We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Hungry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still Hungry”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just went for a nice day out and decided to stop of for dinner in this hotel, should have went to McDonalds instead.
We arrived at 5.15 pm to find the hotel busy which was to be expected on a sunday afternoon. We had just sat down and were starting to read the menu when the waitress came to take our order, we told her we had just started to read it and she said she would come back, it was nearly 20 minutes before she came back. In hindsight we should have left then.
We ordered our starter and 2 coca colas, the starter came before our drinks.
After we finished our starter it was almost a half hour before a waitress came near us again, we told her we were still waiting on the main course, she went to find out what the delay was and brought out 2 dinners which was not what we ordered, so we waited again till she came back with the right ones, which were dryed out and not very hot or appealing, but as we were hungry and had waited so long we had to eat them.
We were still hungry after the dinner so decided to have dessert, called the waitress to take our plates and order dessert, she said she would be back with dessert menu, she never came back so we paid our bill and left.
I mentioned the bad service to the girl i paid my bill to ( which was not cheap either )and she was indifferent and did'nt apoligise on behalf of the staff.
I also mentioned it to the chap on reception and he was of the same attitude as the other girl, I can only take it that they have not received customer service training.
We had to make a sandwich when we got home as we were still a bit hungry.
This was the first time we went there for dinner and sadly for such a lovely hotel it will be our last and we will not recommend it to any of our friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank davesbirdDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Waterside, Front Office Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hello. I would like to sincerly apologise that you were completely unhappy with the service you received on the Sunday you visited. Unfortunately, due to staffing issues and the large number of guests on a already busy Sunday, our staff and kitchen were trying their best to offer our usual friendly and efficient service and it distressed all of the management team that this fell a little. All comments we receive, either positive or negative are taken into serious consideration as they all contribute to our hotel offering a better service in the long run so please do not feel that your situation was overlooked or deemed as unimportant as that was not the case. All customers are extremely valued and welcomed and I apologise if you felt you were treated as otherwise. I would appreciate if you would consider our hotel again so we can show that your experience was that of an unusual one. We do hope to see you again. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    149
    94
    76
    75
See reviews for
168
248
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Although we are from Dublin, my sister and I decided to spend a night here this week. It was so easy to get to for a short break away, but we got more benefit from it than we might have got from travelling for hours. The setting is unbelievable, right on the beach, so you can sit and sip your evening drink, or have lunch or dinner on their terrace right over the beach. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the elegant restaurant, and the standard was excellent - the waiter, Filip, was extremely professional and helpful. There was a wedding going on as we left yesterday, the ceremony taking place outdoors in the glorious sunshine right over the beach. We will be telling our family and friends and will definitely be back again. Can't beat it for a nearby short break away!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must - there is only one of these which has twin beds, others doubles. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieOxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Waterside, Front Office Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hello. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as a short break outside of Dublin City and as you said, it is a great break away as so close but seems so far away because of its setting on the beach. I am delighted that the Waterside House Hotel surpassed your expectations and I will pass on your lovely review to all of our staft, escpecially our fantastic waitor, Filip. We do hope that you will continue to visit us on the beach in Donabate and we look forward to seeing you then. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better day. Jessica and her team made it all so personal and intimate. It's been a month since our big day and all the comments from friends and families are nothing but positive. Dinner excellent, Rooms very comfortable, service and staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The personal touches of personalised crystal champagne flute in a presentation box with the evening newspaper to remind us of what was happening else where in the world on our wedding day was a lovely thought. Paul, Jessica and all the staff do wedding after wedding, but still made us feel like we were the only ones. Thanks for making our family and friends feel so welcome, and making our day so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. If the sun is shining you could be anywhere in the world, and if it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Waterside, Front Office Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hello. Thank you so much for all of your kind words and for choosing our hotel for your special day. I am so happy that everything about the day was memorable for you and I am delighted that you liked our little touches. I will pass on your review to our team, especially Jessica, who works extremely hard to ensure every couples' day goes perfectly and just the way it was planned. Again, thank you for your review and we would all like to wish you a very long and happy life together and we all hope to see you again very soon at the Waterside House Hotel. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

What a very pleasant clean hotel , staff so helpful and friendly , will diffo stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Waterside, Front Office Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hello. Thank you for visiting our hotel and for reviewing on your stay. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again very soon at the Waterside House Hotel on your next visit. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotels setting could not have been better and with excellent staff and food you have a great combination for a relaxing stay. We travel extensively through mainland Europe, every year but we look forward to returning in the near future, as this hotel in our view - takes some beating.

Room Tip: Have a higher floor bedroom with sea views - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Waterside, Front Office Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Hello. Thank you so much for your review and for your kind words. I will pass on all of your comments to all the staff. I do hope we see you again at the Waterside House Hotel. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here after finding a deal through KGB and we couldn't fault the hotel or the service. The staff were very friendly and helpful, courtesy pick-up from airport and nothing was too much trouble if you needed a lift to the train station, John was called and you were taken there.
A beautiful setting by the sea, we were given a seaview on arrival which we weren't expecting and the room was clean and had everything you could possibly require.
I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a city break to Dublin, to wake up in the gorgeous location of Donbate-on-the-Beach and a 20 minute train journey (cheap fare!) to the centre of Dublin, you couldn't wish for more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Waterside, Front Office Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Hello. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to use the great deal we had on KGB. Thank you for all of your kind words and I hope to see you again at the Waterside House Hotel in the near future. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Beautiful, quiet setting yet an easy drive of less than 20 minutes (even in morning rush-hour traffic) to the car hire return/pick-up area at Dublin Airport. Nice walking path along the sea would make it a great place to get over jet lag if you were just arriving from the U.S. (Also made a nice way to stretch our legs before the flight home.) Dinner was good and the views were incredible! Nice to be able to have the waves lull us to sleep and to head to the airport relaxed.

The decor is a little tired and old-fashioned, but that's probably why they can afford to have special rates. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2CWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Hello. Thank you for visiting the Waterside House Hotel and for commenting on your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of the coastal retreat from the city and you found your stay relaxed and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time you visit Ireland. Also, please remember that we do provide free shuttle bus collection and drop off from Dublin Airport, so if you do not feel like driving, let us arrange a driver for you complimentary. Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you gaain soon. Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donabate
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,509 reviews
3.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
3.0 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
81 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
774 reviews
4.4 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Property: The Waterside House Hotel
Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside House Hotel Donabate, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing