We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect to Chill or Thrill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Perfect to Chill or Thrill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Lough Key and its shore woodland is a national treasure.The Lough is part of the beautiful Shannon waterway and on its own it is a delightful setting. In addition the huge estate and its many activities is a great outdoors setting to walk or hike. For those that like heights there is a walkway the goes up over the trees and viewing towers to climb. You can take the lift if you are a sissy!
There is ample parking, camping and caravan sites and watersports. If you are of my disposition all you will want to do is take a quite stroll through the woodlands and along the canal and then a nice cup of coffee or let the inner child win and get an ice cream.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    26
    12
    12
    9
See reviews for
67
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We camped for 2 nights and found the campsite to be excellent. Very safe, good shower block and cooking area and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Visitor Centre has a cafe which was quite good and we had a go at the Boda Borg which is an indoor quest type game which was great fun. They also had a canopy walk and a zip wire which we didn't have time to sample. There are boat trips and boat hire available on the beautiful lake and various walks through the most stunning forest. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank StillorganSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I had booked with zip it for a family outing in the 3.30 afternoon slot on a weekday. Upon our arrival the check in area where you receive your harness etc was extremely busy and we waited for roughly 15 minutes to start. This was unexpected as there were around 15-20 people starting with us which i was not made aware of before i booked. I expected a smaller group.

There were no toilets close by which i found to be disgraceful with the amount of children around. As a result people seemed to be using the close by wood area. Found a member of staff to be very blase about this and later on found him to be rude when ever we approached him for help or when we were trying to make general light conversation, a few of the staff seemed like they didn't want to be there. However the lad that trained us in called Emmet was humorous, helpful and created a good atmosphere for the fun activity ahead! The zip it courses themselves were well laid out with 5 levels which progressed in height and challenge. But there are not many escape routes for people who may have reached their limitations.

Overall i found the activity itself to be great adrenaline wise and i would do it again. As a group of five we all had a good time but agreed that for 27e the staff could be friendlier, and there should be toilet facilities (esp when you serve food and drink) and that the large groups of people being booked at the same time did affect the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayleighDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We visited the park on two days an really enjoyed it. The first day we did Borda Borg, which is a life size puzzle which you solve in groups. We spent hours in it and could go back again over and over. Adults and kids had a great day.

The second day we did the zip line. We arrive at about 11:30 and left close to 5 and a very cold day. We were wrecked but it was so much fun.

In two full days of entertainment we didn't get to see all the park has to offer so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundonald, Belfast.
Level Contributor
380 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We did the " Lough Key Experience " and really enjoyed the self-guided audio tour and the tree canopy walk, excellent views, both from here and even better from the Moylurg viewing tower. We also had a lovely walk on a few of the forest trails. We had lunch in the Lakeside cafe, the food was nothing to rave about but perfectly acceptable and not too expensive.Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2020vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenry, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The location really makes this camping trip. The lake is there for boating and swimming (warmer than expected). Forest trails provide ideal venue for walks or cycles. History buffs can take in Castle island with anchient celtic history and ruins of Rockingham Estate. Small playground at campsite and outside visitor centre and larger paid acess one inside visitor centre. Adrenaline junkies can try zip wire courses (expensive but could provide 5 hours entertainment).

Campsite has toilets, showers (charged), laundry (charged), washing and cooking facilties. Depending on what pitch you are in, the toilets can be far away. WARNING - there does not appear to be a policy on late night noise so depending on who you have camping around you festivities can run into the wee hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

As a group of 27 from toddlers to grandparents, we visited last weekend. 13 did the zip it rope park which was excellent - a great challenge and everyone loved it. After initiation where you are shown what to do, there are 5 levels of increasing complexity and height above ground. Everyone wears a harness and with double clips that you can't unhook simultaneously, its extremely safe. There are lots of staff and the place is very well run. The 9 younger kids went to the play ground, called animal kingdom and they loved it. There are other activities and it would be very easy to spend the whole day there. Other options are walks, boat hire, boda borg challenge, tree top walk etc etc. we spent 5 hours in the rope park and still didn't get to the last level. Its also very reasonable at 27e each with a 10% discount if there are more than 10 participating. There is also free parking if you spend 20 e or more in the lough key park (not including zip it) or 4e is needed on exit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerrimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyle
6.6 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
24.7 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Forest Park House B&B
17.1 mi away
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
2.1 mi away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Boyle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Boyle
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing