We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First impressions are good, reception staff helpful and friendly, check in was quick and hassle free. the room was lovely, decor fresh and clean, lovely view from of the golf course and the sea, we had a deluxe room, well worth the extra. Staff are friendly through out the hotel and being able to sit outside was great as the weather was kind. Can t comment on the restaurant food but breakfast was good, bar food was just ok, four star hotels should not be serving skinny fries as a side for any dish or frozen wedges as an alternative, supposedly chunky chips?? This would be the only negative I could find with this hotel and the only thing letting the hotel down. The location is good and the area around is lovely with plenty of walks and drives, lots of good restaurants to be found in Malahide though its a shame you have to go out to eat, nice relaxed atmosphere in the hotel with golfers coming and going all day, has a good holiday feel about it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We Would like to thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your say with us and we hope we can welcome you back to visit us soon,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

... a serious overhaul, being it just adding toilet brushes to the rooms (missing in all our 4 rooms) and more important to the ones in the lobby, often anyway very dirty. Otherwise and for the prize we've paid the rooms in the hotel itself are just ok, but if I'm asked for an advice I would suggest a room in the new part, viewing the golf course. At the bar(s) we experienced a very caring service by Guido's & Conor's crew - thank you ! We were a group of 4 couples, playing golf on various courses, so for that the location is superb. Don't miss the Island and the Portmarnock Golf Clubs (the latter not to be confounded with the one next to the hotel, which as well needs a face-lift). Nice breakfast buffet. The free WLAN works as well in the rooms, and the laundry is returned the same day (although mine, unfortunately stuck at the reception, only got back 3 days later). All in all a decent play to stay, with a fair relation to what you get for the money you pay - specially for Golfers and people who like to walk along the sea right outside the premises.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrKueng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property and we were disappointed that overall we did not meet with some of your expectations. All of our rooms have, in the past two years gone under extensive renovations to a very high standard and to ensure we maintain our cleaning and hygiene procedures at all times we schedule a rota of cleaning staff to maintain both public areas and bedrooms. Thank you for your positive comments on our Jameson Bar and staff. We took the liberty to forward your comments to them.

We hope that your group will join us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed one night before our return flight from Dublin. It's a beautiful hotel with lovely grounds. I wish we had stayed longer so I could have gone to their spa. The beach is a short walk from the hotel. Malahide in a 4 km walk on a nice path that starts at the hotel. Our room didn't have a view so try to get a garden or golf course view.

Lots of young families with little kids if that matters to you.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden or golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I'm a bit late in writing my review. We stayed three nights at the hotel and the staff and surrounding were great. Sitting in the main dining room by the window watching the sea is one of my favorite memories of all time. We booked an ordinary room and were given a sea view room at no extra charge. My son took ill on our journey to Ireland from England and the front desk was kind and summoned a doctor. The rates for the doc were reasonable. I plan to return next year and was looking for reviews on the suites. Then it occurred to me to write. Love it here. Close to Howth and Malahide- both worth visiting. No car necessary- you can walk or bus wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhowell1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your delightful review. We hope that your son recovered quickly and we hope to see you again very soon,

Kindest Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for my wife's 60th birthday and had a very good experience. We were upgraded on check in and had a very nice room, overlooking the sea and next to the golf course. The room was spotless and very comfortable. All of the staff were very nice and friendly and made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We hope that your wife had a wonderful 60th Birthday and we are delighted you celebrated here with us at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay here in May. The hotel is well located and the rooms are nice. The downside is that there is no air conditioning which is a shame and rooms are heated by radiators. Other than this the rooms are quite nice.
The hotel bar is a must visit.Very friendly staff and nice food. It has a great atmosphere during the day and at night.
I would definitely reccomend and will stay again then in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and we will pass your comments onto our Jameson Bar staff.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Loved every minute of our stay.
Beautiful surroundings, location, food, service, people, room, etc.
Would highly recommend.
You really won't find a nicer place.
Treat yourself whatever the reason for your visit you won't be disappointed.
Take time to walk the 2 miles in to Malahide. Shops, cafés, restaurants & bars.
Try the seabank bistro on the coast road for some surf or turf.


Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Keithsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

What a great review. Thank you from all at Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links. We hope you treat yourself again soon and come and stay with us.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,629 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
366 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
4,776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
578 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £107 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing