We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION !!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We held our wedding here on July 18th. We could not have wished for a better day. All rooms were beautiful, from single to large family rooms. We had a small family wedding (50 people) and not one person had a bad word to say. The person touches from all staff, from the fabulous wedding coordinator, Ludmila and her colleague Reece to the bar staff in the Moyne Suite. We took up lots of rooms for three nights and were cared for on a 5 star level. We were all sad to leave on the final day. Thank you to all the staff for making our day so special. Looking forward to seeing you all again on our 1st anniversary. Joanne & David

Room Tip: All views are beautiful but sea view rooms spectacular .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

What an outstanding review, we really appreciate all your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back on your first anniversary, we are delighted we could be part of your special day.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
There are newer reviews for Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed here two nights because the location is great, right at the beach (you can have a room with sea view), only 15 min to the airport and 20-30 min to Dublin city center (by car). They also have a bus going to the city.
I definitely stayed in better hotels for that price. We payed extra for a sea view room, which was small and dark, the windows were kind of rusty/dirty and in general the hotel seems like it needs a renovation, it just looks used and old. The bathroom was nothing special, expected more.
There were some parties or weddings going on in the hotel the whole weekend so that I actually saw a naked man running down the hall way. Also when we left to the airport at 4am there were lots of very loud and drunk people in the lobby, partying and drinking beers and singing. I don't understand how the management and staff could tolerate that!!! I felt very uncomfortable carrying my bags (alone! no help was offered!!) while walking by drunk people who harassed me with comments...
I cannot recommend this hotel and I wont be back! Very disappointing!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Delitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with regret that we read your review. The hotel has been fully refurbished in the last two years and we were disappointed to read that the room did not meet with your expectations. We apologise for the noise and behaviour that you witnessed and we would like to assure you that management and staff do not tolerate this. We would be more than happy to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to experience the high standards that we normally adhere to.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We think this is the best hotel in Ireland, it may not be the prettiest, or the most funky, or the most modern. But it is in our opinion the most relaxing.
With great food, good old fashioned service, and a cheerful helpful attitude from the staff, it ticks all our boxes, and is excellent value for money.
Set in lovely surroundings with very comfortable rooms, and excellent unobtrusive housekeeping it is our hotel of choice for a short break or a family gathering.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlloyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests feel at home when they arrive at the hotel. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently had a bite to eat there, for the price and quality we would have been better going to MacDonalds/take away. The bar staff were inattentive, our waiter could do with grooming tips and the food was fired at us, to top it off not a great experience. Would make an effort not to return..

Room Tip: Make sure to avoid the bar food menu!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MillerOBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for visiting our hotel and for your constructive feedback – it is disappointing that you felt that the food and service in the Jameson bar did not have the same quality standard as the rest of the resort. We will definitely address your points with our food and beverage departments .
Again, many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

OMG .... I just had my first Microdermabrasion and I love it !
Linda and her staff @ Oceana Treatment Rooms were just so professional and welcoming and i couldn't have been more relaxed ,My treatment was done today and my skin is already glowing. The feeling of this ultimate exfoliation is just amazing . I'm hooked ...Thank you sooooooo Much ,ill be back and I couldn't recommend you enough. — feeling delighted

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank traceyoconnorcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our second stay here. Every bit as good as the first. Brilliant staff who can not do enough for you. Everything perfect from Reception to restaurant to the rooms. Hope to be back soon again. Close to main M50 link to all parts of Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roymckane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel bed & breakfast, Which was really good value, Me & my 2 sons(Golfers) had a great time, Staff really helpful they printed me directions to my next destinations, breakfast to suit all, Snacks ok, But went to Malahide for a couple of main meals and to the Harbour of HiF NOT HAPPY WIYH ROOMoweth for a nice fish meal,Beach nearby friendly people all seam to be having a good time great place to go and golf course first class about 2 & half miles walk to Malahide but walked there and Cab back to Hotel well worth a visit

Room Tip: If not happy with your room ask for something that suits you
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexGeorgie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,591 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
362 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £105 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing