We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2009

The hotel was extremely well run and convenient for golf at The Island Golf Club and other courses in the Portmarnock area. Malahide was a nice little town nearby and the train to Dublin takes about 25 or 30 minutes from the hotel, including the five minute drive to the train park and ride. The drive to the airport was easy.

A major plus for me was the availability of internet access on good quality computers with printer access in the lobby at no cost.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golftrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
There are newer reviews for Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

Just very quickly; we held our wedding reception in the Portmarnock last week and many of our friends and family travelled from England and all around Ireland staying in the hotel for the weekend. The weather was beautiful but everyone was delighted with the staff, bedrooms (which were universally raved about) and even the food! The location speaks for itself; unbeatable locally!
We can't praise or thank the hotel staff enough for all they did but particularly for enabling so many dear friends who had gone to such trouble to come to Dublin, to have a great experience as hotel guests.
Wish we could do it all over again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

After months of what seemed non-stop madness my Wife & I flew out to Dublin for 4 nights at this hotel.
We took a taxi from the airport as this isn't the most accessable of places if you don't have your own transport,this cost us 17.99 for about a 20 minute trip,
Check in was probably one of the most welcoming ones we have had,even though it was early the room was ready for us,a large clean,well equipped room with a large window & a sea view,the bathroom looked a little 'tired' but there was instant (very!) hot water.
We had reserved a table at the restaurant(Osbornes) for our first night & enjoyed it so much that we tried to make a reservation for the Saturday night,no chance,fully booked as was the hotel(what recession!?),we were not going to starve though as there was excellent Italian & Chinese restaurants/take aways accross from the hotel..
There is a beautiful beach in front of the hotel which seems impossibly busy on the Sunday with what seemed a cast of hundreds walking it's length.
There is a bus stop outside the hotel,very handy if,like ourselves,you do not have your own transport,buses run to Dublin,Malahide & the airport from the vicinty.
Overall a lovely hotel in a beautiful location,ideal for golfing or just to chill out & get away from the madness like we did!
.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This is a great hotel in a simply beautiful area. Our only regret is that we didn't have more time, arriving as we did at about 10 pm and departing the next day. Our room was large, very clean, and very tastefully furnished. Hotel staff were very helpful and professional. We did not eat at the restaurant, but Malahide (five minutes' drive) had several excellent pubs and restaurants. The location can sneak up on you, especially if you're approaching from Malahide - it will be on your left, not far past the Sands Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KY_COL_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

This is the second review I have posted for the Portmarnock Hotel. It's still great, four years on from our original visit. What is most reassuring is the amount of staff they have kept over this time and the high standards that are generally maintained. I would urge you to book a Deluxe Room or specify the 'new wing' as these rooms are 5 star standard. The food and drink is excellent and the bar was often busy with non-residents from the nearby wealthy residential area. The best feature of the hotel is its fantastic location- the walk from the hotel to Malahide is 4 km and some of the most beautiful coast you can hope for. We ate in the hotel on a couple of separate nights and food quality was excellent; one of the waiters even returned a 1/3 bottle of wine we hadn't consumed to our room, with glasses- a nice gesture and you wouldn't get this in many other places. One other benefit is its only about 15 mins walk from the Portmarnock Train Station and then only 20 mins to Pearse Station in the Centre of Dublin, making it ideal to hit the shops/attractions/craic if the mood takes you. I am sure we will be back again in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njdavis103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

My family and I stayed in the Portmarnock just after Christmas for a short weekend break. We were arriving late and had had a long drive from Belfast and were feeling tired but when we entered the hotel our spirits lifted as we were greeted with such hospitality from the staff. They were very professional and we were checked into our room before we knew it!
To our delight the room was spacious, light and very, very clean with an excellect sized bathroom. We also had a lovely surprise of two Portmarnock teddy bears for my daughters and chocolates for me!
At this time of year the hotel looked wonderful - very festive and tastefully decorated. For breakfast we had a great choice of continental or cooked. The restaurant staff were attentive and efficient. We were a stones throw away from Malahide beach so we went for a long stroll along the beach after breakfast.
There is a lovely atmosphere in this hotel - perfect for relaxing in.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BelleNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Just returned from overnight stay in this hotel. Exceptionally good value offering excellent service and luxurious rooms, overlooking the sea. Upgraded to deluxe room in the new wing. Beautiful location. Breakfast very good standard. Enjoyed beach walk. We parked at the train station for 2 euro (all day) and took the Dart in to centre of Dublin. Service was fast and efficient.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank joanoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
362 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: £104 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing