We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
242 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great setting, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for my wife's 60th birthday and had a very good experience. We were upgraded on check in and had a very nice room, overlooking the sea and next to the golf course. The room was spotless and very comfortable. All of the staff were very nice and friendly and made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We hope that your wife had a wonderful 60th Birthday and we are delighted you celebrated here with us at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    331
    114
    42
    30
See reviews for
221
496
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay here in May. The hotel is well located and the rooms are nice. The downside is that there is no air conditioning which is a shame and rooms are heated by radiators. Other than this the rooms are quite nice.
The hotel bar is a must visit.Very friendly staff and nice food. It has a great atmosphere during the day and at night.
I would definitely reccomend and will stay again then in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and we will pass your comments onto our Jameson Bar staff.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Loved every minute of our stay.
Beautiful surroundings, location, food, service, people, room, etc.
Would highly recommend.
You really won't find a nicer place.
Treat yourself whatever the reason for your visit you won't be disappointed.
Take time to walk the 2 miles in to Malahide. Shops, cafés, restaurants & bars.
Try the seabank bistro on the coast road for some surf or turf.


Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keithsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

What a great review. Thank you from all at Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links. We hope you treat yourself again soon and come and stay with us.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our third time staying at this hotel with the kids. Our booking was last minute and a bit more expensive than I would have liked to have paid, but it was worth it. The family rooms in this hotel are the best we have ever stayed in, so spacious. The hotel staff throughout are absolutely lovely, but in particular in the Jameson bar and lounge, where they were so good to the kids (extra cookies and crisps). Off course the weather helped when we were able to spend 2 days on the beach. Nobody wanted to go home, and we are already planning our next trip back. The only downside for our family was the lack of pool, which would be particularly welcomed on a rainy day.

Room Tip: We had a fantastic family room with a balcony over looking the garden and bar area - 319. A bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic7047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to read such lovely comments. We will pass on your review to our Jameson Bar staff who will be delighted to hear the feedback. We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Portmarnock Hotel is a good quality hotel, in a lovely village on the edge of Dublin, next to a beautiful beach. The hotel food was very nice, and the bar is great. The staff are very friendly, and the room decor is very nice.
I would also recommend the lovely 45 minute coastal walk to the next village, Malahide, which has some of the best selections of restaurants in Ireland, and great pubs also.
We got a great deal, and I would recommend this hotel, and will return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you will return to us in the future and that you enjoyed our location by the beach.

Kind Regards,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A warm welcoming reception on a cold bleak day. Our details and information was dealt with in an efficient and friendly manner. This was topped off with a complimentary bottle of wine in a gift bag. The reception, dining, bars and lounge each held a charm in its own right. There was a wonderful usage of wood, brick ,carpet and lighting to create a plushness to enjoy. Our room was very well equipped and very comfortable within a generous space.
There was a great breakfast selection and a dinner menu that was full flavoured and interesting.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a value break at a reasonable price. It's possible to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeveanne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to say thank you for a wonderful review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carefree, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

new section, rooms are very nice ,modern,quiet with an excellent view of the golf course and the ocean. breakfast and dinner was very good with extensive wine selection.Near the airport for early flights..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h7158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Wonderful review - and we wish to thank you for your comments. We are delighted you got to experience the breathtaking view of the golf course and sea.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 3 in Howth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing