We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at the Portmarnock Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked for the 12th to 14th December, this was our second time to stay with the hotel and we were looking forward to a comfortable and relaxed break, having enjoyed our previous experience. We were not disappointed. Our standard, garden view room, (225) was spacious, a comfortable bed, spotlessly clean and the free wifi was very convenient. On this stay we had dinner in both the restaurant, and in the Bar, the food was excellent. Nice atmosphere in the bar too. Breakfast was first class, with a quality range of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, smoked salmon, bacon, sausage, eggs etc......The staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful, professional and attentive throughout. The hotel is situated right next to the beautiful beach which is great for a walk in all weathers :-) A short 5 minute drive to the local train stop makes access to Dublin City centre very convenient. We look forward to staying at the Portmarnock Hotel again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellight13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

I hadn't been to this hotel for about 12 months, although my wife visits her family in Dublin quite often and always stays here,
The hotel had been re-furbed since my last visit and it was done with taste, and no short cuts in furniture and decoration etc.
Quite a few of the staff have been there for a while now, and with that comes continuity of service and some useful knowledge about the area.
Breakfast and dinner were both excellent, in fact the family dinner we had was one of the best I've had in a long time.The service for both was excellent, and done with a certain amount of humour, and a great deal of care.
Still the best and most relaxing hotel in Ireland and like going to see an old friend!!

Room Tip: try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlloyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A friend and I stayed in this hotel in July and it was everything you could ask for from a relaxing break (it did help that the weather was good). The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and clean a very comfortable bed and a lovely view over the sea. It was only a short walk down to the beach and the beach itself was unspoilt, clean and easy to walk on. I would certainly consider re-visiting the hotel when in need of a place to relax.

Room Tip: I booked for a room with a sea view....it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I stayed over in the hotel on Sat 7th Dec. The staff were absolutely lovely from the moment we arrived until we left. The hotel itself was very clean, as well was our room. We ate in the bar and stayed on afterwards for a few drinks. Great buzz in the bar and once again bar staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast next morning was brilliant - fantastic selection. Will def stay in again. When I got home I booked another night in the hotel for my mum and dad as part of their christmas present :) Once again when booking I was speaking to Kirli (sorry for spelling) in reservations and she could not have been anymore helpful!! She is a credit to this hotel.
Have no hesitation in recommending :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerryFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

what a brillIant stay. Booked as a 50th birthday treat for my wife. Had booked for a meal in restaurant only to find we were booked into one of the bars. Victoria (sorry not the correct spelling) was on the reception and sorted a space in the restaurant and unknown to us had spoken to the staff (Jack) in particular about the birthday treat. Dessert arrived with a candle and a rendition of "Happy birthday" from from staff which was much appreciated. 10/10 for the stay. lovely staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roymckane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for a weekend and travelled into Dublin for shopping.
The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are comfy and clean, and the bed is enormous. It's close to the beach and just a short walk away from the dart (train) station. A 10/15 min journey and your in Dublin city centre.
The breakfast selection is one of the best I've ever seen, they offer everything and anything you could want. All of the staff were local and always happy to help.
Overall it was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, I would definitely recommend it and will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing weekend in the Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We stayed on a Grabone deal which included a bottle of prosecco which was waiting for us on arrival. The room we stayed in was small but was clean and comfortable. The hotel was fully booked however once your bedroom door was closed you could not hear any noise from other guests. Breakfast was busy but each morning we got a table straight away and the food was excellent. We would definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ennis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
571 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £104 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing