We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value, service and a lovely spot to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Antrim
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“value, service and a lovely spot to unwind”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Took up the 2 night B+B stay recently and it was superb.
Room in the new wing with big balcony overlooking the sea and golf - excellent.
Minor heating problem finally resolved

Staff couldnt be more helpful, a tad quiet at this time of the year but all in all it does what it says on the tin

Room Tip: ask for the new block of rooms, can get a it disorientated finding them but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmacAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    348
    120
    44
    36
See reviews for
234
521
41
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here having booked using a groupon coupon and found what surely must have been the best value we have ever had. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff super friendly. Although Portmarnock doesn't have much to offer Malahide is just 2 and 1/2 miles away - a 30-40 min walk along the coast - and is a busy welcoming town with good pubs and restaurants. I would just have one criticism of the hotel which was a 12.50euro supplement if choosing the steak from the set price menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking either the sea or golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and it was a very pleasant experience. The staff could not have been nicer and nothing was too much effort... Special word to the lovely scottish lady in the bar who's service was first class. We had a snack in the bar on Saturday and the food was excellent.... Club sandwich with the nicest of salads. Would truly recommend this hotel and we certainly will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlerua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leinster
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We have returned from a lovely stay in the Portmarnock hotel and Golf Links and had a truly sumptuous meal in their Osborne restaurant. The value is unreal, €19.99 for 2 very large courses and the food was delicious. They have managed to maintain the ambiance and ritual of a 5 star restaurant at very economic prices. Well done to them. Definitely worth a return visit asap!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWWBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here in December for 3 nights over Christmas. Decided to book here because of the special offer, a deluxe room for 60euro per night and also the location the fact it was on the sea front. I specifically asked for a room in the new wing because from reading other reviews the older rooms are quiet shabby.
Hotel was easy to find and is right on the sea front so we were delighted. Check in was a bit slow due to a problem with laser machine.

It was a long trek to our room but it was well worth it we had a deluxe room on the ground floor overlooking the golf course and it was so luxurious. The room was quiet large with all the usaul king size bed, large bath, wardrode and flat screen tv. The pictures on the website definately reflect on the actual room which is very unusual!!! Would love to return to this hotel in the summer time. Did'nt eat in the hotel so cant comment on this.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

best hotel ever we stayed in 5* all the way staff room food everything and g8 beach 3 miles lovely clean sand it was heaven cant wait go back and so cheap to stay ijn love it thank you we will be bk :-)

Room Tip: ask for quite room ours looked over the 1st tee on the golf course and for 10 euro xtra upgrade to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Portmarnock hotel for two nights as part of a groupon deal. The hotel overall is beautiful, clean and the staff are absolutely brilliant! We stayed in a deluxe room which was very spacious, fab shower! And great view over the golf course.
We walked into malahide and saw a few seals on the way!!
The food in the Osbourne and the Jameson are both amazing.
All in all a lovely stay, not much to do near the hotel if you don't play golf, but a very relaxing place! :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McClean3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
354 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,506 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing