We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Sands Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Marine Hotel(Sutton Cross)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
73
128
77
39
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
128
77
39
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish seathe ground floorgreat bardublin airportdouble roomlovely hotelmalahidecarvery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with my family the night before flying out from the airport. It's close proximity to the the beach, and to Malahide which is an upscale neighborhood with decent pubs and places to eat. The weather was lousy, so we didn't get to appreciate the view the way you might if the weather was good. The decor was very old, and the floors felt loose below the very old carpet in our room. The TV was an old 20" tube style, with no movies.
From late evening until past midnight there was a lounge singer singing his heart out just below our room in the Oasis Bar. I called and complained but we couldn't be moved as the hotel was sold out that night.
I asked to speak with a manager the next morning, but the manager wasn't in so there was no way to reach any kind of resolution.
Ultimately, it was a very disappointing experience, and I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor, as you may end up over the Oasis Bar, where you will hear everything that happens in the bar.
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank aboerstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Aboerstra,

It is such a shame that you were unable to enjoy some good weather during your stay with us. Portmarnock Beach is one of Ireland's finest ....... but if the sun isn't shining it makes it much harder to appreciate!

I am truly sorry that music from our Oasis Bar effected your stay and that there was not a manager to deal with this matter at once. We strive, never to let a customer leave without rectifying any concerns that arise during a stay. On this, I'm afraid we failed you.

Please contact me directly on info@whitesandhotel.ie or 01 8666000 if you wish to discuss further, and I will do my utmost to make amends.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here for a little mid week break a few weeks ago. When Ireland actually had good weather!!
Brilliant location, the beach is right outside and its a lovely walk to malahide village in the evenings!! The location is lovely and quiet. Our room was located in the new part of the hotel and had a gorgeous sea front view! which was fabulous to wake up too!!
The staff were amazing lorraine and anne at the front desk were so lovely to us and made us feel right at home! It was such a nice welcome.
The pizzeria downt the road was also lovely.

Room Tip: the new side of the hotel with a balcony!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Ashleigh C,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the weather & your stay.

It is really fantastic when our staff members are singled out for their customer service. I know that both Ann & Lorraine will be thrilled.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the White Sands Hotel, sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Got a weekend deal on "Treat ticket" to stay at this hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was 205 and has a beautiful sea view. The Oasis Bar served amazing food and the breakfast buffet was superb and fresh. Some of the other reviews might scare you but don't be put off its an excellent place to stay and although slightly dated in places for a 3 star hotel it's great value for money. Will defiantly come back again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lachyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Lachyweb,

we are delighted to receive such wonderful feedback and so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please contact us directly on info@whitesandhotel.ie or 01 8666000 when you wish to return to the White Sands Hotel & we will do our utmost to ensure you get a great value offer and lovely guest room.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Four of us stayed in joining rooms and was a very nice stay. There is a wonderful bar on the premises and a very short walk to the beach. The rooms were clean but needed a little updating but that seemed to be the only problem. The drive to the Dublin airport was only about 15 minutes which was a plus for all of us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Joe K,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We depend on your feedback to help us with the improvement of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our proximity to Dublin Airport is often guests reason for staying with us and it is good to hear that travel times remain at about 15 minutes by car.

We make constant efforts to improve our guests overall experience when they stay with us. Some of our hotel rooms are currently undergoing improvements to decor & we understand that some rooms have a more vintage quality over others. Soon they will all be up to the same welcoming standards.

We look forward to having you back to stay some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Even though I'd requested a sea view by email (that was never replied too), we were given a room at the back of the hotel as all sea views were apparently taken! Carpets everywhere were stained as was the bedcovers, furniture was scratched. Food was ok in the small restaurant in the corner of the bar. Entertainment was one man crooning Sinatra songs - we left after 3 or 4! Breakfast was cold, but waiter seemed nice. Beautiful beach outside hotel. All-in-all these hotels desperately needs updated as it has fabulous location, but we won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SharonH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, Guest Relations Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

SharonH43,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. You feedback is essential to the improvement of our products & services and overall guest experience.

I am so sorry to hear that you did not receive a response to your email. There is no acceptable excuse for this, and I apologise.

Our live music every Friday & Saturday night is generally well received, however it is difficult to cater for all tastes and it is most unfortunate that you did not enjoy it.

We hope that we might entice you back to stay with us once more to offer you the experience that you deserved initially at the White Sands Hotel. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please contact me on +353 1 8666000 or on info@whitesandshotel.ie

Kind regards,

Catherine
Management Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews