We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Clarke's Bar

Clarke's Bar
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Boyle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: http://www.realboyle.com/adverts/Clarkes%20Bar/new.html
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Have been many times to Clarke's as it's local to us. Food and service always very good. They are so accommodating particularly for anyone who has allergies and fussy little eaters too ;) if you are looking for an eaterie where portions are generous this is the place for you. I have never gone home hungry. Highly recommend. Their special three course with tea/coffee is brilliant value at €20.

Helpful?
1 Thank Casarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    19
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Have been to Boyle many times but had never visited Clarke's Bar until last Friday. They have an a la carte menu and a set menu. We chose from the set menu which had a good choice of starters, mains and desserts and included tea or coffee at a total price of 20 euro. I had tempura prawns to start followed by chicken breast stuffed with goats cheese, wrapped in pancetta and served with red pepper mash and a pesto cream sauce, it was delicious. There were 4 of us dining and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals with very friendly service from the waitress. Will definitely return on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub with Great Food”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea here. The Baileys cheesecake, crumble, soup and hot chocolate were all top notch. The service is warm and welcoming.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susannah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good food”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were en route from Tipperary to Donegal. It was 7.30pm when we got to Boyle so we stopped for quick bar food and a coffee. We were directed to Clarke's where we were really pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. He had hake with a salmon and mussel risotto which he said was one of the best meals he'd ever had; I had a steak sandwich which arrived in a toasted panini and served with red onion marmalade and giant crispy onion rings, with tasty crunchy home-fried chips on the side. We had a glass of wine each with the food and coffees to follow. The bill was around 50 euro including tip. Congratulations to the chef - simple food cooked really well. The staff are friendly and efficient and there's an unfussy homely atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food Great place to relax”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Family owend and what a great family they are!!!.Food was well presented and tasted as good as it looked.If you are visiting Boyle do not miss a evening at Clark' s Bar and Resturant and tell them I said hi.
Mary from Arkansas

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarke's Bar also viewed

Boyle, County Roscommon
Boyle, County Roscommon
 
Boyle, County Roscommon
 
Boyle, County Roscommon
Boyle, County Roscommon
 

Been to Clarke's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing