We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Nearby Hotels
White Sands Hotel(Portmarnock)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Marine Hotel(Sutton Cross)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
717
381
132
46
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
717
381
132
46
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjameson barlinks courseirish seanew winggarden viewdeluxe roomlovely hotelmain restaurantdublin airportshort breakbeautiful roombar fooda lovely staydart stationfamily roommalahideosborne
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this Hotel, Had a lovely stay, food was great. Staff very friendly and pleasant . We where given a sea view as it was our anniversary and we really appreciated it. The hotel is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated through out. We will return please don't listen to any negative reviews about this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripperBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we were met by a very courteous reception staff who were very helpful. The only gripe I had was in relation to a request for a sea view. My paperwork suggested that the view could be the garden or sea view but did not indicate a charge for either. However in response to my request for a sea view we were charged 10 euro extra each night. We took it and I enjoyed listening to the roar of the sea and watching the breakers.
We ate in for the 3 nights we were there and found the set menu to be very reasonable with the bottle of good Red wine. There seemed to be two different chefs as there was a difference in the cooking on different days. I would say that overall the restaurant meals were great and so were the breakfasts. The staff throughout the hotel were so pleasant and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and well decorated and very clean and tidy. It was great also to have a modern tv which had all the channels. The reception area was lovely and so relaxing to sit in. There were lovely big fires in the bar area .and there was also a good buzz there with a lively staff and chatty golfer s.
I would definitely return to this hotel and would bring children as there is ample space to play and yet be safe.

Room Tip: Room232 had a really noisy bathroom fan. It penetrated my brain! Avoid at all costs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Waited a long time before we could arrange a game of golf on this course. Fantastic views and good links course even with all the sun the course was not burned. The starter was friendly and helpful, gave us a few tips before teeing up. Now for the 19th...!! The restaurant / bar was busy with a wedding party in the place but the French manager found us a table...the meal we had was from the bar and was as tasty to some restaurants i had dined in. Really helpful staff and my friends enjoyed the well pulled Guinness....over all a good day was long time coming but worth the wait..will return hopefully in 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel many times and it never disappoints. The location is wonderful. The buffet style breakfast is one of the best I have ever experienced. We had dinner as part of our package and the meal was delicious. I really can't fault Portmarnock and hope to spend many more breaks there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is located in a nice suburb of Dublin at a golf course. That is also the reason for most guests to stay here.
I had business at the airport and like to play golf. So, for me a good combination.
The hotel is good. Rooms are convenient and spacious, although mine, 210, had a very noisy fan in the bathroom, which you could hear throughout the room. Very comfortable beds. Nice view towards the sea.
Food in the bar and restaurant is of 'island quality'; the sole is tasteless and the cheesecake is purple...
Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of choice. Sometimes the natural yogurt may run out.
Restaurant staff is friendly. Bar staff is not as friendly as you would encounter in any other Irish pub. Reception staff never bothered to say hello when you passed by.

I expected a lot from the links golf course, but was disappointed. Fairways are not maintained well, and I missed the real links experience.

Tip: halfway hole 1 make sure to check the graveyard of the Jameson family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and golf course, we always appreciate our guests feedback.

We were disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations. In relation to the fan in the bathroom which you could hear throughout the room, we apologise for this noise but advise that this can be manually turned off so as not to disturb the guest.

The course management have advised that due to the unusually dry summer and in spite of irrigation, the lack of rainfall has caused the fairways to become stressed in certain areas and we apologise that it detracted from your enjoyment of the course.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews