We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Sands Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Marine Hotel(Sutton Cross)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
73
128
77
39
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
128
77
39
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish seathe ground floorgreat bardublin airportdouble roomlovely hotelmalahidecarvery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked with agoda.com for a last minute, one night stay at this hotel. On the day of our arrival we ring the hotel to confirm our booking only to be told that there was no booking found. We call agoda.com only to be met by an automated service, which did not return our call, so much for 24/7 customer service! Would never book with agoda.com again!!! Only for the lovely lady at White Sands hotel called Lorraine, who went out of her way to accommodate us, the weekend would of been a total disaster. Many thanks Lorraine and staff. Top notch customer service!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieG1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi KatieG1031,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is really lovely when a member of our team is singled out for their customer service efforts.

If you are returning to the hotel again, please contact us directly when making your booking to ensure you receive the best value & a confirmation your booking to you directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night in this hotel and must say it was slightly disappointing.
Good points: room small but clean, plenty of heat, good bar snack food, breakfast fine for the most part except that the waiter failed to take our order accurately even though he appeared to be carefully noting our preferences. He got it all wrong.
Bad points: television didn't work properly and when we asked for help, a lady who hadn't a clue what she was doing, arrived and left with no solution. She was later followed by a male member of staff who admitted he was a barman. His efforts also failed to provide the answer.
By this stage we had managed to get a picture ourselves using a remote control that we found out was not compatible with the television. The off button changed the stations believe it or not. No assistance from management to rectify the matter. Generally, the reception staff could have been more pleasant before and during our visit but that didn't really matter since we were only going to be there for one evening.
Another guest who revealed that the toilet in his room didn't work properly summed it up when he said the hotel was 'frayed around the edges', an apt description.
He wasn't planning a return and neither are we since the deals offered nowadays from Group on and the like for other hotels provide more quality at around the same prices.
The White Sands is beautifully located and from the outside looks fine, but does need some investment in rooms and decor.
If you are planning a sea view location with intentions to travel to Dublin or browse around the shops in Malahide then the White Sands is fine, but it does fall short of the qualities in accommodation that would prompt a return.
However, if you are stopping for a meal or going out for a drink in the lounge bar, the hotel does have an appeal, but ultimately it's the small things that count and having a tiny television and not working properly tends to put a dampener on things.

Room Tip: Be prepared to fax or email your voucher before you get to the hotel - a practice not normally adopted by other hotels who generally only ask for a code number.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Lyle M,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. You feedback is essential to the improvement of our products & services and overall guest experience.

The problems you encountered are certainly not in keeping with the normal practices of the hotel. Thankfully I can report that the issues you encountered with our television has been rectified. Also, our hotel is currently undergoing improvements to quality of both our standards and services.

We hope that we can entice you back to stay with us once more to offer you the experience that you deserved initially at the White Sands Hotel.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

stayed here and couldn't be happier.lovely and clean great breakfast watched the cup final in the great bar!nightclub (Tomatoes) next door full of crumpet for single travellers! ; )
Exactly what I needed for a lovely break thank you to all the staff who couldn't do enough for us.
See you soon!

Room Tip: use the bar its great!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Richiekat,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is really lovely for our team members to be singled out for their efforts in customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely trip there last weekend, reception staff very helpful, we had a double room which was supposed to have a cot but no cot available so receptionist moved us to a family room which was much bigger, bar food excellent, fab sea views and great atmosphere in hotel, will return, great value for money

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank kakamaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Kakamaguire,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback on your experience helps us improve our products & service on an ongoing basis.

I so sorry to hear that the cot you were expecting was not in your room, thankfully one of our team was able to cater for your needs in one of our larger family rooms. We are delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,
Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

stayed here on a Saturday night ,was concern about noise coming from night club but could not here a thing. room was clean and tidy ,breakfast was nice and staff in reception and bar were very friendly, my one gripe was the double room was a bit small for my liking but otherwise i would return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donkeydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Donkey Dublin,

thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate it. Feedback from our guests on their experience helps us improve our product & services on an ongoing basis.

We do have one or two smaller double rooms that we use for single occupancy and our pricing generally reflects this. Next time you are visiting us, please be sure to contact our team in advance and we will ensure you get a room that you are content in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews