We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Well Run Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Nice Well Run Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent Staff, nice rooms, good breakfast choices and panoramic views from our bedroom contributed to make this a most enjoyable stay. Modern décor enhanced by the shoreline gives the bar area a lovely vista to look out to. Good parking and an superb place for golfers. The course is first class. In all a very good package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your wonderful review and we hope that we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    340
    115
    42
    32
See reviews for
231
507
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

First impressions are good, reception staff helpful and friendly, check in was quick and hassle free. the room was lovely, decor fresh and clean, lovely view from of the golf course and the sea, we had a deluxe room, well worth the extra. Staff are friendly through out the hotel and being able to sit outside was great as the weather was kind. Can t comment on the restaurant food but breakfast was good, bar food was just ok, four star hotels should not be serving skinny fries as a side for any dish or frozen wedges as an alternative, supposedly chunky chips?? This would be the only negative I could find with this hotel and the only thing letting the hotel down. The location is good and the area around is lovely with plenty of walks and drives, lots of good restaurants to be found in Malahide though its a shame you have to go out to eat, nice relaxed atmosphere in the hotel with golfers coming and going all day, has a good holiday feel about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We Would like to thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your say with us and we hope we can welcome you back to visit us soon,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

... a serious overhaul, being it just adding toilet brushes to the rooms (missing in all our 4 rooms) and more important to the ones in the lobby, often anyway very dirty. Otherwise and for the prize we've paid the rooms in the hotel itself are just ok, but if I'm asked for an advice I would suggest a room in the new part, viewing the golf course. At the bar(s) we experienced a very caring service by Guido's & Conor's crew - thank you ! We were a group of 4 couples, playing golf on various courses, so for that the location is superb. Don't miss the Island and the Portmarnock Golf Clubs (the latter not to be confounded with the one next to the hotel, which as well needs a face-lift). Nice breakfast buffet. The free WLAN works as well in the rooms, and the laundry is returned the same day (although mine, unfortunately stuck at the reception, only got back 3 days later). All in all a decent play to stay, with a fair relation to what you get for the money you pay - specially for Golfers and people who like to walk along the sea right outside the premises.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrKueng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property and we were disappointed that overall we did not meet with some of your expectations. All of our rooms have, in the past two years gone under extensive renovations to a very high standard and to ensure we maintain our cleaning and hygiene procedures at all times we schedule a rota of cleaning staff to maintain both public areas and bedrooms. Thank you for your positive comments on our Jameson Bar and staff. We took the liberty to forward your comments to them.

We hope that your group will join us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed one night before our return flight from Dublin. It's a beautiful hotel with lovely grounds. I wish we had stayed longer so I could have gone to their spa. The beach is a short walk from the hotel. Malahide in a 4 km walk on a nice path that starts at the hotel. Our room didn't have a view so try to get a garden or golf course view.

Lots of young families with little kids if that matters to you.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden or golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I'm a bit late in writing my review. We stayed three nights at the hotel and the staff and surrounding were great. Sitting in the main dining room by the window watching the sea is one of my favorite memories of all time. We booked an ordinary room and were given a sea view room at no extra charge. My son took ill on our journey to Ireland from England and the front desk was kind and summoned a doctor. The rates for the doc were reasonable. I plan to return next year and was looking for reviews on the suites. Then it occurred to me to write. Love it here. Close to Howth and Malahide- both worth visiting. No car necessary- you can walk or bus wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhowell1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your delightful review. We hope that your son recovered quickly and we hope to see you again very soon,

Kindest Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
254 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for my wife's 60th birthday and had a very good experience. We were upgraded on check in and had a very nice room, overlooking the sea and next to the golf course. The room was spotless and very comfortable. All of the staff were very nice and friendly and made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We hope that your wife had a wonderful 60th Birthday and we are delighted you celebrated here with us at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay here in May. The hotel is well located and the rooms are nice. The downside is that there is no air conditioning which is a shame and rooms are heated by radiators. Other than this the rooms are quite nice.
The hotel bar is a must visit.Very friendly staff and nice food. It has a great atmosphere during the day and at night.
I would definitely reccomend and will stay again then in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and we will pass your comments onto our Jameson Bar staff.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing