner at The Pilot Bar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks John M. Top review, we love it and we're chuffed that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    84
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid if you are hungry!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Myself,my husband and child ate here on a Saturday evening. We sat outside as there were no seats inside. After waiting about 15mins for the girl to give us menus,my husband went inside to get them. Again we waited for her to come back (which she didnt) so off my husband went to give the order at the bar only to be told to take a seat someone would be with us in a few minutes. We waited...and waited.! I went inside then to give the order and again was told to take a seat,I explained that we had already been waiting half an hour to make our hour etc. After a few minutes our order was taken, our starters came in reasonable time, we waited at least 30 minutes for main course and ordered a drink which we never got. The place was busy but they had ample amount of staff walking around talking to customers. It baffles me how this place has won an award from tripadvisor..its most definately not for customer service or for their standard of food. Will not be back.!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank noddy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepilotbar, Owner at The Pilot Bar, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
On occasion we can fall short and on these occasions we will put our hands up. On this occasion however we did not. Noddy82 we remember your visit. The Saturday in question was a busy one and you arrived just in the middle of us closing the kitchen and not taking any orders as it had been so busy. We had quite literally run out of everything and had to take an hour to prep again. It was explained to you and all other customers that we were not taking any orders for approximately 30-40mins but if you were happy to wait we would bring out menus to you when the kitchen was ready. This we know is not an ideal situation to be in, but unfortunately sometimes we have to do it. Most people are happy to wait and those who do not have the time or are too hungry will try somewhere else. You did however choose to wait. As you quite rightly stated once your order was taken your starters arrived in good time, and main courses within 30mins. We did forget your drinks briefly but your server went back to you within 5 mins and apologised for this, at this point you said you didn't want them. As for loads of staff wandering around talking to customers, I'd expect nothing less. I'm glad to hear that they were making the best use of their time engaging with customers when the kitchen was closed.

I think our trip advisor record speaks for itself. I also think that the amount of repeat custom we have shows a level of consistency in what we do. Trip advisor Is a great tool for our customers to use to leave fair reviews and it's a great gauge for us to see how we're doing and where we need to improve. It's also very important that we as a business are given the opportunity to reply to our reviews. And I hope potential customers are not put off visiting us by your very unfair review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dont know what the fuss is about”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

In here for both drinks and food. Didn't think much of an atmosphere. Outside is nice weather permitting, Food wasn't great at all I had steak sandwich and was like a sole of a slipper and very dry. My husband had fish and chips which was alrite but better elsewhere

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mg60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepilotbar, Owner at The Pilot Bar, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks mg60_10. We don't like fuss either which is why we try to keep things simple. Good quality freshly cooked food in a relaxed pub setting with good drink to boot. So we're disappointed that you didn't enjoy your meal especially when they are 2 of the most popular things on the menu. Thanks for letting us know and taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely bar”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I would recommend this little bar to anyone. My Mom is A vegetarian and she was blown away by the amount of choice she had. The staff were very friendly. Fast service and lovely food. Can not wait to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepilotbar, Owner at The Pilot Bar, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks Nathan G. Your mum isn't the first person to like our veggie offerings. We think they're pretty tasty as well. Thanks for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here recently
Very quiet and quaint no atmosphere
Unlikely to return to this bar
Ended up reading about the recent elections

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepilotbar, Owner at The Pilot Bar, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hmmm Quaint, quiet and no atmosphere? 3 stars, not bad. We like Quaint and the pub is definitely that. Quiet? It depends on when you visit, it can be very quiet especially on Mondays and Tuesdays when we don't serve food and we can understand there not being much of an atmosphere when it is quiet, but its a pretty bustling atmospheric place Wednesday to Sunday. Thanks for the review though, we appreciate them all, they keep us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pilot Bar also viewed

Enniscrone, County Sligo
Enniscrone, County Sligo
 
Enniscrone, County Sligo
Easkey, County Sligo
 

Been to The Pilot Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing