We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Second stay at this hotel - first time suite was fantastic. this time however hotel occupancy high so had to settle for a deluxe double with garden view - room itself very nice however it was actually an accessible room so no bath or shower - just a wet room - not very "deluxe"! paying for drink in "cocktail bar" and waitress had to ask me how to say gnocchi correctly. second night waitress very rude and took a long time to actually get served. paid a lot more money this time for a birthday treat and certainly did not live up to first visit...disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deborah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel sits on the links course designed by Bernard Langer from Germany. The course is a good one and the hotel is a decent 3.5* - 4* hotel. Staff is very courteous and hotel pub is a nice place to hang out for a drink or a pint after a round of golf. Some views offer a water view of the bay and the ben of Howth. Food is good, staff is good and location of hotel is great if you want a round of golf and hiotel near the water. Beautiful walk along the sea and town of malahide and Malahide Castle only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Outside od Dublin but as real nice spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duddie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We are just back from a 3 night stay in Portmarnock Hotel. Hotel is gradually being re-furbished. Our room looked new - all fresh and very clean. Good sized bathroom. Nice fluffy towels. Very large comfortable bed. Great sea view from the bedroom. Tea/coffee provided.
Staff were friendly and very helpful - must highlight Mary-Jo in the restaurant - she was SO attentive at breakfast time. Breakfast had a good selection of Continental and cooked food.
Had dinner one evening in Osborne Restaurant - food was of a good quality but the service was dreadful! Same when we had our evening meal in the Cocktail Bar - you would not need to be in a hurry. We waited over 40 minutes for our meal to be served - not just good enough!

Really handy for a visit to Dublin - bus stops right outside the hotel - No. 32A or B - the drive along the coast pleasant - takes about 40 mins. into Dublin 2.65 Euro each single - good value
Leaves you off near Abbey Street which is very convenient.

Other pointers on the negative side - The room was FAR FAR too hot! We don't get a lot of warm weather in Ireland but when it does come it needs to be catered for. We felt suffocated in the room at night - no Air Con. Opened the windows the first night and the room was full of little flies coming from the sea - learned on the second night to sit in the dark so that the lights would not attract them!
Being SO hot was exhausting - made our legs feel so heavy.
Radiator was on full-pelt in the bathroom - felt like going into a sauna - and we couldn't get it turned off!
No water provided for drinking. No biscuits. No safe in the rooms. (Available but not satisfactory) Iron and ironing board provided on request. Just basic toiletries in bathroom - no shower cap e.g. and no face flannels.
Perhaps we have come to expect these little 'luxuries' in 4 star accommodation.
BUT we would go back as the location is superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view or a view over the golf course. The other rooms face on to a little c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tompsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Ive stayed in the portmarnock hotel several times courtesy of my work. Any time i have stayed the rooms have been immaculate, good sized double bed, spacious bathroom with powerful shower, tea and coffee making facilities also. the food in the hotel restaurant is lovely and the staff pleasant and friendly. Good selection for breakfast, from cereal to full fry up. situated along the beach gives it a lovely relaxing atmosphere. definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just home from another wonderful stay. Rooms are beautiful,spacious and comfortable. Some rooms have exceptional views of the sea and golf course. Staff are great and extremely helpful. Breakfast is plentiful to get you ready to walk the Beach,just perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is a lovely hotel – it’s spacious, airy, and spotlessly clean. Staff are very friendly and both check-in and check-out were handled promptly and professionally. It’s in a great location, backing onto the beach and the views of the sea are stunning. We got a lovely room very near reception and it overlooked a beautifully groomed inner garden dotted with terraces where people were having drinks in the balmy evening breeze. The room was tastefully decorated, and had everything a guest would want. Absolutely loved the shower it was great. A big comfortable bed ensured a good night’s sleep and a delicious multi-choice breakfast greeted us the following morning. If you are lucky enough to stay here, a walk on the beach after breakfast is a must, regardless of the time of year. We were lucky it was such a sunny morning but we’ve been walking on Portmarnock beach even in winter time and it’s still stunning. Would have loved a second night here and it’s definitely on the ‘return list’ for a future visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Having spent two nights at the Portmarnock Hotel last week to celebrate a special wedding anniversary, we were not disappointed. The hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the beach and our room, on the ground floor, was well appointed, clean and freshly decorated. Proximity to the beach meant that we could enjoy some lovely walks, particularly as the weather was excellent. Being so close to the delightful town of Malahide with its wide range of coffee shops and restaurants, was indeed an added bonus. The staff at reception and in the dining room were welcoming and helpful and the atmosphere in the hotel was inviting. The breakfast each morning was attractively presented and nicely varied. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,636 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
367 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
4,797 reviews
23.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,130 reviews
7.3 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £96 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing