We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad tired but did the job”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A tad tired but did the job”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed first 2 nights of our trip.
Great location for Dublin Port.
Rooms were clean but in need of some TLC, but still had 2 comfortable nights.
Breakfast disappointing, best thing was the brown bread, not delivered in time for 2nd breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoH214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi JoH214,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

I am sorry to hear that you had a delay with your breakfast. This matter will be looked and we will ensure that it is not a problem that will reoccur.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    122
    74
    37
    53
See reviews for
86
142
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford \Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel last sat night 21st June 2014. Location was fab as it was across from the beach, Ryan on reception was very nice and efficient, and got our room sorted for us no problem. We had a triple room, 3 single bed. €173 euro with B&B,

The room was clean but worn, stains on the curtains and the carpets and the tv was cracked where it had obvisouly hit the floor, bed clothes were spotless as was the bathroom, we were only staying one night so we just looked at the good and not the bad. Room had a patio door and the sun shone through, we had a room over the car park at the back and it was lovely and quiet, we never heard a thing all night,

Staff were all lovely and helpful, from Reception, Bar, resturant/pub grub was fine, the man at breakfast was helpful, friendly and most of the staff were Irish. The band was a Beatles Tribute band and were one of the best groups I have heard in any hotel. Great location, wonderful staff, rooms need to be upgraded, but well worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byrne_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Byrne_8

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

It is really lovely for our team members to be singled out for their efforts in customer service and is something that the hotel prides itself on. All your feedback has been noted and passed on for attention and more importantly action.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a fantastic location! - shame all the rooms don't have a sea view.
I agree completely with Richard B's description. I've no idea which rooms some of the other reviewers described!...ours certainly matched Richard's and NOT the others!
The hotel has obviously seen better days. I can imagine it would've been quite grand in its heyday...definitely NOT now!.....stair carpets are quite disgusting, one of the fire doors in our corridor was just plain wood, things in the room had been taken off the walls, but holes had been left, cigarette hole in the already shabby-looking net curtain, rip in the duvet cover, one bedside lamp not working, internet connection erratic....simply not at all what we'd been expecting! Really the place should be closed down, given a whole load of TLC and re-opened, refreshed! Bring in Alex Polizzi!
We did have a drink in the Oasis Bar ( also in need of some TLC!! )...the barman was very pleasant and the drinks were perfect!
I should add that we were completely unaware of the nightclub, Tamango!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10David10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi 10David10,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and making the effort to give some great detailed feedback.

Our location & views are one of our best selling points & it is always lovely to hear our guests praise them. I've passed on your comments to our General Manager. We are constantly working on improving the hotel and your comments have been taken on board. Many of the items you have mentioned have already been attended to.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,
Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portmarnock hotels

Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a large hotel but had the feeling of impending doom. It has the appearance of a once great hotel that is in need of help. Rooms are large but needing re-decoration and re-carpeting with some of the items such as the trouser press hanging off the wall and some severe damage and staining of the carpets near the window. Bed was large and comfortable however and the bed linen was clean. Air conditioning was not working too well on a very hot night but with an open window it stayed OK.
Absolutely fabulous location overlooking a lovely beach for a longer stay so not all bad and within 40 minutes of the ferry at Dublin port.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is best for views over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Richard B,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback really is essential to the improvement of our products & services and overall guest experience.

The problems you encountered are certainly not in keeping with the general standards of the hotel. Thankfully I can report that many of the the matters you highlighted during your stay have been rectified. Also, our hotel is currently undergoing many improvements to quality of both our standards and services.

We hope that we can entice you back to stay with us once more to the White Sands Hotel, to experience first hand improvements that have been made.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was part of a group of 18 golfers who spent a weekend in the White Sands hotel, Portmarnock, and boy what a great weekend we had, lovely rooms, good food, great service, friendly staff, entertainment and tremendous craic. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone as a great place to visit. The breakfast each day was freshly made and really tasty as was the dinner on Saturday night. Suitable for couples and groups of any size.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room at the front of the hotel for the stunning sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Tony M,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

We are delighted that you & your group enjoyed your stay. It is really lovely to hear that our hotel suits the needs of golfing groups, since we are in such close proximity to several courses.

We look forward to welcoming you & your group back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is my second visit to Portmarnock, the previous time I stayed in Portmarnock Hotel Golf & Links. I have to say White Sands suited our company better and was perfect for that whereas Portmarnock wouldn't have been. On arrival i was wowed the view was stunning, unfortunately I did not get a room which overlooked this view and sea. The reception staff are very friendly. We arrived at half 11 or so and there was refurbish work going on in the bar and wouldn't be completed until after 12, they let us go in anyway and get a drink which was excellent. Food & service in the oasis bar was excellent (Steak ciabatta). Although there was entertainment on both nights, late on we opted to check out the Tamango nightclub on Friday and it was better the Saturday night as it seemed that was the night it got a larger crowd. We had dinner on the saturday night and have to say could not fault the service nor the food, I had the cesar salad for starter and what a big portion it was as was the chicken wings which a good few of our company ordered and they said it was like a main, for the main i had the bacon pasta carbonara and it was delicious then came the chocolate fudge cake and that literally was the icing on the cake. The whole 3 course meal was delicious and would recommend eating in the hotel rather than elsewhere. Overall I had a pleasant, welcoming and enjoyable stay and would without doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Chris R,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you return please contact us in advance and we will do our very best to ensure you can enjoy the amazing experience of our Seaview rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you & your group back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After a short break in Dunsalk my Wife & I were to return home on Sunday afternoon but a phone call the day before departure advising of the cancellation of the sailing meant we were moved to the Monday morning sailing & so needed tio find somewhere nearer Dublin for the extra night.
My origional plan was to go to Howth but during a hotel search this hotel came up,we had been to Portmarnock before,a very pretty place but from our first experience it seem to lack a pub in the area where we were,this place was shown as having an Irish Bar,the price was right & so I booked it,we were so glad!
Quite a large hotel,the girls at check in were so friendly,helpful & efficient,we made our way to room 121,ok I have to say that the room has certainly seen better days but was bright,a door opening onto the outside & was spotless & very comfortable,I would also be guessing that the appearance of the room was a factor in the low price.
We checked out the bar which looked really nice before having a rest,we had intended to go for a walk later but the weather had turned really nasty & so we headed for the bar where we had one of the most enjoyable evenings in a bar that we have had in years,there were two guys with guitars,a woman singing,the service was superb,the food brilliant & the staff wonderful,overall a fantastic atmosphere,we would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Snaefell052,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. You feedback is essential to the improvement of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the evening spent in Oasis Bar. We make constant efforts to impove our guests overall experience when they stay with us. Some of our hotel rooms are currently undergoing improvements to decor & we understand that some rooms have a more vintage quality over others. Soon they will all be up to the same welcoming standards.

We look forward to having you back to stay some time in the near future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
0.4 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,509 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
81 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
245 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: Coast Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing