We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Out-of-the-Way Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place is amazing. Even though we arrived in the depths of winter, the scenery is unmatched. The room was spacious and clean, and the laundry bag was a neat touch.

Despite being right on the coastline, the room was warm, and the options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner were amazing. It is a short drive to both Swords and Dublin, and for brief stays, this place can't be beat.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTexBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

When expectations are managed before hand, this place rocks!
Looking at the images available before booking gave me a clue about some of the less aesthetic aspects of the building and rooms; they are however, still fantastic value for money!

I stayed one night as a single traveller attending a Saturday evening celebration.

On arrival, following the 20 minute ride from airport for which 'free' transport is provided both ways (!) - the welcome was warm and appeared genuinely sincere with light, friendly chat - a lovely welcome!

The interior of the reception, bars, function rooms and facilities in general was of a high standard; modern and pleasing. (Loved the huge mirror behind the bar which reflects the sea and beach!)

The room I chose was an 'executive' suite, sea-facing and on the first floor. Access was via a lift. The room is best described as a little 'tired', but I just didn't care! The location, service and overall experience of fantastic food, ambience, service, location and incredible value for money - more than offset any aesthetic considerations.

In any event, all facilities I noticed were clean, even if a few small seals in bathrooms, etc, will benefit from replacement.

I cannot thank the staff enough for their attention and welcome.

I will be returning, next time as a 'base' for a family vacation to Ireland.

Room Tip: Has to be a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob_brotchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We got married at the Waterside in November. It still feels like a dream. It was a wonderful day from the service , the food and the function room. Everyone involved were fantastic. Management and staff were lovely and did a great job, especially Karen the wedding coordinator. All our guests had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the day. We could not have asked for a more perfect day. Thanks Jenny & Paul :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyandPaulHEALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel should have everything going for it in terms of location but unfortunately in terms of staying there it was a huge disappointment. Some reviewers have mentioned the food and I cannot comment on that with the exception of breakfast which was freshly cooked and was fine. My disappointment was rooms - the first room we were given was small and had a decidedly unpleasant smell - the second room was functional with a windows that had frosted glass that you couldn't see out of - just as really as when you opened the window there was a less than inspiring view to where the bins and bottles were.

The only positive about this overnight visit (it was planned to stay longer) was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had heard a lot about the restaurant (Samphire) and wanted to try it. To get the full experience we decided we'd stay overnight and enjoy a few drinks without the aggravation of someone being the designated driver.

Mackerel 3 Ways and Chicken Parfait with a couple of glasses of Prosecco started the evening, followed by duck and pheasant before chocolate fondant and the cheeseboard rounded off the meal. The wine was Vicar's Choice, pinot noir.

It would be difficult to pick one highlight from the food. Well presented and meticulously prepared it was real treat. If pushed, though, I'd go for the pheasant! A lovely mix of dark and light meat!

The service throughout the restaurant, and hotel was excellent.

The only slight let down was the room. The view was incredible (hard to believe it was North County Dublin) and the room spacious and well equipped, but a few too many items were showing their age and / or the hard use they had been put to. But everything worked and what damage there was, was purely cosmetic.

Finally, we were a bit worried about potential noise from the live music in the bar and from a function in the hotel, but the rooms are either well sited or well soundproofed because our worries proved to be unfounded.

Room Tip: First floor seaview rooms are by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Ok so parts of the hotel need a bit of work done. You can live with that. The views,food and service are the real gems of this hotel. Have stayed here a lot recently and it's a fantastic hotel. Will be back many more times I hope. Special praise for bashia, Laurent and the chef of course. His food really is the best in Dublin. 3 course's for 30 euro is outstanding value.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank NEILMCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

After a lovely afternoon out with my hubby and two year old we decided to stop here for a quick dinner in the bar. As has been my experience here in the past the first thing I try to order is all gone. I asked for a plain chicken breast for my little one with chips and the waitress informed me I would have to pay full price (€12.95). Fair enough. So my husband asked if we could have a few slices of whatever chicken they use for sandwiches with chips as a children's meal (my daughter will not eat goujons etc). The waitress asked the chef on duty and was mortified to return and tell us he would not do it. So we ordered a chicken sandwich and picked the chicken off! Our food (two burgers) was mediocre at best. The couple beside us sent their food back and left without paying. Have heard fantastic things about Samphire restaurant in the hotel so next time we'll avoid the bar and try there!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank chefsmrs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donabate
3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
368 reviews
3.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
811 reviews
6.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
6.2 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside House Hotel Donabate, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing