We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grab one weekend in Portmarnock Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Had a wonderful weekend in Portmarnock golf and links. staff excellent, food good, rooms very stylish and comfortable all the facility's excellent looking forward to going back in the very near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauline176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Simply one of the best hotels in Ireland, and I've stayed in quiet a few! Easy to get to from the ferry, ample free parking, and ideally located to explore north Dublin and beyond. I was lucky to get a fabulous suite with a broad curved window overlooking the golf course and the sea. What a spectacular view! The room was spotless and the rest of the hotel was too. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the food just couldn't be faulted. Portmarnock stand is just a stone's throw from the hotel and a beautiful place to walk or just sit and relax. Malahide with its fantastic seafood restaurants is just a 10 min drive north, or you can go 10 mins south to the harbour at Howth. Afternoon tea at the hotel is a meal in itself, and all meals were very well presented and great value. The golf course and the grounds are lovely to explore, as is the old mansion itself that the hotel is built around. The Golf Links bar is a fantastic, old fashioned oak-pannelled snug with leather armchairs with one of the best selections of whiskeys I've seen. If the weather's bad you can bury yourself in here quite happily. Room rates were extremely reasonable. Would unquestionably make this my hotel of choice next time I'm in or around Dublin. Shame there was no pool, but who needs that when you have one of the finest beaches outside the door with an incredibly clean and shallow sea line that you can walk out into quite safely for miles.

Room Tip: Room 225 - which I landed - is probably the best in the hotel. Large suite with a stunning window an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this Hotel, Had a lovely stay, food was great. Staff very friendly and pleasant . We where given a sea view as it was our anniversary and we really appreciated it. The hotel is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated through out. We will return please don't listen to any negative reviews about this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripperBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we were met by a very courteous reception staff who were very helpful. The only gripe I had was in relation to a request for a sea view. My paperwork suggested that the view could be the garden or sea view but did not indicate a charge for either. However in response to my request for a sea view we were charged 10 euro extra each night. We took it and I enjoyed listening to the roar of the sea and watching the breakers.
We ate in for the 3 nights we were there and found the set menu to be very reasonable with the bottle of good Red wine. There seemed to be two different chefs as there was a difference in the cooking on different days. I would say that overall the restaurant meals were great and so were the breakfasts. The staff throughout the hotel were so pleasant and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and well decorated and very clean and tidy. It was great also to have a modern tv which had all the channels. The reception area was lovely and so relaxing to sit in. There were lovely big fires in the bar area .and there was also a good buzz there with a lively staff and chatty golfer s.
I would definitely return to this hotel and would bring children as there is ample space to play and yet be safe.

Room Tip: Room232 had a really noisy bathroom fan. It penetrated my brain! Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Waited a long time before we could arrange a game of golf on this course. Fantastic views and good links course even with all the sun the course was not burned. The starter was friendly and helpful, gave us a few tips before teeing up. Now for the 19th...!! The restaurant / bar was busy with a wedding party in the place but the French manager found us a table...the meal we had was from the bar and was as tasty to some restaurants i had dined in. Really helpful staff and my friends enjoyed the well pulled Guinness....over all a good day was long time coming but worth the wait..will return hopefully in 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel many times and it never disappoints. The location is wonderful. The buffet style breakfast is one of the best I have ever experienced. We had dinner as part of our package and the meal was delicious. I really can't fault Portmarnock and hope to spend many more breaks there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is located in a nice suburb of Dublin at a golf course. That is also the reason for most guests to stay here.
I had business at the airport and like to play golf. So, for me a good combination.
The hotel is good. Rooms are convenient and spacious, although mine, 210, had a very noisy fan in the bathroom, which you could hear throughout the room. Very comfortable beds. Nice view towards the sea.
Food in the bar and restaurant is of 'island quality'; the sole is tasteless and the cheesecake is purple...
Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of choice. Sometimes the natural yogurt may run out.
Restaurant staff is friendly. Bar staff is not as friendly as you would encounter in any other Irish pub. Reception staff never bothered to say hello when you passed by.

I expected a lot from the links golf course, but was disappointed. Fairways are not maintained well, and I missed the real links experience.

Tip: halfway hole 1 make sure to check the graveyard of the Jameson family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and golf course, we always appreciate our guests feedback.

We were disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations. In relation to the fan in the bathroom which you could hear throughout the room, we apologise for this noise but advise that this can be manually turned off so as not to disturb the guest.

The course management have advised that due to the unusually dry summer and in spite of irrigation, the lack of rainfall has caused the fairways to become stressed in certain areas and we apologise that it detracted from your enjoyment of the course.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
364 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,607 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
570 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £104 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing