We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start by washing your windows!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
County Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Start by washing your windows!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My Partner and i stayed at the white sands hotel Sat.6th April '13 on a voucher deal mainly to avail of the good restaurants and tourist attractions in nearby malahide. We weren't expecting much so weren't overly disappointed to find the hotel a bit outdated. In saying that the place was clean and warm, if a little basic. There was some issues with late night noise from the night club attached to the hotel but we were aware this may have been a problem before we checked in so we weren't too put out, i suspect the night club could be the hotels main source of year round revenue at the expense of the hotel and its guests.
Staff were pleasant and food was ok although we did have a bit of a chuckle at the breakfast buffet as it had the feel of a holiday camp about it, we weren't sorry to be packing our bags to leave.Sad really as the hotels location is to die for and with a bit of financial input and tlc i'm sure it could be turned into a very disirable place to stay. Would we go back? ...Probably Not.

Room Tip: expect nightclub noise at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okitoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    120
    71
    33
    52
See reviews for
81
139
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have stayed in the White Sands Hotel on many occasions over the past few years. I have enjoyed it so much that I had my wedding ceremony and reception there.
I have nothing but praise for this lovely hotel, for the service, for the more than cordial staff, for the excellent food, for the reasonable prices and for the cleanliness. It's a great place to stay.

I have read the recent reviews and have formed the opinion that there is some sort of vendetta going on regarding this establishment.
This is totally out of order.
It seems to me that some very small minded person, who has some sort of grievance, has set about getting people to write bad reviews .... How cheap and nasty can you get?
PLEASE IGNORE THE DEGROGATORY REVIEWS. THEY ARE UNTRUE. THEY ARE DELIBERATE LIES.
This is, genuinely, a really nice and extremely efficiently run hotel.
I am not being paid to write this review! I just detest bad minded people. Shame on them.

Room Tip: My tip is ignore these petty minded reviews written by nasty little nonentities, Trip Advisor seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulor494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I went to room 211 and walked in and walked out. The room was dirty with old bedding and filty walls. Room very out dated. I got a refund at reception and went and stayed at portmarnock golf and spa hotel. I wudnt recommend for u to stay at whitesands. The windows on the hotel were filty and hotel in general looks run down. There is a new part to this hotel which shows the rooms from the new part on the net and not the old rooms. Im in shock to think that they wud let anyone stay in them rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannehallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portmarnock hotels

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the "Sands"over the Easter break and can honestly say the food was great and the staff friendly, only down side was the fact that when booking the hotel the only thing we asked for was a double bed, disappointed when we saw two singles had been pushed together ( not a good nights sleep).. Room was tidy and clean and of a good size..all in all the hotel is a bit dated now and good do with a spring clean (windows definitely need cleaning)although for the money it's good value..will we stay again...Maybe...AFTER A SPRING CLEAN.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for Easter it wasn't exactly a bargain but not expensive that is until we arrived this hotel is very over priced it is very dated shabby and not clean even the bar is filthy the windows and areas like the doors in the bar are so dirty the carpets throughout are all stained the bedroom carpet was terrible with stains the sink was stained the tiles have mildew in the shower again the windows are that dirty it's hard to see out bar staff unfriendly except the waiter with blond hair could not do enough for you food in bar very good location ok but if I wAs going back I would stay at the grand hotel in malahide then u won't need taxis . Overall a very lazy hotel they just don't care the dirt is plain for all to see and they just leave it unbelievable

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linny343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Absolutely devastated at how I was treated in relation to my wedding which was booked in this hotel for this coming September. I cannot believe how unprofessional a hotel can be and how they can ignore a complaint regarding a bride having to cancel her wedding day because she took the advice of your wedding coordinator. Imagine booking your wedding in a Hotel and being told by your wedding coordinator 12 months later she does not actually have anything to do with the booking of bedrooms in the hotel? How the rooms we advised we needed from the beginning (for our 6 year old son sharing with his cousin, aunt and uncle) was number one priority and were told was no problem and to return to book the rooms on two different occasions, that when I did go back a third time to book to be told the room I was told was not a problem was not available due to a Golf trip being booked on the same day and only 13 OLD double rooms were left in the hotel????? Strange how we were not advised about this before we signed the contract! After complaining in writing addressing all our issues and having a meeting with your "manager" again explaining all our issues, still no apology, still no deposit back.... I really hope no-one else has to ever go through this, weddings can be stressful enough without being let down by your hotel with only 9 months to your wedding day...... You really need to add a small print to your wedding contract explaining to your customers that your wedding "team" only looks after the lease of the function room and has nothing to do with the rest of the reservations in the hotel. That is a major flaw and if we were told this from the beginning we would have made sure to book the rooms then and not waited as we were advised to do, then our wedding day would not have been ruined.

Room Tip: Make sure you go to reception to book rooms and make sure they are in the new part of the hotel as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PaulaT2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here recently and had booked three rooms and were given three of the new rooms. The night we arrived we had torrential rain and was a bit disappointed as it didn't look as nice as the pics and I wondered if we'd made a mistake. The receptionist (think her name was Anne) was extremely pleasant and very welcoming. We went to our room and were greeted with a damp , musty smell which we presumed was the heavy rain coming in through the balcony doors but apart from the smell the room was lovely. We met with friends in the bar which very comfortable and the bar staff were very friendly. We had booked dinner in the restaurant and the food was gorgeous , 6 people , 3 courses and not one complaint and again the waiter was very nice. We spent the rest of the night in the bar , mixing with the locals and had a great night , again no complaints. The bed was huge and very comfortable and we slept very well. Next morning when we met again with our friends at breakfast , one couple said the carpet on one side of the bed was absolutely soaking where rain had been leaking in through the balcony doors all night. This was reported to reception who said they would send someone down to check it out. Breakfast was lovely , hot food was in bain maries and you helped yourself and tea and toast was brought out by the waiter. There was also plenty of cereals , croissants , fruit , juices etc to choose from. So all in all we had a great night and the only let down was the problem they have with rain leaking through the balcony doors and the musty smell it leaves when dried out. Big plus for this hotel is the staff.

Room Tip: Definitely request the new rooms but you wont get a view , sea view rooms are in the old part. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
0.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
4.1 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 3 in Howth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: Coast Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing