We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got a suite.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We got a suite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Beautifully appointed and clean! I'm not sure what we did to get a suite, but it was delightful. I enjoyed the very large tub after freezing at the St. Patrick's parade. Easy bus ride or dart into Dublin so we didn't have to drive. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Had a beautiful tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Management Team at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your suite in the hotel, and that you also enjoyed Dublin's St. Patrick's Day Parade.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    331
    114
    42
    30
See reviews for
221
496
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've stayed at this Hotel several times in the past and although it was always fairly comfortable it needed freshened up throughout. We arrived last weekend to find that the whole place has been refurbished to a very good standard, and it now certainly deserves its 4* rating. The bedrooms were comfortable/spotless, the food was off a good standard and reasonably priced and the staff were very attentive throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor room at the front of the Hotel with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cedric11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Management Team at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. We have indeed renovated the hotel to a very high standard, we appreciated your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed everything at this hotel - the staff in Jamesons bar were without doubt the most helpful I have ever encountered. The food and rooms were very good and the setting is perfect. Will definitely return

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, The Management Team at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review.

Our staff thank you for your kind words.

We hope to see you again in the very near future,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great position ,feels like a country retreat,next to an 18 hole golf course designed by Bernhard Langer. A beautiful sandy beach in easy walking distance.Excellent spa.

15 minutes drive from Dublin Airport, 5 minutes outside Malahide.

Excellent staff,Superb meals in the Jameson Bar.Fine breakfast. The core of the hotel was the
Jameson ( whiskey) family home and provides an historic,traditional,warm atmosphere.
Rooms are very comfortable, many sport TV channels.
Nights are ultra quiet ,great beds, good sleep assured.One wakes up to look out on green gardens,then the wide sandy beach and the sea and rocky islands in the distance----no roads and traffic!
Sublime sunrise--just perfect!

The golf club might consider self-drive carts.
Will most definitely return: outstanding value for money.
An excellent St.Patrick weekend stay!


.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 230,lovely garden and seaview.Suggest 'even' 200s room numbers,as 'uneven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, The Management Team at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your superb review.

We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel over the St Patrick's weekend and that you enjoyed the culture of our Jameson Bar.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here over St Patrick's Weekend 2014, as a family of 2 adults, a 16 year old and an 11 year old, The hotel is very welcoming, the staff are friendly, location is great as its out of the city but within easy reach by car or Dart. The breakfast is superb, with a good selection of hot and cold options, fresh breads, fresh fruits, cereals, nuts and seeds and tasty juices. The rooms are lovely and the beds large and very comfy. The bathrooms are spotless, have excellent showers but the tiles are a bit dated. This is my only negative comment on the hotel!
A truly relaxing, friendly Irish hotel and thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The view from the sea facing rooms on the first floor are of the bushes! If you want to see the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookingmamma30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, The Management Team at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review.

We are happy that you enjoyed our Irish Welcome and Hospitality on such a Special Weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Portmarnock hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. Some of the fittings are outdated and tired and could do with being replaced but overall the hotel is very nice. We did have a bad experience with the restaurant manager - we had not booked a table in the restaurant as it was not a busy night. We decided to go down to the restaurant at 7pm but were happy to get a table anytime between then and 9.30pm if available or if not eat at the bar. On asking the waiter behind the desk if there would be a table free at some point in the evening the manager brushed past us and said to the waiter 'there won't be anything until 9 and even at that they'll be lucky'. She did not acknowledge us and stormed back into the restaurant. Had the waiter not been as helpful and friendly as he was we would have eaten in the bar. He said we should go for a drink in the bar (as we had said we were not in any rush) and that he would let us know if a table became available, alternatively we said we would be happy to eat in the bar which was serving food until 9.30pm. He came to find us at 8.00pm and we enjoyed a meal in the restaurant, thankfully not having any further dealings with the manager. We would recommend the hotel as the rest of the hotel staff were very friendly (especially the good humoured Italian bar manager) but if you are staying and wish to dine in the restaurant - steer clear of the restaurant manager!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytraveller198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, The Management Team at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive feedback. We sincerely apologise for the situation you were involved in, as this is not the standard that we thrive for. We hope that you can visit us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February and had a brilliant stay this is the second time I have stayed here. Lovely quiet hotel a bit out of the way which I prefer. A few minutes drive either side leads to malahide and howth which are both gorgeous places. The staff are brilliant, polite and friendly and the service is excellent. Would highly rate this place and will most definitely return again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 3 in Howth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing