We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oceana Spa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oceana Spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Love this spa! Stopped in while on a visit from the US and had an amazing facial with Linda. Came back for a mani/pedi and loved it. Staff was great, and very knowledgable about skin care. Wish I had time for makeup - they were doing up another client and she looked lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff in Oceana.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    331
    114
    42
    30
See reviews for
221
496
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in the Portmarnock Hotel for a wedding recently. Angelica at reception was just so lovely and friendly on check in. Our room had amazing views, which we were so lucky it didnt rain. We were in the modern section of the hotel. The Seaview Lounge have a nice waiter named Shane who was so polite and good to us. Food was a little slow to arrive but the view made up for it. Shame that they dont make a veranda outside to soak up that beautiful sea air.

My husband golfed and he raved about it. I went to the salon (there is no pool which is a let down but not that I would use it anyway!). I had a lovely and deep massage by a girl named Linda. She was so good as I truly hate when you dont get a good massage. I booked my husband in with her the next day! She gave me a list of what to see and do in the local area & DUblin which I thought was a nice touch. I could have stayed chatting to those girls forever as they made you feel part of the family. I just floated out of there - happy! Oh I should mention these girls were unreal for the wedding - I mean it was a madhouse and they handled it so well...I loved the brides makeup and what they did to the lil bridesmaid was so appropriate and adorable! They kept everyone so calm it was a sight to behold.

The dinner was good - although I did enjoy our nights out in Malahide better. Guido is a little Italian star in the Jameson bar which is like stepping back in history. He was a hoot! Oh I forgot a lil lady named Mary Jo - she was just a lady to us. So accomodating! She was at breakfast -- which was really nice - although widen my waist a good bit hehehe.

We relaxed and enjoyed our stay and the glorious Irish hospitality. I would indeed stay again and have already recommended it to my friends! Thanks so much to everyone.

Room Tip: Oh the sea view for sure. But the golf was nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to start by thanking you for your wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to read such great reviews. We will, of course, pass on your kind words to all the staff, especially the staff you have mentioned. We hope you enjoyed the wedding and we cannot wait to welcome you back to the hotel again,

Our Kindest Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on business.
During the entire stay I had limited or little Wi-Fi. After I notified reception, there was still not improvement for the three nights.
On the first night there was a party outside my window on the terrace and I was kept awake until 2.45 am. I notified reception and still it went on!
I booked online and had to pay €10.59 deposit, and when I arrived I had to pay the full amount of €276.41, as I was told that my visa debit was not acceptable so I had to charge any extras separately. I have never in my entire life travelling on business that my card was unacceptable to charge further extras.
Based on this experience I would not recommend this hotel for business.

Room Tip: Do not get a garden view room if the weather is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to review our property with your most constructive comments and we were disappointed that overall we did not meet with some of your expectations. As mentioned in our letter sent to you on the 2nd July, our WiFi speed is continuously checked throughout the day and night and we have passed on your feedback to our internet supplier. We apologise profusely for some of the disturbance you experienced on your first night. In relation to your payment method, as already highlighted in our letter and in the confirmation details attached to it no other charge were applied to your card. We hope that your recent stay with us will not deter you from returning to our resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved our stay at Portmarnock. The view was to die for. The hotel situation was close to amenities but far enough away. Your ten min from airport, ten from Dublin city. Only complaint was seaview lounge service was a little slow.

Special mention to the salon for their kindness and suggestions on what to do in area, as well as best damn massage I've ever had. I was back twice

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockygoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. We keep coming back because of it's location and the view. We enjoy the walk from Portmarnock to Malahide and back.

I had the best cappuccino I've ever tasted especially when we just came from Paris .... . I suggest to check this heavenly coffee made by Shawn, the bartender.

Food is great. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet and dinners.

Staff is helpful and friendly.

Rooms are fine and price is comparable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review. It is always great to hear such good things. We will pass on your kind words to Shawn and we hope we can welcome you back soon,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent Staff, nice rooms, good breakfast choices and panoramic views from our bedroom contributed to make this a most enjoyable stay. Modern décor enhanced by the shoreline gives the bar area a lovely vista to look out to. Good parking and an superb place for golfers. The course is first class. In all a very good package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your wonderful review and we hope that we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

First impressions are good, reception staff helpful and friendly, check in was quick and hassle free. the room was lovely, decor fresh and clean, lovely view from of the golf course and the sea, we had a deluxe room, well worth the extra. Staff are friendly through out the hotel and being able to sit outside was great as the weather was kind. Can t comment on the restaurant food but breakfast was good, bar food was just ok, four star hotels should not be serving skinny fries as a side for any dish or frozen wedges as an alternative, supposedly chunky chips?? This would be the only negative I could find with this hotel and the only thing letting the hotel down. The location is good and the area around is lovely with plenty of walks and drives, lots of good restaurants to be found in Malahide though its a shame you have to go out to eat, nice relaxed atmosphere in the hotel with golfers coming and going all day, has a good holiday feel about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We Would like to thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your say with us and we hope we can welcome you back to visit us soon,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 3 in Howth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing