We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Lovely”
Review of Abbey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey House
Ranked #5 of 8 Boyle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Christine's hospitality is second to none and she made our stay wonderful. The Cottage we stayed in was adjoined to Boyle Abbey and was right next to Boyle River, a wonderful base to tour this part of Ireland. With Free Wi-Fi and Soarview we had much to keep us busy on a Rainy day, when it is dryer i must recommend Lough Key a fantastic place with Borda Borg (basically the Crystal Maze) and fantastic views.

The cottage was lovely, not the most spacious but then we were able to use the B&B. Plus we were only using it as a business base to tour around schools. We always felt welcome and nothing was too much bother. My only issue was the shower could have been more powerful, however i am splitting hairs with this criticism and would definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

If you pristine clinical surrounding as provided by the popular hotel chains then Abbey House might not suit you. If on the other hand, you appreciate a fine old house, beautiful furniture and character by the bucket load then go and stay there. John and Christina are great hosts and characters in their own right. Nothing was too much trouble and the fact that John forgot to "sneek into our room to put in a new light bulb while we were out" just added to the charm. The tea and biscuits on arrival were much appreciated after a hard day's cycling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toekneepearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We have been visiting Ireland for over 18 years now, and we have also been staying at the Abbey House in Boyle on our visits. For us, The Abbey House and Boyle have become a major reason for visiting Ireland and not just a place to stay while we are there. Christina and John always make us feel at home, and both of us love this beautiful place on the river. We have stayed in the rooms as well as in one of the self-catering cottages, and we cannot recommend The Abbey House highly enough! One great advantage of staying in one of the rooms is the delicious breakfast that Christina makes each morning, but for longer stays, the cottages are wonderful too! We will be returning to the Abbey House in 2012, and we look forward to seeing Christina and John and walking around the town of Boyle. Even the train station is not a far walk from the Abbey House. The King's House and the Saturday farmer's market are very short walks from your door, and there are other lovely walks to take. My husband enjoys fly-fishing, and I enjoy relaxing and reading within sight and sound of the Boyle River and visiting all of the shops and stores in Boyle. We highly recommend The Abbey House; we love it here!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river offer you a perfect view and the peaceful sounds of the Boyle river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishing4fun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

If you lodge in an old mansion that is pushing 200 years in age, you should expect some wear and tear around the edges. In spite of this, the Abbey House is a delight, filled with antiques and atmosphere. The owners were friendly, helpful and accommodating, even offering tea and scones when we arrived.

The hotel is located immediately adjacent to the Boyle Abbey, which is a delight to tour. Further, a river runs directly behind the house, offering a nice place to sit and relax ... or even fish!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gschloesser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This B&B has a nice location, beside the Cistercian Abbey.
Christina was a charming host (and the son was also very helpful).
The Abbey House is an older B&B (with his own charm). We loved our stay here.
The full Irish breakfast was very tasteful.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank postiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Abbey House on the grounds of the Cistercian Monastery (Abbey built in the 12th Century) The rooms were big and had ensuites. The greeting we recieved was amazing, a warm peat fire in the common room with a cuppa and cookies. The B&B is within walking distance of the King House and pubs and restaurants downtown. Lots of parking and the landlady is so pleasant and exceptionally knowledgeable. I have saved the best for last, the breakfast was 5 star and after rolling from the table, didn't need to have lunch and it was a toss up if we really needed dinner. You will be staying in a 180 year old home and with two foot thick walls, very quiet and peaceful. What an introduction to Ireland. A must to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCAF831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I stayed here following a gruelling days cycling - training for a charity cycle ride the length of Ireland, with my parents who where along in the car supporting me. After such a difficult day it was lovely to be welcomed with a cuppa in the drawing room and some biscuits to boost the energy, followed by a hot bath. Our room wasn't glamorous, but had charm, was clean and had all you needed. The B&B is in the grounds of a ruined Abbey (hence the name), and was beautiful. The owners were very sweet and directed us the short walk into town to get a bite to eat. After a good nights sleep (no noise or disturbance here), we had a great big breakfast and a chat with our lovely hostess, who on learning of my challenge only charged my parents for the stay...my accomodation cost went to Marie Curie! So a great place to stay with warm, kind and very generous hosts. It's people like this who make you feel the world is a good place. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boyle hotels
8.1 mi away
Amber B&B
Amber B&B
#6 of 8 in Boyle
8 reviews
12.3 mi away
Forest Park House B&B
6.6 mi away
Lough Key House
Lough Key House
#1 of 8 in Boyle
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Linsfort Guest House B&B
4.6 mi away
Cesh Corran
Cesh Corran
#7 of 8 in Boyle
65 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House

Address: Boyle Abbey, Boyle 4614, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Boyle
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing