We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and Course first Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
East Molesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel and Course first Class”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights from 21st April and had a very enjoyable experience.Reception staff pleasant and professional , Carmel particularly charming.Rooms immaculate , large and tremendous value.Enjoyed food in 'Jamesons bar' where the Guinness was great , avoid the mid strength stuff very watery .Golfers breakfasts hit the spot and set up nicely a day on the links.The Golf I found to be exceptional , great views off back tees and lightning greens.Credit to the greenkeeping staff for a fine job , don't pass the head greenkeepers Jack Russell without saying hello , a friendly fellow indeed.

All in all a great trip and a nice venue to catch up with old friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnJoeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    345
    117
    42
    34
See reviews for
233
517
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I recently invited some old friends over from the UK for a weekend of Golf and fun.
I recommended to my friends the Portmarnock Hotel Golf and Links initially because of the great reputation associated to the Golf Course.

What i didn't appreciate when making the booking for the group was the quality of the hotel would exceed my expectations. The rooms were spacious, clean and convenient for getting equipment to the course. The staff were very accommodating and ensured that we were all located close to each other. We dined in the hotel one evening and the food was of a very high standard in very relaxing surroundings.

The course itself does not need any words from me, as its quality is well recognised in golfing circles, but i have to give a special mention to the Jameson Bar, which was informal, yet friendly and had everything a golfer would need after 4.5 hours on a golf course.

Throw in the location, which includes easy access to the village of Malahide for a bit of evening entertainiment and Portmarnock for convenience shopping and you have a hotel and golf course that i cannot recommend highly enough.

My friends had a great weekend and i would like to thank all those concernedfor making it so.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek_N_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were on the beach yesterday and thought we would call in for a few drinks. The immediate vibe was that the place was not family friendly or indeed welcoming on any level. The staff were indifferent come rude, which was common enough during the Celtic Tiger, but those days are over. A lot of tables seemed to be reserved but the manager removed the reserved sign and invited us to sit down. The drinks were a long time in coming- the coffee was only half full and the waiter did not deem it necessary to bring milk and sugar. Nor did all the drinks arrive together or even with 5 minutes of each other. When they did arrive the manager wanted to move us. Its supposed to be a good hotel so the staff should really be trained at some level. Sloppy service is one thing but rudeness and indifference from the staff is quite intolerable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive feedback. We sincerely apologise for the service that you received in our property as this is not the standard that we abide by. We hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Kindest Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Lovely Hotel, great golf course and the staff very friendly, prepared to go the extra mile for the customer. There is a great buzz about the place at the weekends with live entertainment in the evenings. Keep the good work up to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dte27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The staff were very friendly. Our suite was beautiful. We missed breakfast, so we went to the bar to buy an early lunch. One of the managers noticed this and gave us our lunch free. I was very impressed with this hotel. It exceeded my expectations. I will be staying here again and I will be recommending it also.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eleonora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundalk co louth
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed here in November 2012 and found the hotel to be nice, clean and good value. I stayed on a grap one deal and it was handled politely by the receptionest, My room was nice, relaxing , Food in the bar was ok as it got cold very fast & I would never eat ther again. But it has one big down fall. Breakfast !!!!!! Its a buffet but there was no taste of the food, I enjoy a good breakfast but this was terrible. it just got so cold so quick & tea came premade in a pot & they were on a trolly made up and just tasted bad. I think a bit of extra care at breakfast would be a big help. It was a nice hotel but I would never go back due to how food gets cold so fast & just no taste of the food. Managment needs to look at this problem.

Room Tip: If you like a good breakfast dont go ther.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here with us at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We apologise for the issues you had and that we failed to meet with your expectations. We thank you for pointing out to us the issues as all constructive feedback helps us to improve our service and our product.

We hope the experience you had will not deter you from returning again.

Kindest Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I had high hopes for our three night break based on what I had heard and read.

Initial impressions on arriving at the hotel were mixed, looked a bit "rambling" with different buildings and the actual entrance is a bit tired with high uneven kerbs, worn paint on railings etc.

Check in was fine, we were there on a 3 night B & B break with - quote from confirmation "3 Course Dinner in the restaurant on the night of your choice".

Our room was excellent, 240 with a great view of the golf course and the sea towards Howth. Only complaint about the room was that the air conditioning would come on automatically at 5.00am each morning with a lot of groaning and strange noises. This was unresolved despite mentioning at reception.

When checking in on the Friday we were asked if we had made a reservation for dinner, we said that we hadn't and would probably leave it the Sunday night to which the receptionist replied "no problem" We ate in the Jameson bar that night and had fish pie which was quite good.

We then decided to make a reservation for dinner and were informed that the restaurant was only open on Saturday nights and it was fully booked! Dinner on every other night would be served at a table in the cocktail bar, I pointed out what we had booked and they had confirmed but they weren't interested.

On the Saturday morning we settled down and decided to make a reservation for a window table for 2 at 8.00pm on the Sunday night. We were informed that would be no problem. When we turned up on the Sunday evening the window tables were taken and we were told they had been reserved by others. We had to point out that we booked the previous day and saw it written in the book. We went off to the Jameson bar and in fairness after a while a staff member came to tell us a table had been vacated.

Our starters were fine, we both ordered rib eye steaks medium which came with mash and a side order of roast vegetables. The steaks were tough and rubbery, so much so that we just gave up trying to hack through them half way through. The vegetables were in a very sweet overpowering glaze which made them all taste the same and rather unappetising. Deserts were ok but had a very "bought in" feel about them. All in all a disappointing meal.

The staff were generally friendly and helpful, particularly at breakfast where we had no complaints.

This hotel is in a superb location and has the potential to be so much better than it is by upping their game in terms of giving the customer exactly what they have paid for and had confirmed and also by improving the quality of the food offer.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra rather than just a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us here at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We can only apologise for the experience you had here with us and the issues that you have noted. It is always very much appreciated to receive comments from guests.

As you stated we are in a picturesque location with a fantastic beach view and a lovely village. We take note of all the issues arising and we appreciate feedback that we are given as this will help us to improve.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future and create a more enjoyable experience for you.

Kindest Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
352 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
7.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing