We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, well worth staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding, well worth staying”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just stayed last weekend in Portmarnock Golf Links hotel, it was our 2nd time to stay here and loved every minute of it. Well worth a visit. Beautiful holiday from the minute we arrived. Check in at reception was quick and gentleman working on desk was extremely friendly and welcoming. Room was lovely size and extremely comfy bed. Had a sea view room but unfortunately weather wasn't the best to enjoy the view. Bar staff were more than helpful and very friendly with a lovely bar menu to choose from. The hotel overall was beautiful, very cozy and warm and we loved every minute of our stay, we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    350
    121
    45
    38
See reviews for
234
525
42
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel three times and every time it has been a very happy experience.
It is very well located both for going into town or have a stroll on the beach as it is on the beach.
There are lots of restaurants and pubs close by or you can eat the lovely restaurant in the hotel. The pub there is mighty , great music and lovely friendly staff.
My husband had a round of golf which he really enjoyed, immaculately kept, while i used the gym facilities and had a massage.
The rooms are very clean and spacious
Overall very very happy with my stay i will reccomend this hotel if you decide to visit ireland

Room Tip: We travelled there for business and again as a family loved it , great for kids as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 435Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My partner surprised me with a night at the hotel before we left Ireland, but what a disappointment it was.
We booked dinner in the Osborne Restaurant and was served by a girl who did not understand English well enough, which resulted in the wrong food, wrong menu and too much wine (we gladly paid for the wine though)
The bed was uncomfortable, the rooms were smaller than before (I stayed a couple of nights in 2007), the A/C did not work and due to my partner's allergy towards grass etc. we could not open the window.
As either of us could sleep, we went out and took a 2-hour walk along the beach at 5 a.m. which was the best part of the stay. We went back, had breakfast and went back to bed as we had complimentary check-out at 1 pm but the maid woke us up at 12.
Tired and in a bad mood, we checked out and I will never go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the 'new wing' as they are recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to firstly thank you for choosing to stay with us at Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links.

We apologise sincerely for not meeting with your service expectations, we would like you to know that we are looking into further training for our waiting staff. We take on board your other issues with the bedroom and we will look into this further.

We hope that you can return to us in the near future so that we can provide you with a better service,

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed the night in the hotel after a family christening the same day. Our room was lovely with a great view of the golf course and we had some nice walks on the beach. Staff were very friendly and attentive for the christening dinner, in the bar later and at breakfast the next day. We enjoyed the dinner and a there was a good choice of hot and cold food on the breakfast buffet too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booked this hotel as a stop over after landing at Dublin airport on the way back from Croatia before heading to Cork for the last leg of our family holiday.

At £54 for the night B&B in the middle of July I wasn't particularly expecting much but what a very pleasant surprise.

Really nice hotel, right next to the beech, good size rooms, lovely staff and great breakfast, so would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londerzeel
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

we were lucky to receive an upgrade to a junior suite with see view....and certainly also to receive 4 sunny days from the golf-gods!!!
We pretty much enjoyed the kindness of the personnel, specially at the bar...

Room Tip: sea side rooms with also view on the links golf course are top, suites are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulCroughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here on business and its location right at the beach makes it a lovely place to relax after meetings, even when you don't play golf. Rooms are nicely decorated, with comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. Note that rooms on the ground floor can be a bit noisy, in particular those close to reception. Service is efficient and friendly and there’s a pleasant atmosphere throughout the hotel, with the cosy Jameson bar (also breakfast is served here) as a highlight.
Public transport around the hotel is pretty poor, so to get around (and unless you want to spend your days on the beach or the green you DO want to get around - there’s nothing to do in Portmarnock!) you’ll need a car or a cab. There’s a slow bus service into Dublin (once per hour or so), count on 45 minutes. Malahide and Howth, both only a few minutes’ drive away, make a good alternative for a nice day out, or a decent meal and a couple of Guinness at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarGio06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
359 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,546 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
4.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing