We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but a needs an overhaul”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Even though I'd requested a sea view by email (that was never replied too), we were given a room at the back of the hotel as all sea views were apparently taken! Carpets everywhere were stained as was the bedcovers, furniture was scratched. Food was ok in the small restaurant in the corner of the bar. Entertainment was one man crooning Sinatra songs - we left after 3 or 4! Breakfast was cold, but waiter seemed nice. Beautiful beach outside hotel. All-in-all these hotels desperately needs updated as it has fabulous location, but we won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SharonH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

SharonH43,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. You feedback is essential to the improvement of our products & services and overall guest experience.

I am so sorry to hear that you did not receive a response to your email. There is no acceptable excuse for this, and I apologise.

Our live music every Friday & Saturday night is generally well received, however it is difficult to cater for all tastes and it is most unfortunate that you did not enjoy it.

We hope that we might entice you back to stay with us once more to offer you the experience that you deserved initially at the White Sands Hotel. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please contact me on +353 1 8666000 or on info@whitesandshotel.ie

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

I came to stay for the weekend and will never be staying there again! Had drunk people knocking on my door at 3am which went one for at least 2 hours. Kettle never worked people we're walking past my window looking through as it was seaview. Hotel room was a nothing like I was expecting wil not be staying there again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilyjayne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Emilyjayne,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. You feedback is essential to the improvement of our products & services and overall guest experience.

I am so sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. Your comments are being taken very seriously and are currently being investigated by the management in the hotel. The problems you encountered are certainly not in keeping with the normal standards of the hotel.

We hope that we can entice you back to stay with us once more to offer you the experience that you deserved initially at the White Sands Hotel. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please contact me on +353 1 8666000 or on info@whitesandshotel.ie

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Came to meet brax. Got ripped off paid 100 euros for one night meet n greet bbd n was told we would get 20 mins with hiam but only got 1 min. People playin knock door run. Shower head feel off. Banga telly. Bed broke. Food lovley. Two lady staff one was lovely the other misrable. Rooms was horrible to pics. Best thing was meetin brax. Nevr stop here again. Night club good.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed first 2 nights of our trip.
Great location for Dublin Port.
Rooms were clean but in need of some TLC, but still had 2 comfortable nights.
Breakfast disappointing, best thing was the brown bread, not delivered in time for 2nd breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoH214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi JoH214,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

I am sorry to hear that you had a delay with your breakfast. This matter will be looked and we will ensure that it is not a problem that will reoccur.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel last sat night 21st June 2014. Location was fab as it was across from the beach, Ryan on reception was very nice and efficient, and got our room sorted for us no problem. We had a triple room, 3 single bed. €173 euro with B&B,

The room was clean but worn, stains on the curtains and the carpets and the tv was cracked where it had obvisouly hit the floor, bed clothes were spotless as was the bathroom, we were only staying one night so we just looked at the good and not the bad. Room had a patio door and the sun shone through, we had a room over the car park at the back and it was lovely and quiet, we never heard a thing all night,

Staff were all lovely and helpful, from Reception, Bar, resturant/pub grub was fine, the man at breakfast was helpful, friendly and most of the staff were Irish. The band was a Beatles Tribute band and were one of the best groups I have heard in any hotel. Great location, wonderful staff, rooms need to be upgraded, but well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byrne_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Byrne_8

thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is really important to us.

It is really lovely for our team members to be singled out for their efforts in customer service and is something that the hotel prides itself on. All your feedback has been noted and passed on for attention and more importantly action.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a fantastic location! - shame all the rooms don't have a sea view.
I agree completely with Richard B's description. I've no idea which rooms some of the other reviewers described!...ours certainly matched Richard's and NOT the others!
The hotel has obviously seen better days. I can imagine it would've been quite grand in its heyday...definitely NOT now!.....stair carpets are quite disgusting, one of the fire doors in our corridor was just plain wood, things in the room had been taken off the walls, but holes had been left, cigarette hole in the already shabby-looking net curtain, rip in the duvet cover, one bedside lamp not working, internet connection erratic....simply not at all what we'd been expecting! Really the place should be closed down, given a whole load of TLC and re-opened, refreshed! Bring in Alex Polizzi!
We did have a drink in the Oasis Bar ( also in need of some TLC!! )...the barman was very pleasant and the drinks were perfect!
I should add that we were completely unaware of the nightclub, Tamango!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10David10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi 10David10,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and making the effort to give some great detailed feedback.

Our location & views are one of our best selling points & it is always lovely to hear our guests praise them. I've passed on your comments to our General Manager. We are constantly working on improving the hotel and your comments have been taken on board. Many of the items you have mentioned have already been attended to.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel some time in the future.

Kind regards,
Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a large hotel but had the feeling of impending doom. It has the appearance of a once great hotel that is in need of help. Rooms are large but needing re-decoration and re-carpeting with some of the items such as the trouser press hanging off the wall and some severe damage and staining of the carpets near the window. Bed was large and comfortable however and the bed linen was clean. Air conditioning was not working too well on a very hot night but with an open window it stayed OK.
Absolutely fabulous location overlooking a lovely beach for a longer stay so not all bad and within 40 minutes of the ferry at Dublin port.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is best for views over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Richard B,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback really is essential to the improvement of our products & services and overall guest experience.

The problems you encountered are certainly not in keeping with the general standards of the hotel. Thankfully I can report that many of the the matters you highlighted during your stay have been rectified. Also, our hotel is currently undergoing many improvements to quality of both our standards and services.

We hope that we can entice you back to stay with us once more to the White Sands Hotel, to experience first hand improvements that have been made.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
0.4 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,629 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
577 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £53 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing