We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, a bit noisy”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. Nightclub crowd made it quite noisy, but other than that, the hotel was good value in a scenic setting. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. A bit of life in the bar downstairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for White Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

make sure you ask for the new bedrooms roomT there was no heating in our rooms and it was a cold evening. the poor receptionist did her best and managed to get the heat on for us returning later that evening
.the dining room is depressing and the breakfast just ok.

Room Tip: ask for updated rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and told our room was not ready yet...so we decided to have a light lunch and were pleasantly surprised-meal quite enjoyable. An hour later the room was ready and we got our key, we headed to room and when we opened the door we felt like we were back in the 70's the room decor was dated and it was small, cold and smelt of damp. The bathroom was small and in places dirty but with some cleaning products would have changed this,when i pulled down the blind i found that it was also dirty and grubby, i was getting mad and upset as i had paid enough for the room and it was not up to standard. I then pulled back the counterpane and it had food stains and unidentified stains, and this stage i was really upset and so my partner went to reception to explain to them that we were not going to stay in this room, While on their way to the room the room manager informed my partner that these rooms are normally used for one night stays and that it is normally young couples coming out of the adjacent nite club that stay, My partner was horrified that this was the excuse he was given for a dirty room,( no matter what the rooms are used for they should be kept clean) after seeing the room the room manager took my partner to the new room which is on the newer side of the building and was satisfied with the room, so we were promptly changed by the red faced reception staff. When i got to the newer room the difference was massive, room was twice the size of the old room and it was warm and cosy, for a one night stay it is not bad, bed was very comfortable, and bath good and deep. Also water was hot at anytime of the day. We had breakfast which is from 8.30-10.30...it was ok we had the choice of continental breakfast or full irish breakfast. I will not be going back to White sands hotel but for anyone that is please request the newer side of the building if this is not possible DON'T STAY!!!

Room Tip: Rooms from 102-108 are the older side, when u get there request the newer side of the building...the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vengerovfan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed here whilst celebrating a joint family birthday. We were unfortunate to get one of the old hotel rooms which were small, dingy and very outdated. Bathroom was a nightmare, with the toilet almost touching the radiator. Bathroom wasn't as clean as I'd expect. The one positive of the room was it had a sea view and the bed was comfortable. The new rooms were far bigger and very nicely decorated, like a completely different hotel and I would have scored this place a higher rating had I stayed here. Whilst the rate was reasonable, I can't understand how they can charge the same rate for the two different room types. The plus sides are the staff were very friendly in the hotel, check in and check out was effecient and we were not put under any pressure to vacate our room. The party itself was excellent. I would only recommend if staying here, make sure to ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel

Room Tip: Ask to stay in new part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colindkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We went to a birthday party in this hotel and stayed the night. Word of warning, make sure when booking you ask for the newer rooms. They are large, spacious and modern looking. The old rooms are half the size and the decor is awful. Before the night kicked off we had some food in the bar. The food (which was a bowl of chowder and some bruchetta) took an hour to come out. It was tasty food and hit the spot but we were starving by the time it came out. Drinks were reasonably priced. The staff were pleasant enough. The function was great. I went to bed but the rest of the party ended up in the nightclub. I have never stayed in a hotel before where the residents were charged entry into the club. You would think the staff would have been happy to have the custom. From what I heard the next morning the bouncers were quite aggressive and were antagonising people. Apparently they came over and apologised afterwards so at least that was something. They had a gorgeous carvery the following day which would bring me back to the hotel again on a Sunday afternoon.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Specialk-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Great value for money hotel ,we stay with my disabled daughter and had a jack n jill bedroom setup which was great,staff were very friendly and accumadating the restaurant served great value irish pub grub and again the staff in the bar where very friendly . Will deffo be back .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgecorinna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Visite this hotel two weeks ago. Was given upgrade free to executive room. Great large room super king bed very comfy. Large patio/balcony. Jacuzzi corner bath plus shower.tea/coffee facilities. Staff helpful and friendly. Two bars one with pool etc other two musicians entertaining. Nice atmosphere. Lovely sea view. Will definitely return and go to executive room.breakfast was fine though limited warm food. Plenty cereal toast etc scrambled eggs bacon sausage no fried egg or omelette. No fruit salad but fresh whole fruit.when booking make sure you get room away from entertainment area.

Room Tip: Go to back of hotel away from bar entertainment area. Also not near exit doors as you would hear doo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
0.4 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,594 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
86 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
3.3 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £56 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing