We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A great night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

After a short break in Dunsalk my Wife & I were to return home on Sunday afternoon but a phone call the day before departure advising of the cancellation of the sailing meant we were moved to the Monday morning sailing & so needed tio find somewhere nearer Dublin for the extra night.
My origional plan was to go to Howth but during a hotel search this hotel came up,we had been to Portmarnock before,a very pretty place but from our first experience it seem to lack a pub in the area where we were,this place was shown as having an Irish Bar,the price was right & so I booked it,we were so glad!
Quite a large hotel,the girls at check in were so friendly,helpful & efficient,we made our way to room 121,ok I have to say that the room has certainly seen better days but was bright,a door opening onto the outside & was spotless & very comfortable,I would also be guessing that the appearance of the room was a factor in the low price.
We checked out the bar which looked really nice before having a rest,we had intended to go for a walk later but the weather had turned really nasty & so we headed for the bar where we had one of the most enjoyable evenings in a bar that we have had in years,there were two guys with guitars,a woman singing,the service was superb,the food brilliant & the staff wonderful,overall a fantastic atmosphere,we would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Snaefell052,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. You feedback is essential to the improvement of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the evening spent in Oasis Bar. We make constant efforts to impove our guests overall experience when they stay with us. Some of our hotel rooms are currently undergoing improvements to decor & we understand that some rooms have a more vintage quality over others. Soon they will all be up to the same welcoming standards.

We look forward to having you back to stay some time in the near future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    120
    71
    33
    51
See reviews for
81
139
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We got a great deal by booking direct through their website. 2 nights with full breakfast + 3 course dinner on one night of your choice. Good service by all the staff, reception, dining room, bar etc.. The room was clean & comfortable. Great position as we were there to visit Hoath & Malahide. Bus service to these & the airport stopped very close. Even though we stayed early in the week the hotel seemed busy, with a selection of guests; golfers, business men, holidaymakers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi 2Wander2,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We really value guest feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & availed of one of great package offers. Booking direct with us & including your meals is the best way to get real value. We pride ourselves in offering the best in price & service, which is why you saw guests staying for all different purposes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great Hotel @ a great price! Nice rooms,good lively bar,Reception Staff are very nice! Food & service in the oasis bar was excellent.Live entertainment both nights Fri & Sat, really had everything we needed.
will return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickDix0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on business ,,,
Hotel staff where very good and friendly !!!
Food in the bar was good !,!!
Plenty of parking !!!
Hotels got free wifi in all areas of hotel which is great !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcgheeallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Mcgheeallan,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon to the White Sands Hotel.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel with a group of family/friends for a shopping weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Staff friendly and helpful food was excellent location fantastic. The only down side would be the live music in the bar on the friday evening finished with the soldiers song which I thought was not appropriate. But we would stay at the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Ruth A,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

We are delighted that you & your group enjoyed your stay. It is really lovely to hear that our guests opinions. We have noted & dealt with, your comments relating to music as we endeavour to make all our guests feel welcome & at home.

We look forward to welcoming you & your group back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Only booked into this hotel as the one I usually stay in was full. Was very pleasantly surprised, staff were really friendly, the views are amazing and the room really clean. But most of all paying nearly 50% less then my first choice and having a more modern room was a very welcome bonus. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Keeves2,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & found us good value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here on an impulse, we just needed a break away and yet not to have to travel all day. On arrival room was upgraded to the executive suite and this was a nice treat. Jacuzzi was an added bonus. Spent 2 nights and relaxed totally. Well worth it for the money. Lovely sea view from the balcony. Fantastic breakfast in a spotless, organised room. Well done!

Tips for the hotel management to make the executive room even more enjoyable would be:
1. Add an iron to the room, it has an ironing board but no iron.
2. Remove the bibles from the beside lockers folks, they are so 1970's!!
3. The balcony has a table but no chairs - come on, chairs are cheap as chips these days.

The hotel bar:
Your bar is lovely, nice staff, good pints, but why oh why assume all your guests like a 20 foot screen showing football at high volume stuck in their face for hours!!! You cannot unwind by the sea with a bunch of lads and lassies gathered round roaring at the screen. Would have loved to just relax in the bar and have a conversation without competing with the football fans. Didn't go to the bar on the 2nd night because of this.

Room Tip: Choose at the back, away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Neil D,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and making the effort to give some great detailed feedback.

I've passed on all of your comments to our General Manager. Your points have merit and need to be considered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,
Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
0.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,572 reviews
4.1 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 3 in Howth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: Coast Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing