We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Boyle
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    Bush Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    The Landmark Hotel(Carrick-on-Shannon)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    The Melvin(Leitrim)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
      Leitrim Quay(Leitrim)
      View Hotel
      Excellent 5/5
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Parking
      • Pool
      The Silver Eel(Roscommon)
      View Hotel
      Excellent 5/5
        Reviews (120)
        Filter reviews
        120 results
        Traveller rating
        50
        32
        15
        14
        9
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        50
        32
        15
        14
        9
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviewsboda borglough keyolder kidscaravan pitchescamping sitelovely settinggreat facilitieslovely campsitedry weatherlarge playgroundzip wirewashing machine and dryerfarm shopmain centrethe august bank holiday weekendbeautiful placeforrest park
        FilterAll languages
        Updating list...
        91 - 96 of 120 reviews
        Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

        We visited the park on two days an really enjoyed it. The first day we did Borda Borg, which is a life size puzzle which you solve in groups. We spent hours in it and could go back again over and over. Adults and kids had a great day.

        The second day we did the zip line. We arrive at about 11:30 and left close to 5 and a very cold day. We were wrecked but it was so much fun.

        In two full days of entertainment we didn't get to see all the park has to offer so we will definitely be back.

        • Stayed: May 2013
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
        Thank Sean C
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 21 July 2013

        We did the " Lough Key Experience " and really enjoyed the self-guided audio tour and the tree canopy walk, excellent views, both from here and even better from the Moylurg viewing tower. We also had a lovely walk on a few of the forest trails. We had lunch in the Lakeside cafe, the food was nothing to rave about but perfectly acceptable and not too expensive.Staff helpful and friendly.

        • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank 2020vision
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 12 July 2013

        The location really makes this camping trip. The lake is there for boating and swimming (warmer than expected). Forest trails provide ideal venue for walks or cycles. History buffs can take in Castle island with anchient celtic history and ruins of Rockingham Estate. Small playground at campsite and outside visitor centre and larger paid acess one inside visitor centre. Adrenaline junkies can try zip wire courses (expensive but could provide 5 hours entertainment).

        Campsite has toilets, showers (charged), laundry (charged), washing and cooking facilties. Depending on what pitch you are in, the toilets can be far away. WARNING - there does not appear to be a policy on late night noise so depending on who you have camping around you festivities can run into the wee hours.

        • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Eileen J
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 3 July 2013

        As a group of 27 from toddlers to grandparents, we visited last weekend. 13 did the zip it rope park which was excellent - a great challenge and everyone loved it. After initiation where you are shown what to do, there are 5 levels of increasing complexity and height above ground. Everyone wears a harness and with double clips that you can't unhook simultaneously, its extremely safe. There are lots of staff and the place is very well run. The 9 younger kids went to the play ground, called animal kingdom and they loved it. There are other activities and it would be very easy to spend the whole day there. Other options are walks, boat hire, boda borg challenge, tree top walk etc etc. we spent 5 hours in the rope park and still didn't get to the last level. Its also very reasonable at 27e each with a 10% discount if there are more than 10 participating. There is also free parking if you spend 20 e or more in the lough key park (not including zip it) or 4e is needed on exit.

        • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        3  Thank gerrimac
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 18 June 2013

        We stayed in the Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park in the Forest Park during the June Bank Holiday weekend.

        On arrival, the site was quite busy but still lots of good spots available. We checked in at Reception and were met by a very pleasant guy who was able to help us with our queries. There is also a security guard who patrols the site at night & mans the reception area.

        I was a bit aprehensive when I booked this campsite as a number of previous reviewers mentioned that the toilets were in poor condition. I have to say, even though it was a busy weekend, we found the toilets to be ok. At times, between cleaning, you were likely to find toilet paper on the ground but that was it. The facilities were clean and did not have any unpleasant odours. The showers were nice & warm & 5 minutes was plenty of time too.

        There is a small playground on site with a larger one up at the visitors centre. We got a discount for a day pass for the kids and got our money's worth out of it. We did the tree canopy walk which was very well put together and takes you through a self guided tour that takes about an hour.

        One thing this site would benefit from is a small shop on site for basics. If you need anything, you need to get in your car & drive. Although the ice-cream van visited each evening around 9.30 and cleaned up in terms of business!!!

        I would definitely go back to Lough Key & look forward to my next visit.

        • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        4  Thank IrishTravellerDub
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews