We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel worth the extra spend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent a weekend at the Portmarnock Hotel and had an excellent time.
Room was lovely with a Sea View and nice bathroom and very well cleaned and maintained.
Breakfast was lovely and very consistent quality. The hotel is very convenient to the long sandy beach and is a lovely place for a long walk morning and evening.
Facilities at the hotel are excellent and the Bus stop for the 32 bus to Dublin is just outside the gate and very convenient, not sure if you would be better to use the DART as the bus stops about every 200 yards the whole way to Dublin, so the journey is a bit tedious but Dublin is well worth a visit.
Evening entertainment at the hotel was very enjoyable and the Bar and staff were very friendly and accommodating when it came to finding somewhere to sit.
All in all a highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RIPMAXRAPIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked in to the hotel for a family reunion, five sisters! We had a very comfortable stay with stunning sea views from our rooms. The hotel is ideally situated between Malahide and Howth, Malahide being within walking distance. The rooms were very clean, as was the whole hotel. Breakfast was delicious with an extensive choice, the restaurant manageress at breakfast was very cheerful and welcoming. All in all, a wonderful experience, I will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a fantastic long weekend here. Beautiful hotel at the edge of a stunning beach. Standard of accommodation and service was exemplary. Bars were comfortable and cosy. Breakfast - outstanding. The only thing missing is a leisure centre but that did not detract from the overall experience one bit. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wulliemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband took me here for a birthday treat and we had a good time. The location of the hotel is great, we were able to go into Dublin via the bus and also to the other nearby towns Malahide (within walking distance) and a beautiful town called Howth – beautiful restaurants there – plenty of seafood!!

The hotel, was undergoing some refurbishment work however it did not interfere with our stay. We had a beautiful room with a lovely view and the breakfast was good. We were disappointed with our evening meal in the bar however all in all we enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend visiting Howth which is approximately a 15/20 minute drive.

Would go back again as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MStravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

We thank you for your comments we appreciate all reviews by guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We would like to advise that since your stay in September 2012 we have changed our Jameson Bar menu to reflect the different seasons.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future,

Kindest Regards

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just stayed last weekend in Portmarnock Golf Links hotel, it was our 2nd time to stay here and loved every minute of it. Well worth a visit. Beautiful holiday from the minute we arrived. Check in at reception was quick and gentleman working on desk was extremely friendly and welcoming. Room was lovely size and extremely comfy bed. Had a sea view room but unfortunately weather wasn't the best to enjoy the view. Bar staff were more than helpful and very friendly with a lovely bar menu to choose from. The hotel overall was beautiful, very cozy and warm and we loved every minute of our stay, we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel three times and every time it has been a very happy experience.
It is very well located both for going into town or have a stroll on the beach as it is on the beach.
There are lots of restaurants and pubs close by or you can eat the lovely restaurant in the hotel. The pub there is mighty , great music and lovely friendly staff.
My husband had a round of golf which he really enjoyed, immaculately kept, while i used the gym facilities and had a massage.
The rooms are very clean and spacious
Overall very very happy with my stay i will reccomend this hotel if you decide to visit ireland

Room Tip: We travelled there for business and again as a family loved it , great for kids as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 435Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My partner surprised me with a night at the hotel before we left Ireland, but what a disappointment it was.
We booked dinner in the Osborne Restaurant and was served by a girl who did not understand English well enough, which resulted in the wrong food, wrong menu and too much wine (we gladly paid for the wine though)
The bed was uncomfortable, the rooms were smaller than before (I stayed a couple of nights in 2007), the A/C did not work and due to my partner's allergy towards grass etc. we could not open the window.
As either of us could sleep, we went out and took a 2-hour walk along the beach at 5 a.m. which was the best part of the stay. We went back, had breakfast and went back to bed as we had complimentary check-out at 1 pm but the maid woke us up at 12.
Tired and in a bad mood, we checked out and I will never go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the 'new wing' as they are recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erika v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We want to firstly thank you for choosing to stay with us at Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links.

We apologise sincerely for not meeting with your service expectations, we would like you to know that we are looking into further training for our waiting staff. We take on board your other issues with the bedroom and we will look into this further.

We hope that you can return to us in the near future so that we can provide you with a better service,

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
571 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £104 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing